We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Fun Vacation thanks to Mardigi Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Save
You added Hotel Condovac la Costa to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Williamsburg, Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Family Fun Vacation thanks to Mardigi Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This was our first time in Costa Rica and we can't wait to return! Hotel Condovac La Costa had everything we needed ~ we stayed in the 500 units that were just a hop, skip and a jump from the beach~ the spa was nice and relaxing and there were three pools for the kids to swim in. The staff was helpful and the units were well air conditioned and very comfy.
The best part of our trip was the life long memories we made with Marvin, Digi and Carlitos~ Mardigi Tours. Marvin picked us up from the airport, and guided our tours for the entire week. We spent the week zip-lining, horseback riding and four wheeling through the jungle, relaxing in volcanic mud and sight seeing in Nicaragua. Our Mardigi friends were with us each day and made sure we had the time of our lives! Marvin, Digi, Carlitos and the rest of the gang made us feel like family and by the end of the trip the kids were calling Marvin “Uncle Marve” :) And... to our new friends...We can’t wait to return to Costa Rica(2013) and do it all again! Thanks again, Your Amigos ~ Steve, Karen, Luke and Katie

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    117
    54
    14
    9
See reviews for
83
105
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We (grandmother, a couple, two young children and friend) stayed at the Hotel Condovac in early August. It is a beatiful resort and we were lucky to be in the 400 level because there was a view of the ocean from our front porch. We were told that RCI guests usually stay in the 500s but we were happy with the view and grateful to the woman at reception who arranged it instead of making us wait several hours until check-in time which we were initially asked to do (after an all night flight with the two kids exhausted and wanting to get to the pool). The beach is beautiful and not crowded and perfect for young kids playing in the surf to adults who wanted to snorkle. The kids loved the children's activities--sand castle building on the beach, making bracelets, spa day with hair and nails done. All the staff were great with the children teaching them simple Spanish and greeting them warmly whenever they saw us or picked us up in the shuttle. We also loved Mardigi Tours as has everyone else who has used them. We took the river tour and the children loved seeing the howler monkeys, white face monkeys, crocodile, iguanas, and many birds up close. Marvin was a great enthusiastic guide. We were picked up at the airport and Digi took us back at 4:30 in the morning, still smiling and warm and friendly even at that early hour. The adults used Maarvin to arrange a fishing trip with Alan who kept them out after their time was up to make sure they caught a large rooster fish which we all enjoyed that night at their family restaurant at the other end of the beach. Mangabys had the most delicious food--who would imagine at such a small hotel/restaurant and we also enjoyed Gingers. We bought food at the local store and prepared breakfast, lunch and a couple of dinners in our room.
One thing you should know is that the resort does a thorough inventory upon check-out so be sure to leave enough time in the morning for that.
We are already talking about our next trip, spending more than a week, possibly renting a car to see more of the country (but continuing to use Marvin and Digi who helped us to have such a wonderful vacation).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

Codovac was a lovely place to stay. Alot of Costa Ricans stay at this resort, so I think it keeps the food and drink prices reasonable. Beer and mixed drinks are around $2. Staff was extremely friendly. Beach was beautiful, but watch out for the tide, and don't go down early in the day, as many vendors may come up to sell day trips. The mixed seafood rice was delish. Lots of iguanas throughout the resort, adds to the experience. Keep an eye out where you step, as there still is enough wildlife around to keep you on your toes. Our best experiences were with Marvin of Margigi tours http://www.mardigitours.com/. Really makes your day trips special and adds that personal touch. Day trip to Rincon de la Vieja a must (esp if you like zip lining), as well as the river boat ride (as long as you don't mind being in the middle of no where in a boat with crocodiles surrounding you.) Really amazing experiences. Mardigi tours can pick you up from the airport too, and they make a stop at the market which is nice since the villas have kitchens. Maids were friendly and rooms very clean and ours was very quiet. No bugs in the rooms at all. Shuttle runs by every couple of minutes to run from the beach to the pool. Take lots of deet bug spray, esp for the evenings. Coco Loco drink is yummy. Don't expect much from coco beach, hermosa beach (where this resort is) is much more beautiful. PapaGuayos at coco beach had a great red snapper with ginger sauce. Gingers is a tapas only place, so expect to have to order a few plates. Loved the mango/pineapple cobbler. Spa deals were cheap (massage $35 for 60 min) or you can find someone on the beach but might need to shop around for pricing. Zip lining at the resort was fun ($25 special). End of Aug was nice since still hot, but not miserable, and everything was lush and green. Saw an amazing thunder storm our last night. Best place to learn how to surf is in Tamarindo, which is about an hour away. Will save that for next visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

