We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“condovac la costa and Mardigi tours made a great vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Save
You added Hotel Condovac la Costa to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
atlanta
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“condovac la costa and Mardigi tours made a great vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

This was my second and my daughter's 4th trip to CR; first to this region.The only disappointment was rather murky water d/t a recent hurricane off Mexico which made snorkeling from the shore impossible. We did hire some guy walking up and down the beach to take us across the bay for $50 to snorkel: What a fabulous trip. Just my daughter and me. We saw a swordfish and giant sea turtle on the ride out. Played with blow fish, star fish and saw a variety of fun stuff.
For the most part we relied on MARDIGI TOURS to get us around, having experienced costa Rica's muddy and unmarked roads in the past. Marvin and Digi were FABULOUS! From the minute they picked us up at the airport to the time they dropped us off. Very punctual, helpful, professional and speak good english. They can arrange anything you need, I promise. One of the things my daughter and I most wanted was a long and challenging horseback riding trip and we got it. Two hours of flying thru the woods and near the beach. If you hire MARDIGI TOURS tell them Kate and Emily sent you; just as another way to say thank-you to them.

The hotel was perfect for what we wanted: A clean, safe, pretty place well located to visit all that the area offered. The Staff was very friendly. There are computers in the lobby available for a small fee but internet access not always available. Small grocery on site and larger one a short walk down the road. Units very pleasant with active recycling program. They also provide paper towels, dish soap and plenty of beach towels. There is a take out laundry service with a fast turn-around time for a small fee .Daily maid service unless declined. Resort activities offered. We only did the Bar-tending course but this was fun: made and sampled 6 different drinks for free. We did rent the in-room safe but had no reason to think it was necessary. The rooms have keys...Bring an elastic wristband/keyholder with you, this would have been so convenient to have when at the beach etc.
So go and have fun! Walk around. Several nice little retaurants off the road from the beach as well as the hotel's. And call Mardigi tours. I know we will be back!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    134
    65
    14
    9
See reviews for
98
125
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tallahassee, fl
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We had a fabulous visit at Condovac la Costa from August 20-27. I will tell you about our stay at the resort as well as other aspects of the trip. Our tour guides were the best- Marvin and Digi. I found out about them on the RCI reviews for Condovac as well as trip advisor. They absolutely cannot be beat and gave us a very memorable stay! The resort will encourage you to use Gray Line but if you want a small, personalized tour that you will never regret, make sure you use Marvin. We emailed each other before our trip so he knew just what we wanted. Contact them at: mardigitranscr@yahoo.com. Not only did they take us to the grocery store after we arrived for free, they also gave us their own camera to use after I broke mine. Before I left, they burned me a DVD with all the pictures. In addition, they stopped in Liberia so I could buy some disposable cameras and other places we needed as well. BTW, many of the ideas I am writing about I discovered from reviews on Trip Advisor before we left. The resort was on a hill above Playa Hermosa beach and was centrally located for day trips. We loved the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and other visitors. We stayed in room 520 and had our own little nature show outside our room whenever we sat on our porch, which was often in the early mornings and evenings… howler monkeys, leaf cutter ants, at least a hundred green parakeets that roost in the sea almond trees , iguanas, magpie jays, really pretty black, white and auburn squirrels and many other birds that I could not identify. It was so fun! Again, others sat out and you chatted with them and all. The room had a bedroom area with 2 double beds and 2 narrow couches—said it slept 6 but it was great for just the 2 of us. Kitchen was fine for us since we mostly ate breakfast here. There was not an oven but you did have a toaster over. We were VERY glad that it was all inclusive to since we like to try different places in the area, are not big eaters., and had lunch included on our tours. Pool area was very nice, areas were kept up well and the trams came in handy. As information about the resort states, the hills are very steep so be prepared or use the trams or get in some hefty walks. We ate at Villa Sol, another RCI resort, one night and it was nice but I like the location and other stuff better at Condovac. Many people recommended Gingers for dinner and we walked down the road a short distance outside the resort for dinner one night and enjoyed the food and again the friendly guests and staff. (closed Monday) We also walked down the beach to the left for Aqua Sport for a couple of yummy lunches. Hotel Valero down the beach on the left is even closer than Aqua Sport and they have a regular menu for lunch and dinner plus a BBQ on the beach Wednesday and Saturday. There was a full menu at Condovac for all meals so we ate a meals here and they were okay. Bartenders made some great drinks! You will have a blast in Costa Rica! Let me know if you need any more information. Say hi to Marvin and Digi for us!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

