We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent stay, as long as you like cilantro...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Clinton, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent stay, as long as you like cilantro...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

OK, so summary: Rooms were nice, food was good...if you like cilantro. Beaches and location were great. Free excursions would have been great....if we were 30. Sleeping was not a problem, as long as no one is weed whacking outside your window at 6am.

Now more details....

Rooms: We stayed in the hotel portion. The rooms at this place were pretty nice! They were kept clean and looked to be recently updated.The views were wonderful, however, the balcony had a bar across the top that prevented seeing anything when sitting down. Still enjoyed the room, the views, and the amazing sunsets!

Food and drink: We had the all inclusive option. The drinks varied on who made them, but that didn't really bother me. The food was good, if you like cilantro. It was literally in EVERYTHING. There was hardly anything that I could eat. It was even stuck to my waffles at breakfast! Now breakfast was the only decent meal of the day for me. I adored the made to order omelets, and the waffles were amazing as soon as I picked off the cilantro. The a la carte restaurant was incredible. Food was delicious and our waiter was so nice. I wish we could have eaten there every night.

Activities: The activity guy was hard to reach. He was never at his desk! We had received a voucher saying we could go for a free sailboat sunset tour or a snorkel trip. When we tried to book for the snorkel trip we were told we couldn't go for free because we weren't 30. Really? I will be 30 in March. I do not see how being 29 years of age would make in in eligible. We were told we would have to pay to go. We tried to book the sunset tour, and we were told it wasn't being offered right now. So, we lost out on our free excursion. I was also under the impression that there was going to be daily yoga. No such luck. It was no where on the activity schedule and appeared to be replaced by zumba. I suggest the resort update their information online and the information given to guests at check in to reflect the actuality of what is being offered.

Location and beach: Location was wonderful and the beaches were nice. Pretty clean, except for the occasional trash being washed ashore. And can I just say, $20 beach massages!? Hello! Amazing!

