We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many problems with our stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Save
You added Hotel Condovac la Costa to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Too many problems with our stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

After two days in our 'hacienda' I can report on the following:

Pros:
- Helpful friendly staff
- Nice swimming pool
- Little mini bus transportation that takes you from your hacienda to the lobby so that you do not have to walk the insane steep hills in the heat.

Const:
- There are computers in the lobby, but they have the Google home page displayed on it and the crew is busy creating mountains for paperwork. We had two couples in front of us and checking took 40 minutes.
- Microwave oven would quality for prime technology in communist Russia in the 1950's. Pain is pealing from it on the inside, it just looks gross.
- Ants in the kitchen so do not leave food out.
Shower head is busted and it squirts water in bizarre ways.
- Very steep hills to climb.
- Arid deserted view everywhere you see outside the resort. Possibly because we are in the dry season, but this isn't pretty.
- Expensive restaurant for what you get. Prices in the US are equivalent or less and you get higher quality food.
- There are basic kitchen utensils, pots and pans, but to wash dishes you need to buy your own soap and sponge as nothing is included.
- The mini supermarket is vert basic.

Room Tip: There are better places. Keep looking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
We want to apologize for all the inconveniences you may have encountered during your stay.
We're looking forward to improving our services thus we really appreciate your review.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    117
    55
    14
    9
See reviews for
84
105
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a 5 star hotel, you won't like this place, but if you cherish the beach, and comfortable surroundings you will.
Many Costa Rican families were visiting, and staff was busy, but so friendly, considering the language barrier.
Air conditioning in my unit worked great! Beds were comfortable and the shuttle van was around if you didn't want to walk up the hill to the pool complex.
We liked the restaurant on site, and enjoyed the sunset from there every night. Also, Mardigitours on site has an array of options! And don't forget they will pick you up at the airport if you email them!!

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We're happy to read that you enjoyed your vacation in our resort.
We really appreciate your comments.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hernando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

Spent 10 days at Condovac LaCosta. Melissa at desk keeps the reception desk is the best person to work with. She is efficient, customer caring, and the best English speaking person - really a terrific person. However the hotel is lacking in many areas. Upon checking into the room we found it to be filthy. The kitchen utensils still had food on them. All kitchen utensils should be replaced because they are old and abused. The floor was dirty. Room had to be cleaned so we could move into it. Maid service was fairly good as the floors were mopped and fresh towels provided daily.

The manager is fairly new and making efforts to fix the problem area.

Took days to get the air conditioner adjusted to a comfortable temperature (25 C). AC is over the beds and constantly blows on you at night. Shower heads failed on 3 different occasions and had to be repaired by maintenance. The tubs were Jacuzzi type but did not work, but who takes a Jacuzzi bath in Costa Rica.

Restaurant food was very good and not overpriced. You can expect service to take some time. Menu is limited, but when mixed with some of the restaurants along the beach, you can get a good variety of food. Recommend sticking to the fresh fish and chicken as beef is not as good as in USA, Don't know about the pork.

Room Tip: Select levels 4, 5, or 6 as these rooms have been refurbished. Levels 1, 2 & 3 are in the plans...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thanks for your review, it is very important for us and it will help us to improve our services.
We apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered during your stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Spent week of feb 16 . Great view, beach access, and helpful staff. Room had some high cobwebs but otherwise really clean. Daily maid service included. Rooms a little old but fits right into the environment. Pools ok but COLD same in jacuzzi . Restaurant great view . Service and food good but one night had terrible experience with waiter. Special dinner going on in pool area and waiter overwhelmed with restaurant . Mgr apologized but service not any better. Do not go for meal
Plan. Too many limitations and no drinks included . Lots of nice restaurants on the beach !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thanks for your review, it will help us to improve our services.
We sincerely apologize for any inconvinience you may have encountered during your stay.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This resort has great staff. Everyone was helpful and did their best to assist us. The rooms are okay, old and the furniture is dated but they are clean. The couches were not at all comfortable. There are no hair dryers or any dish soap. Bed was comfortable. 3 pools and a very nice beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
We really appreciate your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at our resort.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We were gifted an RCI timeshare for our honeymoon in early October. We weren't sure what to expect seeing the incredibly reasonable average nightly rate of this resort, but were very pleasantly surprised.
The staff was extremely courteous and helpful, despite our lack of Spanish skills. The resort is clean and well-maintained. The views from the infinity pool and beach are amazing.
We did not do the all-inclusive, and were happy with that decision. We ate a different restaurant on the beach every night (you can easily walk down from your room to a variety of beach restaurants for breakfast, lunch, dinner, and drinks). We did eat at the resort a few times and decided we preferred the other nearby restaurants for the variety. The drinks were very inexpensive at the pool bar.
The beach is a short walk from the rooms, and the walk back up is a fairly steep hill, but shuttles run frequently, starting early in the morning. Sometimes, the walk was a good idea though, after filling up at the beach restaurants. If you are not very mobile or do not wish to get a good deal of exercise, do not vacation in Costa Rica period. There is a lot to climb, explore, swim, etc. in this country. If the idea of walking up a hill is prohibitive, you will not otherwise enjoy visiting Costa Rica.
The beach was amazing. Trees provide natural shelter from the sun. There were also resort chairs chained up in the shade where the tide couldn't carry them away. The resort provided ample beach towels if you wanted to lay out in the sun or under the other trees. Vendors selling tours and foods on the beach could be a little aggressive, but were easy to wave away.
A grocery store is located a short walk from the resort entrance, so it is easy to pick up necessities to avoid eating out every meal of the day and buying all of your drinks. We rented a car though, so even easier. The driving in this region was very easy and the roads very uncrowded.
Great value for a great vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, January 26, 2014
We're glad to read that you had a great time in our resort.
We really appreciate your review.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garland, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed here during Christmas/ New Years week and we got a pretty good deal for the dates. The value is great. The staff were good not great. I asked for an ethernet cord and the night staff told me they were available in Coco. In the morning we went to the office and asked another staff to call us a taxi because we were going to Coco to buy a ethernet cord and he pulled one out of the drawer! So customer service depends on who you talk to. Wifi is available everywhere but not the most reliable. Connection comes in and out and is a little slow. The villa itself was beautiful and updated. ie. granite countertops stainless steel appliances etc. It was very nice and clean. The ac unit upstairs did not work too well during the day it did get warm but we didn't complain since we didn't spend much time there. The beach by the hotel is nice enough and has quite a few activities. There's also a small store where you can get a few groceries which was really convenient. Overall a very satisfying stay. Would return.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Condovac L, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel Condovac la Costa, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Thank you very much for your review.
We're glad to read that you enjoyed your stay and we really apologize for any inconvenience you may have faced.
We hope you visit us soon.
Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condovac la Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.