Just got back, amazing views, nice rooms but beds not so great. Easy access to really nice, private beach, kids were body surfing constantly. Hotel food poor but difficult to leave the resort so stuck there for a few meals. Time share solicitors on beach worth it because sitting through a 90 min. presentaion gets you great free stuff like all-inclusive day wristband at adjoining resort, cash voucher for restaurant in town, 50% discount on excursions, etc. Private person tour guides way better than group tours sold by hotel. Must contact Marvin and Digi! Airport transpotation way cheaper and day trips personal and less money. Search internet for contact info before you go. Coco beach a bit more lively but beaches not so good.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

I hear that June-October is the "off" season in Costa Rica because of the rainy weather. We were there August 13th-20th and although it did rain just about everyday, it was only for about 20-30 minutes, then the sun came out. We stayed in the 400's section and only minor complaint was the comfort of the beds - small double beds, my husband's feet hung off the bed and so did mine occasionally and I am 5'5". The beds were slightly hard too. Other than that, the room and facilities/appliances were great. We enjoyed getting up in the morning and sitting outside to hear the howler monkeys and watch the tropical birds and squirrels scurry around before we started our day. Yes there are steep hills and climbs; but I agree with another review: "Costa Rica is all about hills, mountains, volcanoes and therefore climbing." There is a shuttle service that drives the entire property every 15 minutes if you don't want to do the walk/climb. The beach was nice and we enjoyed exploring the rocky side to the right to see what we could see. We ate a few times at the Condovac restaurant and we decided not to eat there often since we thought it was overpriced for not-so-great food. The staff at Condovac was super nice and helpful, no complaints there. The only slight problem was keeping face towels in the room - cleaning crew would pick up face towels and not replace them - we started hiding them because calling to front desk it took more than an hour to get replacements. Also, there is an "inventory" and these face towels have to be on this at end of your stay. Also in the inventory is whatever was in the frig: since we chose not to go to the orientation, we were not aware of this and while checking out, we then understood that there was a charge for missing items. But our fault for not going to orientation/time share sales pitch. Now the good stuff: we contacted Mardigi Tours since they were highly recommended. The reviews were right: they picked us up from airport, took us to a grocery store offsite resort site for a better price and then to hotel. We scheduled the Borinquen zipline, Jungle Riverboat and even atv tours with them. The zipline and jungle river boat tours are all day events with lunch included - both were absolutely wonderful. We were lucky enough to be able to feed the capuchin "white faced" monkeys during this tour. And the lunch was fabulous. Marvin and Digi definitely make you feel at home in Costa Rica and truly treated you like family, THANKS so much Marvin!! http://mardigitours.com
I totally agree that "PURA VIDA" is the right motto for this country.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Pura Vida! If you're heading to the Guanacaste region of Costa Rica and looking for some tours, try madigitours.com. Marvin and Digi were incredible! We went on two very different tours with them and had an incredible time. They were so attentive to our needs and made us feel right at home! We also used them for our transfer back to the airport, which was such a blessing! Digi made sure we got back safely. They'll pick you up from the airport and take you grocery shopping on your way back to the resort, if needed!

We stayed at Condovac la Costa and despite the fact that some of the facilities were a little worn, the proximity to the beach made up for it. My husband and I stayed in the 500's and we were only a few steps from the beach (down a slight hill). They offered kayaking rentals for $10/hour and I could've done that every morning!! There was also a grocery store about 400 M down the road which we frequented!

Also, be sure to go to Playas del Coco -- just for the atmosphere. It's about a $30 trip, roundtrip. Oh, and eat at Ginger. It is a modern treehouse across for the playa. It is a little pricy but I am still drooling over the pear, walnut salad and the desserts. You won't regret it.