My Husband & I were given a 1 week stay at the Condovac in May 2011 for our Costa Rica Honeymoon. We contemplated spending the money for the larger more plush hotels/resorts; but from the positive reviews here in Trip Advisor; we decided to stay here. Based on the other reviews here; we did not opt for the all inclusive plan. I researched Playa Hermosa a lot before we left so knew what our options would be to eat outside the resort. We did have breakfast at the restaurant once and dinner once; as well as a late night snack once at the bar; and once that we took back to our room. Like others have said we didn’t find the food to be all that great and were very glad that we hadn’t purchased the all inclusive. We met two girls staying at the resort for 2 weeks that had the all inclusive; and ended up cancelling it ½ way through because they were eating most of their meals off the property! And for anyone that is contemplating purchasing the all inclusive because of the alcohol. We didn’t feel like we missed out. I remember paying about 2,000 colones for a mai tai; which equaled only about $4US. We also stopped at the supermarket down the road on the way to the resort and bought bottles of Rum; Wine; Mixers & snacks so we made a lot of our drinks in our room and just drank them on the patio or in cups by the pool. Never felt like we were missing out. Plus since the room came with a blender we were able to make mixed drinks. Even had Mango Daiquiris one night!

Overall Condovac was a great stay; nicely situated room (not so comfortable beds) nice large bathroom-shower big enough for two. Beautiful property; and can’t beat the howler monkeys right on the property! We’d walk to the pool and stop to see the monkey’s in the trees!! Even caught myself when back home in NY looking up at a tree while driving on the highway and for a moment started to look for monkeys!

The beach was beautiful soft sand; little rough waves! We stayed in the 500’s (I believe) which was a short walk down to the beach but a long walk up that steep hill to the pool/restaurant so mid way through our week we stopped walking it and just waited for the shuttle to come around! . The room is stocked with everything you’d need to cook & eat if you choose to. We bought cereal & milk & would have a basic breakfast in the room; but ate out for our other meals. The staff was very nice! Limited English; but so eager to talk and have conversations with the guests. Bartenders were very nice too! Great restaurant right on the beach just a few feet down. Hotel Hermosa I believe was the name-great passion fruit margaritas; good lunch. Ate lunch twice and dinner once at Aqua Sport. Really delicious Gallo Pinto (rice & beans) and hamburgers. Meat tasted so good. Must try the pineapples when on the island-never had such fresh delicious pineapples! We also really enjoyed the food at Gingers-went there for dinner our 2nd night; as well as the Friday before we left. Friday’s are Martini night and we had $3 martinis. We had about 7 between the two of us! Great night! The food is very delicious! My husband even ordered some wontons to go and ate it on the walk back to the hotel (you can definitely walk there; just be mindful of your surroundings. We also did a timeshare presentation by one of the reps down at the beach which included free lunch in Playa Coco; we also got a coupon for $45 off dinner in Playa de Coco so we took the opportunity to go down and have dinner (covered by the coupon) and buy souvenirs. Only problem getting to coco was a cab. Was told we got walk off the property and find a cab cheaper than at the resort. Only one cab stopped and the driver had a husky in the back (I’m afraid of dogs). We let that one go; but no one else passed us. Walked to the store; but no cabs were there. Eventually walked back to the resort and they got a cab for us. So if you’re going to coco better off just getting a cab from the resort to begin with!

As far as tours & activities-the first night (Saturday) we took the sunset cruise being offered right down the beach near the gates for the property (on condovac property). Didn’t see any dolphins or anything; but watched an amazing sunset; drank; danced just had a great time. My Husband even got to steer the boat for a little while. Saw Monkey Face rock up close-great time!

