We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice sunset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice sunset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

My husband bought a package from "best vacations ever" much to my dismay. I was really hesitant about this stay as I really do not enjoy timeshare presentations (this also included transport to and from the airport and all inclusive). The hotel was nice, although they gave us the room next to the reception and which was very noisy. We always felt safe. The view from the balcony was really pretty. The beach was lovely. The beds were nice and the rooms kept clean. The food was buffet style and there were some good entrees, the steam tables were nice and hot, wait staff were great, but there really wasn't much variety from day to day so got really mundane. We were not harassed by timeshare people as others have stated, but the "90 minute, non pressure" timeshare presentation that was part of the package took 3 hours and turned into a high pressure sales pitch with the person almost loosing his temper when we wouldn't buy. WHY would we want to spend $10,000.00 for another timeshare pluls maintanance fees when we can easily trade our own in for a stay here? I can think of a lot of other ways to spend this money. We didn't take any tours with the resort although we took several great tours with http://www.tours-your-way.com/ these were private tours and you really do have tours your way. I highly recommend them. Yes I would probably trade into this resort (not hotel) for a week stay but we usually do day trips and would probably make our own food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    251
    164
    86
    65
See reviews for
203
330
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very convenient location in Hermosa Beach and near other nice beaches, It is also close to Liberia City.
Good option if you would like to spend some days in the beach in an all inclusive hotel.
Very good facilities, rooms are not so big but good enough considering you should spend more of your time in outdoor activities in the pool or beach.
My child enjoyined a lot the pool and I practiced kayaking in the beach.
Food is good and a good variety is offered at every eating time.
For reasonable price it is highly recomended.

Room Tip: Consider that there are not elevator when you chose your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just got back from 4 days at Villa Sol and it was the worst vacation time I've had in a long, long time. Our 1st room was a handicap room (we are a very active couple and not in need of such a room), it had no hot water, the electronic key lock worked less than half the time, the room was located on the 1st floor (we had reserved a waterview room) and no matter how far I might have hung out the window, it only viewed the driveway), lastly the room was located at the base of the stairway that led to the shuttle service. There was constant noise and people visiting with each other right outside the door! We had to get the key remade 3 different times and it still did not work. There was only 1 bath towel in the room; we asked for more and they never showed up. THe next day I literally camped at the front desk to get them to put us in another room. That totally wasted an entire day, but we were placed in another room FINALLY. THe beach is a 5 min. Shuttle ride down the mountain and there are no less than 4-5 timeshare people hounding you as soon as you walk on the sand. THe place looks very tired, could benefit by a lot of cleaning, the towels are holely and very thin. THe drinks at the bar are very watered down. The only thing we ending up ordering was the draft beer or wine. Everything else tasted like sugar water. They offer guests a one time per stay opportunity to use the villa restaurant (reservation only) ordering off the menu. There were 4 of us having dinner and not one of us received what we ordered. THe waiter was alone on the job - not happy that he was - and made it very clear he hated his boss. THat created a nice dining atmosphere! The main dining room is always buffet and they do try much harder to serve, but after 2 days everything begins to taste the same. THey give you a printout of activites when you check in, but several times no one showed up - so no activities. THere are a lot of families around, so it's ot as relaxing as a couple might want. In Feb. 2012 when I booked our reservation, I was told internet was available and included. Well, it's not. THere is a charge. I was also told when I booked the reservation that transportation back to Liberia airport was included and it was not. They insisted I pay $40. We had a 6:15 a.m. departure time and no one was available to check us out even tho there is supposedly 24 hour attendance. Not the case. I tried several times to speak with the manager, but he was scarce everytime. We heard from the taxi driver that they fired the general manager last week. I have never given such a poor rating to any place, but Villa Sol deserves it. I would not go back.

Room Tip: If you dare try this place, ask for the third floor - it's away from noise and if centrally loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I was lucky enough to stay in villa #26 at Villas Sol. It is beautifully decorated with all the comforts of home and has a beautiful pool right out the door. The deck is huge with lawn chairs and a wooden table and chairs for outdoor relaxing and dining. There are 3 bedrooms and two full baths - one in master bedroom and other to be shared by the other two bedrooms. Decor is lovely with plenty of seating and the kitchen is fully stocked. A washer and dryer add to the amenties for your use. You have use of the pool at the hotel, the lazy river pool and the beach. You can purchase all-inclusive packages should you choose to have meals at the restaurant on the hill overlooking the ocean. We just did that one day and bought wonderful local vegetables and fruits and ate in the villa as well as at local restaurants. Everything is just beautiful and I enjoyed my stay imensely,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed at Villas Sol for a very affordable rate because we used my mother in laws timeshare exchange. We payed the extra money for the all inclusive so we could eat conveniently. The food definitely left a lot to be desired and we went into town a few times to get some variety. The area is beautiful and the accommodations were well kept. Not amazing, but pretty nice. The beach was close and we had rented a car so we could do some exploring on our own which was a really good idea since the land is so so beautiful. Service was great, drinks were great, pool was clean and the activities people were awesome. We did wind up going to the timeshare presentation and purchasing because we love to travel. I hope to be back soon!

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel because its closer to the restaurant OR try to get a room with a kitchen (timeshar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here via a promotion from Best Vacations Ever ("Never"). The only Pro's I can write about are the view and location-lovely, the service employees-very pleasant, but powerless. The only time we got any attention and no resolution was during the "pitch to buy". With this "great deal" we had to sit through a 90 minute sales pitch for timeshares (it was 3 hours!!). The total for this came to $150 per night. To begin with this hotel property is not even close to a 4 star property..at best a low 3 or high 2 star. I have spent many vacations in all inclusive resorts and the food is always varied and enjoyable. At this place the food had no variation, no real taste, the same salads, no local fruits. The only dish that changed from lunch to dinner or day to day was the protein-chicken, fish or beef.The fruit in the baskets at the buffets were plastic??The sad part is there is no place else to go without paying a $20 taxi fee to get to Playa Coco. The hotel room itself had AC that did not work despite 3 attempts to fix it. The balcony door would either not lock, open or not close, depending on the time of day. The bathroom window had no lock so we jimmied it with hangers so it could not be opened. The beds were not just firm, they were like cement blocks. The pool was dirty and the metal stairs leading into the pool were loose and dangerous. Finally the towels for the room were likely old, raggedy and rough and then we had to check out "beach" towels that were is just as bad shape. I would never recommend this resort to anyone or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to go for us first-timers! The rooms were clean and very adequate. The shuttle was very timely. The food was excellent & the service was too! Always lots to drink. The mojitas were great! Super all-inclusive!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.