We were there during the rainy season so we did have a few weather related issues -- the Pan Am highway washed out and the main road to a waterfall we wanted to see wasn't passable, but all in all the rainy season was great. Some evenings it felt like we had Costa Rica to ourselves... our own private Pacific sunset. It was lovely. Plus, when it did rain, it never lasted more than a few hours!

Go, enjoy, call Marvin and Digi and simply pura vida!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Let me begin by saying that the title of my review refers to my overall stay in Costa Rica and not just the accommodations. Many people don’t know this (or at least I didn’t) but June-October is the low season in Costa Rica because of the winter/rainy season. Don’t let this deter you from visiting because it does rain but only once in a while and the showers are fast and far between. Take a poncho, umbrella or light jacket and you are set for the trip.
First, I visited Hotel Condovac during second week of June 2010. The hotel is comfortable and charming. Many people complained about the steep hills and climbs; but Costa Rica is all about hills, mountains, volcanoes and therefore climbing. The hotel provides a shuttle service which stops all around the property, even the beach, so if you want to walk you can but we decided to ride the shuttle often. We stayed at a one bedroom villa (#524) which we exchanged through RCI. This hotel was not our first choice but we were happy with the results. Some people mentioned that they would have rather stayed at the Villas del Sol which is the adjacent resort/hotel to Condovac. Yes, it is nicer because of the views (it’s higher up the mountain) but I rather liked Condovac because of the closeness to the beach. I am including some pictures of the villa which was average with one bedroom including two full size beds (if you stay in the 500s all have two beds, king size beds are in the 400s), a bathroom, a living area with two sleeper couches, a table with six chairs and a kitchenette. The refrigerator is loft size so it’s just right for a one week vacation. There are several pools on the property, one of which is an infinity pool with a wonderful view of Playa Hermosa. We spent most our time at the beach which was wonderful. The sand is soft, the waves slow during the day, and the water warm so if felt even better than being at the pool. There were plenty of places to sit since we went during low season, few vendors, and only one small group of employees from Villas del Sol attempting book time share tours.
We did go to a presentation and were surprised at how we were never pushed to buy anything…WOW! You can get some free stuff for just going to a presentation and not buy anything. We never ate at the Condovac restaurant but we heard from a couple we befriended that it was overpriced and the food was not of great quality. There is a small grocery store on the property but I would recommend to stop at a store on the way to the hotel for more options/better prices. We went to el Luperon which is just down the street. The staff at Condovac was nice and helpful for the most part except for a pool side service waiter that was very rude. We complained but since we didn’t get his name so nothing happened.
Now let me talk about our tours and experiences outside of the hotel. We contacted Mardigi Tours since they were highly recommended by many at this site. We are so happy we did! Our experience with Marvin and Digi was one of the best while on vacation! Thank you Uncle Marvin and Aunt Digi for making us feel like family. They picked us up from the airport and took us grocery shopping before dropping us off at the hotel. The tours we did with them were in a small group catered to us. We visited Rincon de la Vieja one day and Palo Verde National Park another. Both tours included lunch and usually last the whole day. They also took us out to dinner and dancing to Cerro Brujo (it is around the corner from the hotel but not within walking distance) where I highly recommend the ceviche and seafood soup. They go out of their way to make you feel at home in Costa Rica. It goes without saying that PURA VIDA is the right motto for this country and especially for Mardigi Tours. http://mardigitours.com

Tips: You don't need to take colones since dollars are accepted everywhere, plan to pay for a safety box at Condovac ($3 a day), if you pay with credit card be sure you know what the international fee is when used abroad, Mardigi Tours mostly accepts cash, you have to pay a $28 fee per person at the airport that is not included in your ticket, Playa del Coco has the best souvenirs and ENJOY PURA VIDA!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2010

Pros:
-beautiful views of the ocean
-great pool area with a few pools and usually festive with music
-pretty nice rooms with a kitchnette and living area
-awesome beach on location
-nearby grocery store (walking distance)
-accessible from Grey line bus

Cons:
-tiny ants in the room
-need to use shuttle to get around (very steep)
-need to pay for internet and local phone calls

Would also recommend Marvin and Digi - great for tours!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condovac la Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.