The other tours we took were through Mardigi Tours-based on the reviews from Trip Advisor I made sure to contact Marvin right away to set up our airport transfers; and arrange tours for the week. They were easy to reach via e-mail from the U.S. When we arrived into Liberia; Marvin was there in his green t-shirt holding up a sign with our names. They even let us stop at the supermarket to stock up on the liquor and snacks I mentioned above before we checked into the resort! We didn’t have a wine bottle opener; so Marvin let us borrow his the first night! We later found one in the room as part of the unit supplies. We arranged the canopy tours through them at Borinquen at Ricon de la vieja. Actually arranged to have 4 girls we met on the sunset boat ride join us for the canopy tour. So in total 6 of us loaded into the bus (driven by Digi) and did the short drive to the volcano. Marvin & Digi were fabulous on this tour! We horseback rode up the mountain to the first platform; did about 6-7 zip lines down to the bottom. Guides were great-lots of fun; let the girls go tandem with them upside down; with no hands (like superman) you name it. Felt totally safe the whole time; Marvin would go down the line first with all our cameras; and then would take pictures of each person as we came into the platform. After that excitement; we had lunch at the hotel restaurant-amazing food! Then went to the mud baths totally relaxing!! Marvin took us on a nature hike through the property while our mud dried to find a Tuscan-no luck; but did see other amazing birds; insects. Marvin & Digi are amazing tour guides! The tour/experience starts as soon as they pick you up from your hotel. There is no “time constraint” they’ll stop and pull over if they spot a bird; reptile any creature they want to point out. After our canopy tour while driving back Marvin finally spotted a Tuscan and Digi pulled over. All 6 of us were in the road watching the Tuscan in the tree! Saw a snake on the road; and Digi stopped the car for everyone to see (I didn’t look). Even stopped after the canopy tour to get mango’s; and stopped at the supermarket to restock our fridge in the room!! Second tour we did with Marvin & Digi was the Palo Verde river boat tour. Again they picked us up; with 2 other couples and did the drive to the river; let us stop along the way to buy cold beer which the men shared. Once we arrived at the river we loaded into our boat with 1 other couple from another tour and their guide. Marvin was hands down much more knowledgeable of the river; it’s inhabitants; the nature around us then the other tour guide. Often pointing things out to the OTHER couple that their guide was not saying! We saw several crocodiles up close! Bats; iguanas; and monkeys! The monkeys were amazing; came right to our boat! A delicious lunch is included with this tour too! So much food; absolutely worth the money for what you get!! On the canopy tour when they said lunch was included; we pictured bagged lunch out of a cooler. Instead we had an amazing lunch at a beautiful restaurant at the resort on the property of the volcano! River boat tour included a sit down lunch too! Much more than we had expected!

We had contemplated going to the waterfall with Marvin; but instead decided to spend our last few days relaxing. The resort has a pool with amazing views. Spent a lot of time lounging by the pool reading & sleeping the last few days! But we can’t say enough about Marvin & Digi. They really made our honeymoon wonderful!! We would have had a relaxing honeymoon if we just stayed at the resort; but why go to Costa Rica to just lay on the beach all day! Marvin & Digi gave us memorable experiences while on all the tours! It’s because of them and the experience they gave us that we look forward to returning back to Costa Rica again soon!! For anyone traveling to Costa Rica soon and using Mardigi Tours-please tell them Leroy & Kimberly say HOLA!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just got back from Condovac and really loved the week. The resort is really nice, and well maintained. The staff was all really nice to us too. We went with another family and had a total of 4 kids in our group. One of the things we really liked about Condovac was the activities....pool vollyball, beach soccer, guided eco hikes, shows, kids activities (and lots more we didn't even get to do). Their kids activities coordinator was awesome, and really tried to get all kids involved and having fun. The resort is situated in a beautiful spot and, although its on a hill, there's always a shuttle running. The beach is secluded and clean and there were great snorkeling spots. Nearby restaurants that we really liked: Ginger and Mangaby...both were great. Ginger was a tapas place, and Mangaby is a small outdoor poolside restaurant in a hotel couple blocks from Condovac. Awesome food and good prices. Our room was nice (400 level), and there was maid service every day...we also got clean bath and beach towels every day. We did not do the all-inclusive option as it only included 3 meals (no snacks) and was pricey for the food they were offering.
Now for what we really loved...the tours and Marvin (Mardigi Tours). He really does go above and beyond to make sure you have a great trip. Between taking our camera and shooting pics of everyone during the activities to mixing up some Costa Rican Jungle Juice on one of the tours, to making sure that during the tours and the drive we saw every possble native animal, he was great. Our two favorite trips were Rincon de la Vieja (volcano) and Palo Verde. At Rincon de la Vieja we started with horseback riding up the side of the volcano to the first zip line...did a bunch of zip lines...then went to lunch (which we were expecting to be sandwiches, but turned out to be a fine dining awesome lunch). Then we were off to the steam bath (which is situated directly above a volcanic hot spring), then to the mud bath, and fnally to the hot springs and some swimming. Sooo much fun packed into one day. Marvin rode horses and the zip lines with us and had our camera most of the time snapping pics of our whole group and giving us alot of information about the area. Palo Verde was the river tour where white faced monkeys crawled all over our boat...and us. Many crocodiles also...some that were very close to the boat. Soooo cool being that close to such beautiful animals. The guys in our group also did a charter fishing trip that Marvin set up, and the captain of the boat (Alan) cooked up the Mackeral they caught and we went to their small Playa Hermosa (two table) restaurant for dinner. Incredibly nice family...highly recommend him for a charter fishing trip. Another great day was the trip Marvin's driver, Alex took us on to Playa Conchal and Tamarindo. Playa Conchal was a crushed shell beach with clear water and great snorkeling and Tamarindo was good boogie boarding and cool shopping. That trip was a little pricey for what is was, but it was still a great day and Alex was a great guide. Basically, Marvin always made someone available for us throughout the week no matter what we wanted to do or when we wanted to go.

