We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 hotels in Playa Hermosa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here from june 6-10 and it was so beautful and amazing the staff super friendly. We did have issues in our studio which I will not discuss but they gladly upgraded us to a great room with an even better view and a bottle of champagne. The food was good the breakfast, many options. Lunch and dinner similar but its an all inclusive what more can you expect. We took a shuttle to coco beach $5pp a nice 15 minute ride in the town where many locals reside. We got great deals on many souvenirs I recommend buying souvenirs here as aposed to at the hotel or at the airport which is very small only has about 4 stores:( we had lunch at coco beach at a very nice local bar/grill very cheap 2, 500 colones for ceviche which is about $5usd and beer is $2. The beach is black sand the water doesnt look clear but it actually is, you just can't tell because of the black sand, the view is amazing we did a free kayak tour one day, very nice but tiring. We saw monkeys twice once on the trees and then near our room. Many igianas on the grounds. TAKE INSECT REPELENT!!! WE got bitten all over by flies .

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear lizfranciely,

Thank you for your comment! We feel glad that you and your husband enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We hope that you come back soon.

Regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    214
    237
    157
    83
    63
See reviews for
197
317
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

First things first !!! If you are booking this resort and taking the " Super Saver Studio " you will be in a villa way up the hill away from the Main Hotel. It is Cheaper overall but you will Shuttle up and down the hills all day long to reach "lobby" "food" "pool" "beach" etc...had we known sooner we would have paid the extra $140 for the week to have a room in the main hotel.
With that aside....the Food was excellent, the staff is great, the grounds are really nice, the views are outstanding and the monkees are awesome. There are shuttles that take you to Coco Beach every few hours for $ 5 a person and we advise to do so for shopping or a swim in a better beach than the hotel has or having a meal and some cervesa with the locals. Its a fun and safe environment, the locals are very friendly and helpful and glad to have a conversation with you as you go about your day.

We booked this trip with Air Canada Vacations and we booked our Excursions with the Air Canada Rep (Nevy) which we really enjoyed, just wished that there was a rep there for longer hours during the day. Each company offers similiar excursions but overall we had a great experience with the Air Canada Rep and would definatly do it all again.

Final remarks: Villas Sol sits on a beautiful property and has much to offer. Costa Rica is a great place to see and discover with much adventure and natural wonders. So if you decide to book at Villas Sol for your vacation be sure to drop by the main bar and see "Jeffrey", the best bartender on the property.

Room Tip: Villas in the hills and are steep to walk to....rooms in the main hotel are more convenient...but AL...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear chrisnchantal,

Thank you for you review! Is really nice to know that you enjoyed Costa Rica and our hotel. We hope that you want to come back soon. I want to invite you to be part of our Facebook page and continue in touch with us.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Burni
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We vacationed here in May 2013, myself and 2 family members, we weren't sure about staying at this resort after reading some negative reviews, but found that none of the negative things that others had experienced were true for our stay. From the moment we got to the resort, we were greeted by very friendly staff members, we checked in with no problem, went to our Villa, a two bedroom unit, 89-1, walked out on the balcony's and fell in love with the view. I say balcony's, because in the 2 bedroom unit, you have one upstairs and one downstairs. The villa is completely furnished with everything you would need to prepare your own meals, which I would highly recommend, or eat out at restaurants, because the only negative throughout our entire stay was the food, not much of a selection and taste was very average, however, the view from the restaurant was absolutely amazing. The good thing is, you do have the choice to buy the all inclusive food package, which was reasonable in cost, or you could do your own thing. The swim up pool bar was great, very relaxing and once again, the personel was so accommodating and friendly. Some reviewers complained about the shuttle not coming around enough, we did not find that to be true, there was always another shuttle coming up and going down every 10 minutes or less. If you are up to it, walk, great exercise, but if not, take the shuttle. There are a lot of activities for every age group to enjoy from dance lessons, spanish lessons, water arobics, kayaking lessons, there is so much to do that you never have time to be bored. My sister in law, whose review title is "A view of Serenity" and I, went on the Mega Combo excursion through Essie Tours, had the most wonderful tour guide, Ariel, who went above and beyond to make our experience the very best that it could be. We started out by ziplining, which I must admit, I was petrified when I went down the first platform, but after that, I was wanting to be first going down the other 10, fun fun fun, than we went horseback riding, up and down hills that appeared to be scary, but the horses were well trained and knew the path very well so once again, what appeared scary at first became a great experience for us both, there was a point at the top of a ridge where we stopped and looked out over the landscape and was blown away by the view. We continued on our excursion by going into a sauna to have our pores opened and than took a mud bath in the volcanic mud, swam in the hot springs, got taken back to our starting point on a tractor where we went down a 1400 ft. waterslide, wow, what a rush, and finished up with a fantastic lunch. We also went on a sunset cruise, the most amazing sunset you will ever want to see and a riverboat ride to see the monkeys, birds, gators, amphibeans and just the beauty of the land. On our way to where we left out of for the riverboat ride, we got to see a lot of the countryside which was amazing. Costa Rica is by far one of the most beautiful places we have traveled to and we have been to some very pretty places. I'm glad we didn't allow others negative reviews affect our thoughts about going to this resort. We will without a doubt return to Villas Sol and stay in the Villas. If you are planning on staying here, do yourself a big favor and request a Villa that is high up as they have the most amazing view that you will ever see. We can't wait to go back and possibly see another view from another high up Villa. No mater which Villa you stay in that is higher up, your view will make your jaw drop, it is breathtaking. Hope this review is helpful to you and you enjoy your stay as much as me and my family did, a vacation to remember forever. Do not allow others negative reviews deterr you from wanting to stay at the Villas Sol, be your own judge as we did and I hope you will be satisfied with your choice as we were.

