We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roberto's Bar & Restaurant

Roberto's Bar & Restaurant
Second Beach Road at La Gaviota Tropical Boutique Guest House, Playa Hermosa na, Costa Rica
+(506)26720011
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Costa Rican
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Washburn, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We stayed at Condovac la costa down the beach in early April. We at here 3 times, the food was always good, service was a little slow, but the specials were delicious! Great fish!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    38
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely little place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Just steps from beautiful Playa Hermosa, we like Roberto's so much we went twice- casual but classy, great food and wonderful drinks-courteous and friendly staff

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coco, Guanacaste, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible Service Mediocre Food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We have been to this restaurant 3 times now over the span of 6 mos. Each time the service has been so slow that you might end up ordering dinner but not getting out of there before breakfast. Even ordering drinks takes an average of 30 minutes, and you could easily be waiting all night for the cuenta. The food there is on average mediocre. Entres regularly arrive cold forcing you to wait even longer. The Yellow Tail I had was like a tough steak with no flavor even though it was pink in the middle.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed at La Gaviota Tropical (above Roberto's) for 3 nights. Breakfasts were filling, fresh and fabulous! The staff also took great care of our 3 children. Dinner on the lawn was the perfect setting to watch the sun set and listen to live music. We had dinner twice at Roberto's and everything was fresh and delicious. Enjoyed getting to know the staff during our three day stay. Hope to visit again!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good scene on the Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We found the place easily and sat on the lawn viewing the beach. Great drinks at happy hour prices. One of the better meals ate while in the area

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roberto's Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Roberto's Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberto's Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.