Other fun things we did at the resort: Beach massages which were great...like I mean great! For $39 I got a 90 minute deep tissue massage and they gave each of my two children free 10 minute massages each. We also did the banana boat (for the kids) and they really loved it...$7 pp for a 20 minute ride. We also liked the guided Eco Hike on the resorts trails. The pools were great and not at all overly crowded. We loved the infinity edge pool and the beautiful view. Huge jacuzzi pool also. All very clean.

Things we'd have done differently in hindsight: We'd have brought more American dollars. Not all ATM machines took our card and not every place took credit cards. There's a safe in the room which we rented for $3/day. We'd have brought more warm weather clothes and left all the jeans and sweats at home. Never got cold enough for jeans and there were no laundry facilities that customers can use...you have to give them your laundry and they do it for $1/piece. We did alot of handwashing but things did not dry quickly. I'd have packed my daughters shells that she collected in the suitcase insead of in our carryon. We asked at the beach if she can take shells and were told it's fine, but according to CR law they can't take more than 3 shells wth us when we leave. It would have been better to hit the larger grocery store close to the Liberia airport rather than the small one near Condovac...would have saved money and had a bigger selection.

Room Tip: 400 level was good proximity to the beach without sacrificing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farmville,
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The resort is nice. Everything was clean and the staff friendly. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful.
What made this vacation so special was Marvin & Digi of Mardigi Tours. THEY ARE WONDERFUL! We felt comfortable with them right away; (they picked us up at the airport). We took 4 different day trips with them. Each trip was amazing. Marvin & Digi love their country and know the area very well. Their enthusiasm is contagious. We found them to be very honest, kind and considerate. We made a few last minute changes to our day trips and they were very accomodating. If we ever have the opportunity to return to this part of Costa Rica, we will call them. My son asked Marvin to call us if he is ever in our area so that we can see them again and show them "our world". They are two of the nicest people you will ever meet.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom unit in the 600 building. The upstairs bed and bath area was nice. The
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This RCI property lived up to all of my expectations. The view from the balacony of our villa was breathtaking. The staff was curious and very helpful. We had daily maid service. The grounds are beautiful. The resturant is expensive but the food is ok. The shows at night need a bit of help.

The greatest joy of our trip was having the services of Mardigi Tours. Marvin and DeeGee met us at Liberia airport with a sign with my name on it so there was no searching to see if there was someone there to meet us. The transportation they provided for the six of us was an airconditioned van (very modern). On the way to Condovac La Costa they stopped and pointed out birds and other points of interest. They took us to the local grocery store to purchase groceries before going to the Villa.They were very warm and friendly. We took the Palo Verde National Park tour which was awesome. We got to see the Howler monkeys, took pictures, the boat ride on the Tempisque River was also awesome. The white face monkeys came aboard the boat and the crocodiles came close enough for awesome pictures. We also took the beach safari ( visited four beaches and Dee Gee took us to Coco beach shopping. We did a half day fishing tour. Marvin accompanied us to act as the interpreter ( he didn't have to do this). We then did a trip to the waterfalls, hotsprings and as a last minute thing I asked DeeGee if we could work in a zip line for my granddaughter. She very willingly obliged us. She went with my grandchildren (2) and me on the zip line (12 platforms), took us souvenir shopping afterwards and inquired if we needed to stop at the grocery store. The next day we had to leave and Marvin and his driver showed up on time to take us to the airport. I cannot recommend these two indiviudals highly enough. If you want friendly, informative tour guides, Marvin and DeeGee are the ones to call. If we return to Costa Rica, they will be at the top of our list to plan our visit with them. They are outstanding in every way. They go the nineth mile to accommmodate your wishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condovac la Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.