We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great hotel for a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel through AAA and got a great deal. I must clarify that we used the Villas Sol Hotel for a hotel. We spent most of our time off the property doing tours. In that regard, this place was great for a home base. It is an all inclusive so we never had to worry about drinks and food especially breakfast and dinner since most of our tours started during the breakfast hour and finished during dinner. The times that are available for the meals are pretty long, breakfast 7-10 (technically it starts at 6:30 but that is just cereal and toast), lunch 12:30-3, and dinner 6:30-10. Yes there are theme nights and the food in the end is the same but serves the purpose for food if you don't want to have to think about what to eat day in and day out. The hotel room was a nice size with a huge king size bed and big closets. The room came with a safe which was great that we used daily. The bathroom was a nice size, shower only no tub, in our room at least. The view from our room to the bay was beautiful. Yes, like other reviewers have mentioned this hotel is on a hill. However, most of what you need in the hotel is on a level surface maybe down a flight of stairs or two. The beach is less than 5 minutes away by shuttle that runs every 5 minutes at least. You can walk to the beach but again you're walking up and down the hill. All of our interactions with the staff had been great, especially in the the more informal restaurant (there is a formal restaurant in which you have to make reservations to eat there but we never did). We loved Julio who was our shuttle/taxi driver to and from the local town of Playa del Coco and the hotel.
With all that being said, there are some minor issues. This place is a timeshare. There will be someone assigned to you that is your personal concierge. They will help you get discounts to tours and other services contingent on the fact that you attend a presentation. Thankfully, through other reviews from this website we knew that going in and had most of our tours pre-planned so we never had to use them to book any tours for us. We also made sure we were unavailable and just kept our interaction to hellos and goodbyes. As for a resort, if your vacation plan is to spend all your time here, I can understand the negative reviews in that regard. There is not much to do around the property besides going to the beach and yes the food can get boring really quickly. There is a calendar of activities that they offer daily (which we never used but if memory serves most of the activities were the same every day or every other day). Two things I wish they could improve would be the quality of the towels. They were pretty rough and flat, so it never felt good rubbing against a sunburned and sensitive back. The bed was a hard, so if you are used to sleeping on soft or semi-soft mattresses you may have some issues.
In the end, our experience at Villas Sol was great for what we wanted it to be, a place that we slept and ate when we needed to eat, had a great view and beach access.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    248
    160
    86
    65
See reviews for
200
327
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

