We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gilbert!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Rothesay, New Brunswick, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gilbert!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

If you need any help planning excursions, Gilbert is your guy! On a recent trip, Gilbert was extremely helpful when planning excursions. He gave us great advice and was incredibly friendly. After renting a vehicle, he even drew us a map for several beach destinations we were looking for. Thank you, Gilbert!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    251
    164
    86
    65
See reviews for
203
330
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived at the hotel, nobody helping us with the luggage. During the check in process they requested a credit card guarantee although our rooms were already prepaid. The installations are good, the service from the employees in the restaurants and the beach are good. At the fitness area there was nobody, I had to find the switchboard myself to turn on the light and the airco. In the evening we wanted a bottle of water, at the check in counter the employees were rude and not helpful at all, their solution was to leave the hotel premises and buy and the next hotel A BOTTLE OF WATER!!. The credit card could not be charged for this. Also after leaving the gym there was no way to buy extra water. In conclusion service from the assistance at check inn counter extremely disappointed. A 4 star hotel should have a bottle of water.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas.
Te pedimos las disculpas por lo sucedido en tu estadía. Te contamos que se irán a hacer unos cambios en el hotel para que la próxima vez que te registres nos cuentes cómo fue esa experiencia.
Saludos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm currently staying in the resort with my family of 6. We have traveled a lot through Europe, and Asia. You have to understand that you are going to a 3rd world country, and look at your experience with that in mind. I'm glad to report we were not hammered with requests to see a time share presentation, but I suspect we are one of the lucky ones who fell through the cracks, even though we are here for 2 weeks. I read the reviews before we came and noticed they were under construction as far back as 2007. I wonder when it will stop because they start every morning at 7am. I see a HUGE waste of money when they are replacing neutral colored tile flooring with neutral colored tile flooring. If we were approached, the first question i would ask is why are they wasting all of this money? if I were an owner, I would be outraged at the waste I see. it just gives me a perspective of how they spend their money. With all of the construction since 2007, we seem to be the only family with a unit that has not been updated. Here's a marketing question, if you have a family of 6 staying for 2 weeks, don't you think they would be a prime target to sell a time share unit to? Don't get me wrong, Im VERY happy we were not approached (yet), but again it shows how poorly managed this place is. Another example is that it took 8 days, yes 8, to fix the air conditioning in the main living and kitchen area. The units in the bedrooms worked fine, and we spent little time in the unit so it was not a big deal. At first they thought it didn't work because the batteries in the remote were dead, really?? Then it was probably because the unit was out of freon. When I pointed out the unit did not have any power (hello is there anybody here) and told the the breaker trips every 5 minutes, they had something new to discuss. I finally demanded they change the breaker, and guess what, it worked!!!!!! I keep telling my wife I'm a genius but she doesn't believe me. By the way, there is a big hole in the ceiling too......... Again since we do not spend much time in the villa, it's not a big deal. Remember, 3rd world country.

Overall the food at the resort is very good. If you are expecting food like home, good luck. We are pleasantly surprised with the consistency of the food, and the incredibly friendly wait staff. They work very hard, and are under staffed. We are here during the rainy season (it rains 20 minutes every afternoon), and my guess is that the resort is 20% full. I hope they increase the staff before the busy season starts. As I said, the staff works VERY hard, but if you have poor management, then they are limited and overworked. The service staff (with the exception of Michael the bar tender) are AMAZING, and I cannot say enough great things about them. Michael is just a jerk and jerks are in every crowd. I'm not the only guest with this opinion of Michael.

There are only 2 restaurants here, and the "premium" one is only open 4 days a week. You only get 2 "passes" a week to eat here, and you have to make your reservations by 8 am to get a table in a restaurant that is NEVER full. In addition, we have been here for 10 days, and the ala carte menu has not changed. What's going on with that? Oh, and by the way, there are only 3 choices for appetizer and dinner, and 2 for desert. We also were served only 1 glass of wine. Maybe it was because of all of the great staff working here, Michael the jerk was our waiter.

Overall our experience was acceptable because we are here to spend time together, and a vacation is what you make of it, not the accommodations. Being experienced travelers (our youngest is 7 and an amazing poker player, won 2 of the 6 tournaments we played) we are able to look past the totally crappy management, appreciate the wonderful staff, and ignore Michael the jerk. What I am saying here is if you get a good deal, you have to understand you always pay for it somewhere. Here it is bad management, and a 2 out of 5 for accommodations. You make your own holiday, don't let Michael the jerk, or poor management spoil it for you.