Sleep quality: the beds were pretty comfortable! No complaints on that. BUT, having someone using a weed whacker to mow the lawn outside our window at 6am was not OK. I understand the need to get work done, but this is a beach resort. People go there to relax. Not to be waken up at 6am. At least wait until 8am!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    209
    220
    153
    81
    60
See reviews for
186
308
18
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel through AAA and got a great deal. I must clarify that we used the Villas Sol Hotel for a hotel. We spent most of our time off the property doing tours. In that regard, this place was great for a home base. It is an all inclusive so we never had to worry about drinks and food especially breakfast and dinner since most of our tours started during the breakfast hour and finished during dinner. The times that are available for the meals are pretty long, breakfast 7-10 (technically it starts at 6:30 but that is just cereal and toast), lunch 12:30-3, and dinner 6:30-10. Yes there are theme nights and the food in the end is the same but serves the purpose for food if you don't want to have to think about what to eat day in and day out. The hotel room was a nice size with a huge king size bed and big closets. The room came with a safe which was great that we used daily. The bathroom was a nice size, shower only no tub, in our room at least. The view from our room to the bay was beautiful. Yes, like other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is on a hill. However, most of what you need in the hotel is on a level surface maybe down a flight of stairs or two. The beach is less than 5 minutes away by shuttle that runs every 5 minutes at least. You can walk to the beach but again you're walking up and down the hill. All of our interactions with the staff had been great, especially in the the more informal restaurant (there is a formal restaurant in which you have to make reservations to eat there but we never did). We loved Julio who was our shuttle/taxi driver to and from the local town of Playa del Coco and the hotel.
With all that being said, there are some minor issues. This place is a timeshare. There will be someone assigned to you that is your personal concierge. They will help you get discounts to tours and other services contingent on the fact that you attend a presentation. Thankfully, through other reviews from this website we knew that going in and had most of our tours pre-planned so we never had to use them to book any tours for us. We also made sure we were unavailable and just kept our interaction to hellos and goodbyes. As for a resort, if your vacation plan is to spend all your time here, I can understand the negative reviews in that regard. There is not much to do around the property besides going to the beach and yes the food can get boring really quickly. There is a calendar of activities that they offer daily (which we never used but if memory serves most of the activities were the same every day or every other day). Two things I wish they could improve would be the quality of the towels. They were pretty rough and flat, so it never felt good rubbing against a sunburned and sensitive back. The bed was a hard, so if you are used to sleeping on soft or semi-soft mattresses you may have some issues.
In the end, our experience at Villas Sol was great for what we wanted it to be, a place that we slept and ate when we needed to eat, had a great view and beach access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband & I first stayed here last Oct. He hates time share presentations, but some friends had to go & we tagged along. To our surprise, we ended up buying in. Returned for a week last month & we're going again for another week this month. So much to do here ~ sea kayaking, sunset sail boat cruises, deep sea fishing, zumba, the spa & just plain relaxing. And never get tired of looking at that view!! My husband caught a mahi mahi & the chef here (Franklin) was more than happy to prepare it for us. It has been nice getting to know the staff on first name basis & hear about their families. I cannot say enough good things about Villas Sol!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the third floor with an ocean view. Or rent a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that we travel often and have stayed in some "interesting" accommodations over the years. My wife is a Travel industry and our group of friends has stayed in everything from a boutique hotel room to All Inclusives. We've been across the Caribbean and have experienced all kinds of Cultures and service, however, Villas Sol has set a new "Low". We refer to it as "The Trip from Hell". Now don't get me wrong, we knew it was the start of the Rainy Season and were prepared for that weather. We also booked several Eco Tours(outside company) and had a blast, but its the amount of money wasted on staying at Villas Sol that taints this trip.
My wife and I stayed in a great one bedroom condo and our friends shared a large condo with a plunge pool. I say great, until the rains began to flood our lanai and then spill into our unit, 2" deep! This was at 2am and a call to the front desk prompted a visit by "Security" on a motor bike. I speak just enough Spanish that I figured out that he was verifying to the front desk, that I was not lying about the room's condition. He was then directed to check out the unit below us to see if we could move there. I followed down and saw that the ceiling was already leaking in that unit. When I refused to move under the growing lake the front Desk said that was all they could do for the night and that a Manager would be in the Morning. Wow! Thanks for not moving us to anywhere else on this deserted property. We called our friends and at 4am bugged out of our condo and to the safety of their dry Futon. It took 2 days to get a new condo and during that period we revisited the old place where the water remained uncleaned. It wasn't the flooding that bothered me, but the shear lack of concern for us by any of the staff!
Stupidly, we bought into the "All Inclusive package". This had nothing to do with any other All Inclusive package offered by other Resorts. For the money, the food choices were very limited. The running joke was which sauce the chicken or beef dish was in tonight, red or white! I hope you love rice and beans too! Its not the Costa Rican diet I'm disappointed in, but rather the misrepresentation of a changing menu "Theme Nights" and the illusion of multiple restaurants on any given night. The service was extremely poor and they seemed to be bothered to have to wait on you. I felt very unwelcome and out of place. As for the bar tenders, at any hour they were the same demeanor. They went out of their way to ignore you and assure that no drinks were flowing. Refills??? Try again later! Pool bar, I'm invisible. Beach bar??? Why yes, I would love a flat, warm beer poured from a strange bottle. I would have bought my own beverages from the small on site store, but oh wait, it's closed yet again for" inventory".
I consider myself pretty easy going and NOT the typical "American on Holiday" that is so famously frowned upon. Even in the middle of this craziness, all we ever wanted was decent service for the money. By all means, go to Costa Rica but, DO NOT waste your hard earned monies at Villas Sol. Please pick somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I actually started my vacation the week of September and ended in October. I was looking around for a place to call my new second home. I was there for the earthquake ...my first and only one. What an experience! Costa Rica suffered very little damage...they build well for that type of thing. Our two bedroom two bath with living room and kitchen opened from both bedrooms and the living room onto a huge patio deck with a fantastic view of the ocean. Lots of steep inclines so you can get exercise or call for their intra resort rides. I loved this resort and all of Costa Rica. No wonder I want to move there. Massages on the beach are good as well. I loved waking up to see the howler monkeys being noisy in the trees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Patricia W:

Thank you for tell us about your trip. We want you to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you need any help planning excursions, Gilbert is your guy! On a recent trip, Gilbert was extremely helpful when planning excursions. He gave us great advice and was incredibly friendly. After renting a vehicle, he even drew us a map for several beach destinations we were looking for. Thank you, Gilbert!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, nobody helping us with the luggage. During the check in process they requested a credit card guarantee although our rooms were already prepaid. The installations are good, the service from the employees in the restaurants and the beach are good. At the fitness area there was nobody, I had to find the switchboard myself to turn on the light and the airco. In the evening we wanted a bottle of water, at the check in counter the employees were rude and not helpful at all, their solution was to leave the hotel premises and buy and the next hotel A BOTTLE OF WATER!!. The credit card could not be charged for this. Also after leaving the gym there was no way to buy extra water. In conclusion service from the assistance at check inn counter extremely disappointed. A 4 star hotel should have a bottle of water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas.
Te pedimos las disculpas por lo sucedido en tu estadía. Te contamos que se irán a hacer unos cambios en el hotel para que la próxima vez que te registres nos cuentes cómo fue esa experiencia.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste
Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#5 Family Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.