We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Misleading” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort to your Saves list
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very Misleading”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here via a promotion from Best Vacations Ever ("Never"). The only Pro's I can write about are the view and location-lovely, the service employees-very pleasant, but powerless. The only time we got any attention and no resolution was during the "pitch to buy". With this "great deal" we had to sit through a 90 minute sales pitch for timeshares (it was 3 hours!!). The total for this came to $150 per night. To begin with this hotel property is not even close to a 4 star property..at best a low 3 or high 2 star. I have spent many vacations in all inclusive resorts and the food is always varied and enjoyable. At this place the food had no variation, no real taste, the same salads, no local fruits. The only dish that changed from lunch to dinner or day to day was the protein-chicken, fish or beef.The fruit in the baskets at the buffets were plastic??The sad part is there is no place else to go without paying a $20 taxi fee to get to Playa Coco. The hotel room itself had AC that did not work despite 3 attempts to fix it. The balcony door would either not lock, open or not close, depending on the time of day. The bathroom window had no lock so we jimmied it with hangers so it could not be opened. The beds were not just firm, they were like cement blocks. The pool was dirty and the metal stairs leading into the pool were loose and dangerous. Finally the towels for the room were likely old, raggedy and rough and then we had to check out "beach" towels that were is just as bad shape. I would never recommend this resort to anyone or stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

894 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    280
    192
    101
    76
See reviews for
228
379
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
66 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

This was a great place to go for us first-timers! The rooms were clean and very adequate. The shuttle was very timely. The food was excellent & the service was too! Always lots to drink. The mojitas were great! Super all-inclusive!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Excellent value-- I have stayed in the rooms (great balcony views) and in a villa (individual 'house' with a 2B/2B with kitchen and plunge pool on the balcony). I have never had issues with the service, as I saw noted in one of these reviews. I was ther in late August 2012, and had GREAT friendly service, helpful service, and variety of food, dessert and drinks. We have 2 kids, and the rooms were just fine for our family of 4-- clean and organized, modern decor, cold A/C, clean bathrooms with all amenities. The balcony is great and private and we sat out there often to enjoy the sunrise/sunset. There are a few different pools to enjoy and we were able t move around easily to accomodate the kids' need to play, along with our desire to relax and 'watch' them swim. :)
Food was good-- enjoyed by kids and adults alike. Costa Rica does not have flashy, spicy foods-- you won't find that there anywhere. But the staff went out of their way to make it pretty, uniquely prepared and fresh. We fished on day and they prepared our fish for dinner and it was FABULOUS!!!! The Manager of the hotel and the restaurant were very accomodating and we enjoyed their presence!!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

My wife Nadine & I stay in Villas Sol at least two times a year./ It is convenient to the airport at Liberia (LIR) about 20 minutes away. Has really good security with guard gates on the main road and beach entrance as well as 24 hour roving guards and security cameras making it a great place for families with children. The grounds are very large and you may see iguanas on the ground, monkeys & parrots in the trees & fish in the tide pools. The view of the Pacific Ocean is really outstanding and the sunsets are breathtaking from the pool, bar and your own private balcony. It is an all inclusive resort and all the food is buffet style. They have a different theme on the food everyday and it's good, not gourmet but good. However the prices are such that you can afford to blow off a couple of meals and try some of the restaurants in the area (my suggestion) Location is perfect for scuba diving, sport fishing and some of the many soft & extreme adventure tours available in the area.

Room Tip: If you go here on time share or Groupon you are likely to have a lock out room in one of the villas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I feel that always can directly relate to this place. Always great food. Always simply beautiful rooms. Always friendly staff. Always fun pool activities. Always! This year I stayed more centrally located in the main hotel it was much better than being on the edge. I thought the left edge of the hotel was great but in the center it is just that much quieter. Don't know if I can come back this year but will come back ASAP. If anyone wants more information look at my previous review for this great place.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

So I wondered how the trip would be - based on the range of comments here - but it was great!

The hotel is wonderful - probably the only drawback is that the food is average at best BUT this was more than made up for by the great staff and the beauty of Costa Rica - the team at Swiss Tours took us out to Mt Arenal and to Palos Verde park and we had a great time.

Thanks to the great team at Villas Sol - you folks made for a very memorable one week in Costa Rica - my wife and I had a fantastic time

Room Tip: It looks like every room is great - we had a room on the far side of the hotel - but it looks like a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

My stay at Villas Sol was great. The food was tasty even though the menu was limited. There isn't a lot going on in Playa Hermosa so far as nightlife, so if you want to have fun go to nearby beaches.

The staff is very friendly and efficient. I'd return. Stop by the big hotel atGulf de Papagayo and have a few drinks at the bar. Beautiful view at sunset.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort

Address: Promotora La Costa, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a development of 100% Costa Rican capital located on Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste on the northern Pacific Coast and managed by Promotora La Costa, a pioneer company in tourism development in Guanacaste. We are a 4-star Resort, and have a Tourism Sustainability Certification (CST) of the Costa Rican Tourism Institute (ICT) and we are affiliated to Resort Condominium International RCI, being the only Resort in Central America included in the Gold Crown category granted by this company.We work under an All-Inclusive service in 54 Deluxe Hotel Rooms and 109 fully equipped Villas of 1, 2 and 3 bedrooms.with unbeatable view of Papagayo Gulf.Among many alternatives for entertainment and sports offered by Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, you’ll find a wide variety of activities for all ages, water sports (motorized & non motorized), sport fishing, diving, kayak & jet ski. As well as many one day tours that will take you to the many National parks and hide away beaches in the area surrounding our resort.Our great location makes not only our resort a great destination but also offers a convenient closeness to all major tours and activities taking place in the Guanacaste area and surroundings.Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort is a place for all ages and types of vacationer. A great choice for families traveling with children, single travelers, honeymooners, people looking for a relaxing vacation or those looking for fun and excitement.Our friendly, helpful staff welcome all guests with a “PURA VIDA” and a smile.& the best service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villas Sol Hotel And Beach Resort
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Playa Hermosa
Hotel Sol Beach
Sol Hotel Playa Hermosa
Playa Hermosa Sol Hotel
Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villas Sol Hotel & Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.