One last note, all of the beaches in Costa Rica are public. You will find plenty of sharks circling you trying to sell you a time share. The best trick I've seen so far is what we the customers call "the coconut." They will approach you with scratch off cards (one for each adult). Amazingly, one of those 2 cards (usually the lady) will get 3 coconuts! WOW your a winner!!!! Then they say that only 1 of 1200 cards has 3 coconuts, and if you come with them they will treat you to lunch, if you listen to a presentation................sounds good right? We must have had the best luck because every couple we met got 3 coconuts!!!! This is so amazing I should go buy a lottery ticket and spend the night at the casino!!!!!! They work the ladies by telling them that the young lady or young man who gave you the card gets an extra $50 in their paycheck that week if you come for lunch. I know the ladies just want to help the poor girl get her extra $50. Knowing the scam we played along. We negotiated that the 90 minutes of our time started with lunch. As soon as we sat down, I took out my phone, put the timer on 90 minutes, made sure the young lady trying to sell us saw the timer and announced that the clock was ticking!! We leisurely ate lunch (we were 6), which left about 50 minutes of presentation time. Every 10 minutes during the presentation I pointed to my timer to show them how much time was left. We spent a lot of time agreeing that there is money to be made here, (we were being sarcastic of course) and decided that it just wasn't for us. I must say though the lunch was very good, and during the presentation I let my kids ask as many questions as they wanted. In the end they were very happy to take us back to our "resort." It was nice to see another beach and get a free lunch. I'm also the guy by the way when I'm called on the phone by some marketing dimwit will tell them I'm in the other room and if they can hold on for a minute that Mr. C will be right with them. Then I return to whatever I was doing asking them to hold on please..... I figure the longer I can keep a telemarketer on the line, the less time he or she has to bother someone else.

I hope this was helpful, remember that vacations are only as fun as you make them. So come on down, have some fun, and torture a timeshare rep!!

Room Tip: On a good day this is a 3 star resort AT BEST. The villas are up very steep hills and the shuttle ru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hola.
Estamos pendientes de estas críticas para crecer mundialmente como hotel. Mejoraremos esos aspectos que no estuvieron correctos en tu estadía y esperamos que cuando vuelvas a visitarnos te encuentres con una experiencia asombrosa.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a hillside overlooking Playa Hermosa this resort is spread out and away from the beach. You have to take a shuttle everywhere you go. The all inclusive included one main dining room with a buffet that served mostly the same food everyday. There was also a restaurant that had an a la carte menu ( quite limited and never changes) but you are only allowed to eat there once during your stay. The drinks were OK but nothing special. The rooms were small but comfortable and the view was fantastic. Wi-Fi was very expensive but was only available in the Lobby. Do not plan to go back again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel portion you are closer to the pools and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your opinion. We are going to work on that to be better next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked two weeks at Villas Sol using RCI points spent the first week elsewhere and arrived on a Sunday for the second week of our reservation. Our room was small but clean. There was nowhere to sit besides the bed. We booked our room for the hotel because we were scared off by negative villa reviews and we didn't want to be stuck in a crummy room for our honeymoon. We were given a bottle of champagne since we were honeymooning- a very nice gesture.

We were convinced to purchase 7 days of all-inclusive and ate at the main dining room for almost all our meals. The food was ok. The drinks were ok. Nothing to get excited about. They ran out of wine while we were there.

We did the timeshare presentation, of course it's never 45 minutes like they promise. We finally left after 3 hours. We did get a sunset cruise out of it- that was a great excursion.

We ran into a problem at the end of our trip. Somewhere between a travel agent booking our 1st hotel and airfare for us, my mother booking Villas Sol for us, and wedding madness, we didn't realize our reservation ended Saturday but our flight didn't leave until Sunday! I probably would have figured it out sooner if the front desk staff hadn't kept my copy of my reservation documents. Or if they hadn't had us pay for days of all-inclusive we couldn't actually use. The front desk staff wasn't very pleasant about it, but the concierge was fantastic. He worked really hard to find us a room at another hotel down the beach.

I'd probably come back to Villas Sol for a family trip but it's hardly a romantic honeymoon destination. The sunsets, however, can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are be waiting for you with a better and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arriving at Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort about an hour before sundown gave us plenty of time to find our room, get settled a bit, and then step out to our balcony and watch an orange filled sunset that was breathtaking (got to see this two different nights!!!). Rooms were fine, food was good at the restaurant (especially the choices at breakfast). The only drawback was it was noisy--people walking along the sidewalks all through the night. Shuttle service runs every 15 minutes so it's always easy to get places. Staff was cordial, most of the time asking if you needed anything. About 45 minutes from the Liberia International Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are more than happy to have you in our hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This resort is not an American resort!! Go to the larger cities along the coast if that is what you are looking for. We are staying in a villa with kitchen and thus do not have the food plan. On the plus side we save a lot of money but there are very limited food choices in the market. They do not eat like Americans in Costa Rica.
Every villa around us is occupied by Costa Ricans on holiday. We feel we are getting a good feel for the culture (hotel has several Americans).
Caution about the villas: some border the main road and thus can be noisy with trucks going by all day. Study the map before selecting. The view in the upper villas is stunning!
Lastly, the shuttle is nice but we walk everywhere. It really is not that far. Have never waited more than a few minutes and we are here for two months!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for tell us your trip story. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.