We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely beach, busy with Ticos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Hermosa

Playa Hermosa
#7 Monte Bello, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Activities: Sailing, Snorkeling, Surfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We offer educational, due diligence tours of the Guanacaste area for people who are considering relocating to Costa Rica.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A lovely beach, busy with Ticos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A lovely place for bathing in the sea. One break-zone, not good for surfing, but once you get past that, very good for bobbing along. Don't have to worry about being smacked by a big wave. We were there for a whole week. Sometimes, the sea did churn up a lot of sand. Most of the time, it was mild. Lots of trees on the beach. The Tico families camp out under them during the day with their chairs and coolers, and lie in the shade on their towels. A pleasant vibe. A good view. I thought it was clean. Almost no hawkers. Everyone very polite. We did walk along the beach at night. Felt safe. No shops down here. A very few handcarts, with men selling ceviche or ice cream. Picturesque. Some bars front onto beach, many private weekend homes. Pretty quiet. Lots of Tico families come on the weekend.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    93
    26
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pilot Grove, Missouri, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Great Trip to Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The food and activities were great. The beaches are beautiful, each with its own personality. Arenal and the rain forest are also stunning. We canopied and visited hot springs in Arenal. We also went on a fishing excursion and caught red snapper and grouper. A restaurant right on our beach, Aqua Sport, cooked the fish for us. It was delicious! They also have great margaritas.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The views were spectacular and the sunsets even better. We sailed, fished and even had a picnic. Plenty of every kind of water sport you could want.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Playa Hermoso - Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

beautiful, clean, not too crowded. Monkey in the trees. Snorkeling directly off the beach was fun. Plenty of shade.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A light mix of locals and expats with some small wave”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Hermosa is a very beautiful clean beach that we use to frequent at least a few time a month with our clients from the Iboga House. Now we take people to Coco because there are more choices for restaurants and shopping opportunities, but Hermosa is still one of my fav's for relaxing.

The waves are fun to play in because they are not too big. If you want to get a good parking spot visit the Aqua Sport bar and you can park in their parking lot. The restaurant is about 150 meters to the left of the main entrance of the beach and while its service is a little slow it consistently has good food. You can order fresh caught fish like Mahi Mahi or sea bass, battered chicken, burgers, rice con pollo, shrimps and much more. They have good virgin Pina Coladas and so I am sure their non-virgin drinks would be good too. The Guanabana fresh fruit juice smoothies are so delicious. The restaurant is right in front of a little shack (probably the same owner) that offers fishing tours. The tours are priced really high make sure to negotiate for Tico (Costa Rican) prices or look around to other tours and beaches for alternatives. There are some independent guys kicking around too.

It's one of the quieter beaches I have been to in Costa Rica that still offers some activities and food.

A nice place to visit.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Playa Hermosa also viewed

Playa Conchal, Province of Guanacaste
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Samara, Province of Guanacaste
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Playa Hermosa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Hermosa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.