My husband & I first stayed here last Oct. He hates time share presentations, but some friends had to go & we tagged along. To our surprise, we ended up buying in. Returned for a week last month & we're going again for another week this month. So much to do here ~ sea kayaking, sunset sail boat cruises, deep sea fishing, zumba, the spa & just plain relaxing. And never get tired of looking at that view!! My husband caught a mahi mahi & the chef here (Franklin) was more than happy to prepare it for us. It has been nice getting to know the staff on first name basis & hear about their families. I cannot say enough good things about Villas Sol!!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the third floor with an ocean view. Or rent a villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sellersburg
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Let me start by saying that we travel often and have stayed in some "interesting" accommodations over the years. My wife is a Travel industry and our group of friends has stayed in everything from a boutique hotel room to All Inclusives. We've been across the Caribbean and have experienced all kinds of Cultures and service, however, Villas Sol has set a new "Low". We refer to it as "The Trip from Hell". Now don't get me wrong, we knew it was the start of the Rainy Season and were prepared for that weather. We also booked several Eco Tours(outside company) and had a blast, but its the amount of money wasted on staying at Villas Sol that taints this trip.
My wife and I stayed in a great one bedroom condo and our friends shared a large condo with a plunge pool. I say great, until the rains began to flood our lanai and then spill into our unit, 2" deep! This was at 2am and a call to the front desk prompted a visit by "Security" on a motor bike. I speak just enough Spanish that I figured out that he was verifying to the front desk, that I was not lying about the room's condition. He was then directed to check out the unit below us to see if we could move there. I followed down and saw that the ceiling was already leaking in that unit. When I refused to move under the growing lake the front Desk said that was all they could do for the night and that a Manager would be in the Morning. Wow! Thanks for not moving us to anywhere else on this deserted property. We called our friends and at 4am bugged out of our condo and to the safety of their dry Futon. It took 2 days to get a new condo and during that period we revisited the old place where the water remained uncleaned. It wasn't the flooding that bothered me, but the shear lack of concern for us by any of the staff!
Stupidly, we bought into the "All Inclusive package". This had nothing to do with any other All Inclusive package offered by other Resorts. For the money, the food choices were very limited. The running joke was which sauce the chicken or beef dish was in tonight, red or white! I hope you love rice and beans too! Its not the Costa Rican diet I'm disappointed in, but rather the misrepresentation of a changing menu "Theme Nights" and the illusion of multiple restaurants on any given night. The service was extremely poor and they seemed to be bothered to have to wait on you. I felt very unwelcome and out of place. As for the bar tenders, at any hour they were the same demeanor. They went out of their way to ignore you and assure that no drinks were flowing. Refills??? Try again later! Pool bar, I'm invisible. Beach bar??? Why yes, I would love a flat, warm beer poured from a strange bottle. I would have bought my own beverages from the small on site store, but oh wait, it's closed yet again for" inventory".
I consider myself pretty easy going and NOT the typical "American on Holiday" that is so famously frowned upon. Even in the middle of this craziness, all we ever wanted was decent service for the money. By all means, go to Costa Rica but, DO NOT waste your hard earned monies at Villas Sol. Please pick somewhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Utah
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I actually started my vacation the week of September and ended in October. I was looking around for a place to call my new second home. I was there for the earthquake ...my first and only one. What an experience! Costa Rica suffered very little damage...they build well for that type of thing. Our two bedroom two bath with living room and kitchen opened from both bedrooms and the living room onto a huge patio deck with a fantastic view of the ocean. Lots of steep inclines so you can get exercise or call for their intra resort rides. I loved this resort and all of Costa Rica. No wonder I want to move there. Massages on the beach are good as well. I loved waking up to see the howler monkeys being noisy in the trees.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, Asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Hi Patricia W:

Thank you for tell us about your trip. We want you to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you need any help planning excursions, Gilbert is your guy! On a recent trip, Gilbert was extremely helpful when planning excursions. He gave us great advice and was incredibly friendly. After renting a vehicle, he even drew us a map for several beach destinations we were looking for. Thank you, Gilbert!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, nobody helping us with the luggage. During the check in process they requested a credit card guarantee although our rooms were already prepaid. The installations are good, the service from the employees in the restaurants and the beach are good. At the fitness area there was nobody, I had to find the switchboard myself to turn on the light and the airco. In the evening we wanted a bottle of water, at the check in counter the employees were rude and not helpful at all, their solution was to leave the hotel premises and buy and the next hotel A BOTTLE OF WATER!!. The credit card could not be charged for this. Also after leaving the gym there was no way to buy extra water. In conclusion service from the assistance at check inn counter extremely disappointed. A 4 star hotel should have a bottle of water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas.
Te pedimos las disculpas por lo sucedido en tu estadía. Te contamos que se irán a hacer unos cambios en el hotel para que la próxima vez que te registres nos cuentes cómo fue esa experiencia.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm currently staying in the resort with my family of 6. We have traveled a lot through Europe, and Asia. You have to understand that you are going to a 3rd world country, and look at your experience with that in mind. I'm glad to report we were not hammered with requests to see a time share presentation, but I suspect we are one of the lucky ones who fell through the cracks, even though we are here for 2 weeks. I read the reviews before we came and noticed they were under construction as far back as 2007. I wonder when it will stop because they start every morning at 7am. I see a HUGE waste of money when they are replacing neutral colored tile flooring with neutral colored tile flooring. If we were approached, the first question i would ask is why are they wasting all of this money? if I were an owner, I would be outraged at the waste I see. it just gives me a perspective of how they spend their money. With all of the construction since 2007, we seem to be the only family with a unit that has not been updated. Here's a marketing question, if you have a family of 6 staying for 2 weeks, don't you think they would be a prime target to sell a time share unit to? Don't get me wrong, Im VERY happy we were not approached (yet), but again it shows how poorly managed this place is. Another example is that it took 8 days, yes 8, to fix the air conditioning in the main living and kitchen area. The units in the bedrooms worked fine, and we spent little time in the unit so it was not a big deal. At first they thought it didn't work because the batteries in the remote were dead, really?? Then it was probably because the unit was out of freon. When I pointed out the unit did not have any power (hello is there anybody here) and told the the breaker trips every 5 minutes, they had something new to discuss. I finally demanded they change the breaker, and guess what, it worked!!!!!! I keep telling my wife I'm a genius but she doesn't believe me. By the way, there is a big hole in the ceiling too......... Again since we do not spend much time in the villa, it's not a big deal. Remember, 3rd world country.

