We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Alta Loma, California
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

On a hillside overlooking Playa Hermosa this resort is spread out and away from the beach. You have to take a shuttle everywhere you go. The all inclusive included one main dining room with a buffet that served mostly the same food everyday. There was also a restaurant that had an a la carte menu ( quite limited and never changes) but you are only allowed to eat there once during your stay. The drinks were OK but nothing special. The rooms were small but comfortable and the view was fantastic. Wi-Fi was very expensive but was only available in the Lobby. Do not plan to go back again.

Room Tip: If you stay in the hotel portion you are closer to the pools and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for your opinion. We are going to work on that to be better next time you visit us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    215
    242
    160
    84
    65
See reviews for
200
324
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We booked two weeks at Villas Sol using RCI points spent the first week elsewhere and arrived on a Sunday for the second week of our reservation. Our room was small but clean. There was nowhere to sit besides the bed. We booked our room for the hotel because we were scared off by negative villa reviews and we didn't want to be stuck in a crummy room for our honeymoon. We were given a bottle of champagne since we were honeymooning- a very nice gesture.

We were convinced to purchase 7 days of all-inclusive and ate at the main dining room for almost all our meals. The food was ok. The drinks were ok. Nothing to get excited about. They ran out of wine while we were there.

We did the timeshare presentation, of course it's never 45 minutes like they promise. We finally left after 3 hours. We did get a sunset cruise out of it- that was a great excursion.

We ran into a problem at the end of our trip. Somewhere between a travel agent booking our 1st hotel and airfare for us, my mother booking Villas Sol for us, and wedding madness, we didn't realize our reservation ended Saturday but our flight didn't leave until Sunday! I probably would have figured it out sooner if the front desk staff hadn't kept my copy of my reservation documents. Or if they hadn't had us pay for days of all-inclusive we couldn't actually use. The front desk staff wasn't very pleasant about it, but the concierge was fantastic. He worked really hard to find us a room at another hotel down the beach.

I'd probably come back to Villas Sol for a family trip but it's hardly a romantic honeymoon destination. The sunsets, however, can't be beat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are be waiting for you with a better and excellent service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Arriving at Villas Sol Hotel and Beach Resort about an hour before sundown gave us plenty of time to find our room, get settled a bit, and then step out to our balcony and watch an orange filled sunset that was breathtaking (got to see this two different nights!!!). Rooms were fine, food was good at the restaurant (especially the choices at breakfast). The only drawback was it was noisy--people walking along the sidewalks all through the night. Shuttle service runs every 15 minutes so it's always easy to get places. Staff was cordial, most of the time asking if you needed anything. About 45 minutes from the Liberia International Airport.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
We are more than happy to have you in our hotel. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This resort is not an American resort!! Go to the larger cities along the coast if that is what you are looking for. We are staying in a villa with kitchen and thus do not have the food plan. On the plus side we save a lot of money but there are very limited food choices in the market. They do not eat like Americans in Costa Rica.
Every villa around us is occupied by Costa Ricans on holiday. We feel we are getting a good feel for the culture (hotel has several Americans).
Caution about the villas: some border the main road and thus can be noisy with trucks going by all day. Study the map before selecting. The view in the upper villas is stunning!
Lastly, the shuttle is nice but we walk everywhere. It really is not that far. Have never waited more than a few minutes and we are here for two months!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for tell us your trip story. We hope you come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Our visit to Costa Rica was from Atlantic coast to Pacific coast, ending here for 4 days. After being at the an excellent hotel in Arenal, with the hot springs, and being used to other type of hotels / resorts our expectations were probably too high for the service Villas Sol Hotel has to offer.

In more detail:
We choose the "all inclusive" option but we consider that was a mistake for the following:
- the all inclusive restaurant food was quite poor and the variety was low (in all meals) - 25$ pp
- some food is not fresh (ex: bread had 1 or 2 days - confirmed by the cook when we asked, pancakes where reheated)
- the restaurant not included in the all inclusive (although 1 meal is offered for more than 3 nights) was very good, with excellent service and excellent food quality - 39$ pp
- the quality and the variety of drinks was very poor, juices and cocktails were not fresh (from a slush machine) and some drinks were not always available (ex: Mojito)

We consider the general service quite poor, although with some exceptions of extreme nice employees. We highlight the following:
- the hotel never offered to help or present a solution (we had a mistake from our agency and the Hotel refused to help or suggest a solution)
- the room cleaning is quite poor, the bathroom cleanliness is sloppy and we found hair in the sheets (we complained about this situation without any reply or attention from the hotel, even after the agency contacted them)
- the jacuzzi is in bad conditions, with the missed tiles and loose glue in the water

Despite the previous, we emphasize that this hotel is in a privileged and excellent location, with an wonderful view and very closed to the beach, offering constant transportation. The newly hotel's spa is very good and it's highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor, on the left side have the best view (I consider the best the 2309)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Muchas gracias por todas tus críticas tanto buenas y malas, las tomaremos para mejorar como hotel y ser el preferido de ustedes y muchas otras personas más.
Saludos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just return from a weekend birthday celebration at the Villa Sol. Let me first say that I had a wonderful birthday celebration at the resort. The restaurant manager and the whole wait staff celebrated my birthday with songs in Spanish, cake, dance, and celebration. The Spa manager and staff provided me and my husband with a complimentary spa that was just superb. They also took pictures and song happy birthday to me in Spanish. Again my sincerest thanks to the resort for making my birthday special.

Now this is where we get in to the box of chocolates.