Room Tip: Stay in the Villas, the higher up the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Tagalong3,

Thank you for your comment! We are so glad that you enjoy your stay and we hope that you want to come back soon. We going to take account your comment about food. I want to invite you to be part of our Facebook page.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We vacationed here from May 11-18, 2013, a party of 3, and were skeptical due to reading non favorable reviews! Fortunately, we don't agree with the negative reviews. We stayed in a 2 bedroom, oceanview villa, 89-1, and had the most magnificent view! And not just of the Pacific, but of the surrounding mountains. We chose to walk the hillside and used the steps to the main hotel. We are 61 and 55 years and found minimal difficulty in the climb. We used the shuttle only for the beach and spa. The beach is black sand and makes the water appear dirty, but it is clear and clean . We enjoyed water aerobics at the main pool and enjoyed conversation with other guests. The "La Bahia Restaurant" has breathtaking views and you can sit outside overlooking the grounds. The food is average, but you are not paying a high price for the all inclusive, as you would at the Riu. The meal at the a la cate, "Heliconias" was excellent with great service and we booked for that night. We found all the employees to be more than friendly and helpful. They always greeted you with a heartwarming smile and a "Hola". We found this resort to be extremely relaxing and they provide daily maid service. We traded one of our REE weeks for this and had perfect accommodations and check in was quick and efffcient. We had no problems with air conditioning or water pressure. The maid even washed our dirty dishes when we were too lazy to do before leaving for the day. We did 3 excursions and recommend the Mega Combo and the Sunset Cruise. May is the beginning of the rainy season but we only had a few showers upon our arrival and clear weather the rest of the 7 days. We went to CoCo Beach twice and enjoyed relaxing with the locals. Great seafood ! No locals harassing you to buy their product/souvenir. The Villas do have a shuttle service to and from CoCo Beach for $5.00 USD PP. The Villas is a short 20 minute ride from Liberia. There is a $29.00 USD departure tax payable at the airport prior to check in. A must to venture out and see the country. Very safe to do and locals are helpful in suggesting sites to see. Now for the cons: The futon sofa needed cleaned in our Villa, 89-1, for there were many stains on the cloth fabric and we did use a blanket as a throw. The bed was a double and very hard. The second bedroom had little dresser space and the closet had the hot water tank in it leaving no storage space. We enjoyed ourselves and felt safe at all times and fell in love with the country...the wonderful views from the Villas are hard to beat. We enjoyed the best massage I have ever had at the spa, The Paradise Massage, and would recommend this over the massage parlor at CoCo Beach. We will defintely return to the Villas Sol, and not just because we bought a one bedroom villa!

