We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great at the lost art of travel ....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bill Beard's Costa Rica

Bill Beard's Costa Rica
Bosque del Mar Resort | Adventure & Dive Center, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
877 853-0538
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bill Beard's Costa Rica has been operating scuba diving and adventure tours in Costa Rica since 1970. We assemble packages with or without air for diving, fishing, surfing, soft, moderate & extreme adventure tours, transportation and accommodations throughout the country for individuals, families, groups and honeymoon couples.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great at the lost art of travel ....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I reached out to Bill Beard and was contacted by Nadine. She was fantastic at booking a last minute prime time trip to Costa Rica... I didn't give her much to go on just that I had always wanted to go and had no time to do my own homework but had found a block of time to go. Of course it would be right at Easter / Spring Break and I was just weeks before. She not only got us accomodations for all locations I asked for - our guides were PHENOMENAL....
I will say Nadine was great- knowledgeable and super responsive and patient with me and my inability to decide on what I wanted to do. I will definitely recommend and use again...It has always been my experience when visiting a new country its always best to rely on the experts.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you so much. Your review of our service made the day for us, particularly Nadine and our guides, we really appreciate you taking your time to write. We also think our guides are "PHENOMENAL...." and Nadine has such a tremendous knowledge of Costa Rica and the logistics that it sometimes seems she pulls things out of a hat but that's not the case, she IS the "Costa Rica Expert" and she loves what she does. Thank you again and hopefully we can help you again someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
“Great Time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had a wonderful experience with Bill Beards Costa Rica. We went on the river rafting trip and it was amazing. The guides were so nice, and made it so fun. Nadine was one of the nicest people I have worked with when trying to coordinate a trip. She was always quick to respond and offered to help with whatever she could. She even gave us great recommendations while on our trip. I highly recommend booking any kind of trip with them!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you very much. We are so happy that you had a "great time" It also means we are doing our job at a high level of efficiency. We pride ourselves on our knowledge of Costa Rica and the logistics of moving travelers around the country without wasting precious vacation time. Nadine has lived and worked in Costa Rica over 23 years and her knowledge of Costa Rica is unrivaled and she is always happy to offer advice.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a great experience with Bill Beards Costa Rica. While planning our vacation, we felt like they had compatible rates to other online sites for the same area. In fact, when it came to booking our vacation, we found a deal online and our contact at Bill Beards told us that it was such a good deal that we should book it, because they couldn't match the price. The next day, all the prices went up. It's not often that a company would look out for their customers like that.

One of the draw backs was that we were trying to book some last minute scuba with Bill Beards. We tried to call the number on a Saturday, which on their website said they would be open, but no one ever answered. Not too bad of an issue, but still somewhat frustrating.

When we got to Costa Rica, we called them again. Nadine was whom we dealt with, and she was great. She got us great deals on scuba and the canopy adventure. She was very helpful, and got us set up right away.

Our scuba excursion was fun, but the visibility was limited. They picked us up on the beach, and took us to two spots. They crew was very helpful and fun. It's just too bad that the visibility wasn't better.

The canopy tour was amazing. If you have the chance to do it, you should. Our tour guide picked us up at our hotel and showed us around. He was very nice and personable. We rode horses up to the start of the zip lines, then zip lined down the mountain. The crew was again very helpful. Once at the bottom we had a great lunch, try the chicken fajitas or the fried fish, and then we got a tour of the mud baths. One thing we wished for was that our tour guide would have been with us to help take pictures, I can imagine that doing this everyday could get boring, but it still would have been nice.

One of our group members got a small burn while we were there. Our tour guide and Nadine both did everything they could to make sure that she was ok. Again it made us feel like they cared about us, and we weren't just a number.

All in all I would definitely us Bill Beards again, and highly recommend them to anyone going on vacation in Costa Rica.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your very nice, comprehensive review. Sorry about the time error on the web site our hours are M - F, 9 - 6 ET. Thanks to you we are making the corrections now. We never have
Caribbean type visibility in the Pacific Ocean of Costa Rica due the the tremendous amounts of nutrients and plankton in the water. Of course, we make up for it ten fold by the amount of marine life we enjoy. We work with all the hotels in Costa Rica but our loyalty and obligation is to our clients and we always want the best for you. We are so happy that you enjoyed your vacation and we appreciate the opportunity to show you what we can do. Next time maybe we can start a little more in advance with the planning which is always a plus for both. Thank you again for allowing us to be a part of your vacation in Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
1 review
“A Great Vacation in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Never having been to Costa Rica before, we entrusted Nadine, of Bill Beard's Costa Rica, to make all of the basic arrangements and recommendations for us. Her suggestions were spot-on for us, and we had a terrific ten-day vacation. The accommodations were wonderful, the transports and guides were great. We had adventures around the Arenal Volcano, the cloud forests in Monteverde, and did some diving off the Guanacaste coast. The itinerary that Nadine put together gave us an excellent variety of Costa Rica's offerings, and her intimate knowledge of the country gave us far better advice on how best to use our limited time than any guidebook could have. We're very glad that we found and used the services of Bill Beard's Costa Rica.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for your excellent vacation review. It requires knowledge and talent to understand the logistics of maximizing limited vacation time in Costa Rica and we are so happy that we accomplished that for you. We have lived and worked in Costa Rica for many years, Nadine over 25 and Bill over 40 and it's always uplifting to have our expertise help in providing the vacation you wanted. Hopefully, we can do it again some day. It will be our pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Take the stress out of planning your vacation by letting Bill Beards superb customer service help you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We cannot say enough good things about BB &i planning tours in costa rica. I mostly dealt with Nadine via email, which was great since we had no phone service for some unknown reason on our global phones, and her personal knowledge & experience enabled us to tailor each day to do exactly what we wanted to do. Four dives, ziplining, white water rafting, rapelling, 1/2 day at Borinquen spa, 2 nites &i breakfastplanning in Coco Beach Hotel, whose atmosphere &i customeer service far surpassed our timeshare exchange week at Bahia Turquesa(which is kind of pathetic my nxt review will be to Interval) was reasonably priced & still enabled us to rrelax &i do nothing for 3days. Our driver Jose was with us all week& gave advise, interesting conversation, never scared us on some scary roads &i is a consummate professional. We will recommend Bill Beard &i use the service again &i that says it all.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBeardCostaRica, Owner at Bill Beard's Costa Rica, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Thank you very much. That is what we try to do everyday, take the stress out of vacation planning & travel for our clients & friends. Nadine & Jose are extremely conscientious in planning and there isn't anyone better with advice and logistics of moving around Costa Rica than they are. We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to having you travel with Bill Beard's again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill Beard's Costa Rica also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Bill Beard's Costa Rica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bill Beard's Costa Rica, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.