1. The toilet in our room was leaking from the bottom. We called the front desk and even went to the front desk so many times that I actually lost count. With every call and trip to the front desk the standard answer was "he will be there in 10 minutes". After a while I was getting frustrated because a leaking toilet is unsanitary and a health hazard. Finally that night (we started this process upon check in) someone came and said that he didn't see the leak but put some towels down instead.
2. On Saturday we went on an all day tour ( great by the way) and returned to the resort about 5:30pm and the room had not been cleaned or serviced. Called the front desk and the standard " someone will be there in 10 minutes". About five minutes later I receive a call stating that we had left the do not disturb sign on the door therefore the room was not cleaned. I quickly informed the front desk staff that we had left the resort at 7:30 that morning and had just returned. How and why would we put out the do not disturb sign. By the way the sign was hanging on the inside of the room door.
3. The shuttle service is spotty at best. They are supposed to run every 15 minutes this is what we were told. It is more like every 45 minutes. On two occasion we waited so long that we started walking and then saw about 2 or 3 shuttles coming down the road.
4. The food is bland and without any flavor. This was surprising to me being in Costa Rica I was expecting food infused with flavor and color. The food consisted of rice, beans, beef, pork, and chicken everyday cooked in a different way and/or sauce. Breakfast was by far the best meal of the day.

Costa Rica is a beautiful country with so much to see and do. I would highly recommend using Swiss Tours for any excursion. We went on the Mega Combo tour which included Zip lining, horseback riding, white water sliding, volcanic mud bath, and soaking in a natural hot springs. Well worth the money as our tour guide Ronald was professional, personal, engaging, and provided us with the rich history of Costa Rico.

If you want the best seafood in the world go to Papagayo Seafood in Coco Beach. We had the lobster dinner which is plenty for two to share. Martin the driver will come and pick up and bring you back to the resort(s).

Now back to the Villa Sol. The resort is in need of renovation as the rooms are stale and bland no color on the walls, pictures, etc. in the room. It reminder me of a hospital room. New furniture, mattresses, etc would be nice. It was clean so that is a plus. The ala cart restaurant is small about 17 tables so when you try to book it they say it is full. This could be the cause but don't worry as they serve the same menu everyday so chances are you will get in but it not worth stressing out over.

We will definitely go back to Costa Rica as it is truly a beautiful country but we will not be going back to the Villa Sol. To conclude the reviews on Trip Advisor are spot on both positive and negative.

Remember the Villa Sol is like a box of chocolates. You just never know what you are going to get.

Room Tip: Room 2301 is a good corner room and faces the peninsula. Just make sure the toilet does not leak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
¡Hola!
Muchas gracias por tus críticas tanto buenas y malas ya que nos hace mejorar como hotel y resort. Tendremos presente todos esos detalles que no fueron de su agrado. Estamos haciendo unos cambios en el mismo, lo invitamos a que vuelva y nos comente cómo fue su experiencia nuevamente.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We just arrived back home, yea! I stayed at this resort from Jul. 25 - Jul. 29. I would not put this Resort on my list of favorites. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and probably my last. I arrived by plane into Costa Rica about 12PM and to the resort about 1PM. I tried to check in and they said that our room was not ready and would not be until 4PM. I had nothing to do for 3 hours because I wasn't going to leave my luggage and personals laying around. The issue was that the resort (hotel) which is where I stayed had 52 rooms and 40 of them were vacant. I love Latin food, I lived in Panama for 6 years! I was getting tired of the same food after the first lunch, dinner, and breakfast. The hotel decor was bland, ceramic tile floors, wood framed beds, and get this, no pictures on the walls. White towels and linen made me feel like I was in prison. The one good thing was the views from every place on the resort. The resort was built on a mountain side and every where you went on the resort was a climb or slippery slope. They have transportation to get from point a to b on the resort but you would wait 15 to 30 minutes for the taxi to catch a ride that was less than 1 mile wide. I say that because you wouldn't want to walk the resort, it is on the side of the mountain and very steep. (Oh, I already said that!) The resort had just reopened the spa on the resort and we took advantage of it and because we were the first visitors to the new spa and it being my wife's birthday we were treated to 90 minute massage that was great!!!! Those ladies did such a great job that I just fell a sleep. The main and for all intense and purpose only restaurant manager (Alex) was fantastic. He gave my wife a birthday celebration that included dancers, cake, and serenade from the band, we could not have been more pleased. You have to leave the resort to experience Costa Rica and we did. We took the mega tour which includes horse back riding, a tour of Liberia, Mud bath, Hot springs, lunch, and Zip lining it was by Swiss Travel they did a great job. We were there for the celebration of some sort and saw and participated in a parade, danced with the locals and ate at the world's best seafood restaurant called Papagayeous, the foods so fresh that you can go in the back and see them take it right off the boats. We had two giant lobsters stuffed with every sea animal for 33 dollars. It fed 2 people. Now back on the plantation, I mean resort. The all inclusive included alcohol that was so watered down that I used the drinks as water and cleaned out my stomach. We sat at the bar with another couple and had about 12 drinks a piece and didn't feel a thing. The taxes in Costa Rica will kill you. I understand where they go to but my god! When we were leaving after 5 days and not much sooner, we ate at the Players Club which is glorified Johnny Rockets hamburger joint in the airport. Get this, 2 hamburgers, fries, and 2 Pepsi's because this is the first country I been to that doesn't sell coke..... 72 dollars. No lie! I was told on my time share presentation that there are 11 resorts in all of Costa Rica and only 5 allow international's to come there, well they just reduced that number to 4 because this resort should be added to that list as well. Thanks to Rosetta Stone I can say NO MAS, NO MAS, and NO MAS. I won't be back there.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel section because if you get the all inclusive package you don't have to put on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viviana C, asistente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Google Translation
Buenas.
Todas las críticas son muy bien recibidas por nosotros. Estaremos resolviendo todos esos obstáculos que tuvo en su estadía.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.