Room Tip: If staying in the Villas, get a Villa from Number 66-110. Villas from 1-65 have limited views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Chanell,

I feel so glad that you enjoy to be here. We going to have some changes in the villas, so I hope that you want to come back next year and enjoy all that we going to do.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Staff was very friendly & courteous. Food not the best for an all-inclusive. Fried tripe, then it showed up in soup, then in a beef stew. We were there right before the rainy season, so everything was dry & dead. Not the lush rainforest I was expecting. Hotel rooms overlooked beach & bay. Villas were located on the surrounding hills. Had shuttle service that ran every 5-10 min. Service staff bilingual

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Chris K,

Thank you for your comment! We will be considering to improve. I hope that you come back soon.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterville, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Our party of four recently returned from a wonderful vacation at Villas Sol, in Costa Rica. The hotel and accommodations were wonderful and the all-inclusive meals were outstanding! Everyone there seemed dedicated to the guests having a good time--very relaxed and friendly.
We also did some excursions with qualitytourscostarica. and got to see some of the surrounding attractions, both in an out of the water. Everything was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Trudi K,

I appreciate your comment, it is a pleasure for us to have made you feel at home. I hope that you come back soon.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Gerente Residente
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ahhh yes, the property is beautiful.... but i am not going to waste your time talking about it, I am going to adress the real issues!

Location: Great for those whom do not enjoy 1hr bus rides after getting off a plane. About 25 minutes from the airport. Easy, quick check in. Scattered upon a hillside in the Guancaste province.. along with other hotels so you do not feel too secluded. I encourage leaving the grounds as it is very safe and there are other resto's around to discover.

Accomodations: DO NOT under any circumstances book a SuperSaver Studio. Prior to booking this trip i was very careful when doing all my research, so when the VillasSol website did not confirm the Studio accomodation as an option i assumed i would be in the newly renovated hotel room... to be sure, i had my agent also confirm this. When we arrived there to our surprise the front desk hands us the room keys with a note that said Villa. Let me tell you... there is a reason they do not publicise this room.... cause there is no way in hell you would book it! I have decided not to elaborate on the room issues because since then Villas Sol has offered me 5 free nights in an effort to change my mind about this place. All you need to know is... DON'T stay in that room.

The Hotel: Not for anyone that has trouble getting around or is elderly. I consider myself to be quite fit and even i ran out of breath around this place. Shuttles pass on a regular basis so getting around isn't too hard. It is quite clean with the exception of the pools, a little sandy. Plenty of chairs available during the week... weekend not so much, try to book your tours then. Virtually little to no service, except for the weekend when the locals hung around. Other than that i was always getting up for my drinks. Activities, yes there were quite a few going on, except for when you really needed them, which was after 10pm. After 10-10:30 there was virually nothing to do... unless you left the resort you were forced to hang out at a bar with no music and no people or go to bed. Staff was nothing to rave about... there were probably 5 that stood out, and the rest were in their own world. We actually missed our last sunset cause our shuttle driver decided to stop at the top of the hill to get a view of it himself... HELLO! i don't live here!, you get to see this sunset everyday and we want to see it from the beach... not the top of the hill!? Beach was a short shuttle ride away... very nice, different. A handful of restos and a little section to the right of the entrance dedicated to the villas sol guests. Now, the food. I would have like to comment on the a la carte but we did not get to go. If you do not book the first day you are there, it is most likely you will not get the chance to go. One night closed, others full, another event... for the amount of people at this resort i find it ridiculous to have one seating... especially in a resto that seats less than 50. The buffet, Wow! and not in a good way. Small, not enough selection. They recycle a lot of the food so choose wisely. I was okay up until the last day when I got very sick... and still am! I will have to visit the doctor thanks to them. Eat outside if you can, the local restos are fantatic and generally afordable.
Honorable mention: the drinks were very good and the booze hefty / the wildlife was awesome!

I honestly feed bad writting this review cause Costa Rica was such a great place to visit and i look forward to my return... i hope this hotel raises the bar till then.

Must Do:
Go to Cocoa beach ($15 each way unless you go with the hotel shuttle during their hours). Small casino, restos, grocery store, bars, beach, gelato, yum yum! Thank god for this spot close by or we would have been so bored at night. See a volcano, visit hot mud, hot springs and zipline. A MUST is a trip to the surf town of Tamarindo, laid back attitude and super fun surf lessons. Great little town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asistente D, Gerente Residente at Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear CopacabAnnaMTL,

The reason why we don't have any photo about studios in our web page is because this especial is only for travel agencies national or internationals, and also we don't have photos on the website of the travel agencies because all our studios are different, this is not the same that rooms, that we have standard room with two beds or King bed.

Unfortunately, the room that was assigned, had troubles during your stay. You have to understand that the price of these studios is not the same that for an standard room. We have several ways to be in touch with us before to arrive to the hotel, you could have sent us an email prior to your arrival with your request about the room.

Now we have another chance that you stay here in an standard room and change your perspective about the hotel.You have two different emails for make your reservation and let us know your request before your arrival.

Best regards,
Bryan Hurtado
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.