Overall the food at the resort is very good. If you are expecting food like home, good luck. We are pleasantly surprised with the consistency of the food, and the incredibly friendly wait staff. They work very hard, and are under staffed. We are here during the rainy season (it rains 20 minutes every afternoon), and my guess is that the resort is 20% full. I hope they increase the staff before the busy season starts. As I said, the staff works VERY hard, but if you have poor management, then they are limited and overworked. The service staff (with the exception of Michael the bar tender) are AMAZING, and I cannot say enough great things about them. Michael is just a jerk and jerks are in every crowd. I'm not the only guest with this opinion of Michael.

There are only 2 restaurants here, and the "premium" one is only open 4 days a week. You only get 2 "passes" a week to eat here, and you have to make your reservations by 8 am to get a table in a restaurant that is NEVER full. In addition, we have been here for 10 days, and the ala carte menu has not changed. What's going on with that? Oh, and by the way, there are only 3 choices for appetizer and dinner, and 2 for desert. We also were served only 1 glass of wine. Maybe it was because of all of the great staff working here, Michael the jerk was our waiter.

Overall our experience was acceptable because we are here to spend time together, and a vacation is what you make of it, not the accommodations. Being experienced travelers (our youngest is 7 and an amazing poker player, won 2 of the 6 tournaments we played) we are able to look past the totally crappy management, appreciate the wonderful staff, and ignore Michael the jerk. What I am saying here is if you get a good deal, you have to understand you always pay for it somewhere. Here it is bad management, and a 2 out of 5 for accommodations. You make your own holiday, don't let Michael the jerk, or poor management spoil it for you.

One last note, all of the beaches in Costa Rica are public. You will find plenty of sharks circling you trying to sell you a time share. The best trick I've seen so far is what we the customers call "the coconut." They will approach you with scratch off cards (one for each adult). Amazingly, one of those 2 cards (usually the lady) will get 3 coconuts! WOW your a winner!!!! Then they say that only 1 of 1200 cards has 3 coconuts, and if you come with them they will treat you to lunch, if you listen to a presentation................sounds good right? We must have had the best luck because every couple we met got 3 coconuts!!!! This is so amazing I should go buy a lottery ticket and spend the night at the casino!!!!!! They work the ladies by telling them that the young lady or young man who gave you the card gets an extra $50 in their paycheck that week if you come for lunch. I know the ladies just want to help the poor girl get her extra $50. Knowing the scam we played along. We negotiated that the 90 minutes of our time started with lunch. As soon as we sat down, I took out my phone, put the timer on 90 minutes, made sure the young lady trying to sell us saw the timer and announced that the clock was ticking!! We leisurely ate lunch (we were 6), which left about 50 minutes of presentation time. Every 10 minutes during the presentation I pointed to my timer to show them how much time was left. We spent a lot of time agreeing that there is money to be made here, (we were being sarcastic of course) and decided that it just wasn't for us. I must say though the lunch was very good, and during the presentation I let my kids ask as many questions as they wanted. In the end they were very happy to take us back to our "resort." It was nice to see another beach and get a free lunch. I'm also the guy by the way when I'm called on the phone by some marketing dimwit will tell them I'm in the other room and if they can hold on for a minute that Mr. C will be right with them. Then I return to whatever I was doing asking them to hold on please..... I figure the longer I can keep a telemarketer on the line, the less time he or she has to bother someone else.

I hope this was helpful, remember that vacations are only as fun as you make them. So come on down, have some fun, and torture a timeshare rep!!

Room Tip: On a good day this is a 3 star resort AT BEST. The villas are up very steep hills and the shuttle ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hola.
Estamos pendientes de estas críticas para crecer mundialmente como hotel. Mejoraremos esos aspectos que no estuvieron correctos en tu estadía y esperamos que cuando vuelvas a visitarnos te encuentres con una experiencia asombrosa.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.