We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place...would recommend it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Condovac la Costa

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Hermosa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condovac la Costa
Save
You added Hotel Condovac la Costa to your Saves list
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
somd
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place...would recommend it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Just got back from Condovac and really loved the week. The resort is really nice, and well maintained. The staff was all really nice to us too. We went with another family and had a total of 4 kids in our group. One of the things we really liked about Condovac was the activities....pool vollyball, beach soccer, guided eco hikes, shows, kids activities (and lots more we didn't even get to do). Their kids activities coordinator was awesome, and really tried to get all kids involved and having fun. The resort is situated in a beautiful spot and, although its on a hill, there's always a shuttle running. The beach is secluded and clean and there were great snorkeling spots. Nearby restaurants that we really liked: Ginger and Mangaby...both were great. Ginger was a tapas place, and Mangaby is a small outdoor poolside restaurant in a hotel couple blocks from Condovac. Awesome food and good prices. Our room was nice (400 level), and there was maid service every day...we also got clean bath and beach towels every day. We did not do the all-inclusive option as it only included 3 meals (no snacks) and was pricey for the food they were offering.
Now for what we really loved...the tours and Marvin (Mardigi Tours). He really does go above and beyond to make sure you have a great trip. Between taking our camera and shooting pics of everyone during the activities to mixing up some Costa Rican Jungle Juice on one of the tours, to making sure that during the tours and the drive we saw every possble native animal, he was great. Our two favorite trips were Rincon de la Vieja (volcano) and Palo Verde. At Rincon de la Vieja we started with horseback riding up the side of the volcano to the first zip line...did a bunch of zip lines...then went to lunch (which we were expecting to be sandwiches, but turned out to be a fine dining awesome lunch). Then we were off to the steam bath (which is situated directly above a volcanic hot spring), then to the mud bath, and fnally to the hot springs and some swimming. Sooo much fun packed into one day. Marvin rode horses and the zip lines with us and had our camera most of the time snapping pics of our whole group and giving us alot of information about the area. Palo Verde was the river tour where white faced monkeys crawled all over our boat...and us. Many crocodiles also...some that were very close to the boat. Soooo cool being that close to such beautiful animals. The guys in our group also did a charter fishing trip that Marvin set up, and the captain of the boat (Alan) cooked up the Mackeral they caught and we went to their small Playa Hermosa (two table) restaurant for dinner. Incredibly nice family...highly recommend him for a charter fishing trip. Another great day was the trip Marvin's driver, Alex took us on to Playa Conchal and Tamarindo. Playa Conchal was a crushed shell beach with clear water and great snorkeling and Tamarindo was good boogie boarding and cool shopping. That trip was a little pricey for what is was, but it was still a great day and Alex was a great guide. Basically, Marvin always made someone available for us throughout the week no matter what we wanted to do or when we wanted to go.

Other fun things we did at the resort: Beach massages which were great...like I mean great! For $39 I got a 90 minute deep tissue massage and they gave each of my two children free 10 minute massages each. We also did the banana boat (for the kids) and they really loved it...$7 pp for a 20 minute ride. We also liked the guided Eco Hike on the resorts trails. The pools were great and not at all overly crowded. We loved the infinity edge pool and the beautiful view. Huge jacuzzi pool also. All very clean.

Things we'd have done differently in hindsight: We'd have brought more American dollars. Not all ATM machines took our card and not every place took credit cards. There's a safe in the room which we rented for $3/day. We'd have brought more warm weather clothes and left all the jeans and sweats at home. Never got cold enough for jeans and there were no laundry facilities that customers can use...you have to give them your laundry and they do it for $1/piece. We did alot of handwashing but things did not dry quickly. I'd have packed my daughters shells that she collected in the suitcase insead of in our carryon. We asked at the beach if she can take shells and were told it's fine, but according to CR law they can't take more than 3 shells wth us when we leave. It would have been better to hit the larger grocery store close to the Liberia airport rather than the small one near Condovac...would have saved money and had a bigger selection.

Room Tip: 400 level was good proximity to the beach without sacrificing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    129
    62
    14
    9
See reviews for
93
118
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
farmville,
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

The resort is nice. Everything was clean and the staff friendly. The staff at the hotel went out of their way to be helpful.
What made this vacation so special was Marvin & Digi of Mardigi Tours. THEY ARE WONDERFUL! We felt comfortable with them right away; (they picked us up at the airport). We took 4 different day trips with them. Each trip was amazing. Marvin & Digi love their country and know the area very well. Their enthusiasm is contagious. We found them to be very honest, kind and considerate. We made a few last minute changes to our day trips and they were very accomodating. If we ever have the opportunity to return to this part of Costa Rica, we will call them. My son asked Marvin to call us if he is ever in our area so that we can see them again and show them "our world". They are two of the nicest people you will ever meet.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom unit in the 600 building. The upstairs bed and bath area was nice. The
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

This RCI property lived up to all of my expectations. The view from the balacony of our villa was breathtaking. The staff was curious and very helpful. We had daily maid service. The grounds are beautiful. The resturant is expensive but the food is ok. The shows at night need a bit of help.

The greatest joy of our trip was having the services of Mardigi Tours. Marvin and DeeGee met us at Liberia airport with a sign with my name on it so there was no searching to see if there was someone there to meet us. The transportation they provided for the six of us was an airconditioned van (very modern). On the way to Condovac La Costa they stopped and pointed out birds and other points of interest. They took us to the local grocery store to purchase groceries before going to the Villa.They were very warm and friendly. We took the Palo Verde National Park tour which was awesome. We got to see the Howler monkeys, took pictures, the boat ride on the Tempisque River was also awesome. The white face monkeys came aboard the boat and the crocodiles came close enough for awesome pictures. We also took the beach safari ( visited four beaches and Dee Gee took us to Coco beach shopping. We did a half day fishing tour. Marvin accompanied us to act as the interpreter ( he didn't have to do this). We then did a trip to the waterfalls, hotsprings and as a last minute thing I asked DeeGee if we could work in a zip line for my granddaughter. She very willingly obliged us. She went with my grandchildren (2) and me on the zip line (12 platforms), took us souvenir shopping afterwards and inquired if we needed to stop at the grocery store. The next day we had to leave and Marvin and his driver showed up on time to take us to the airport. I cannot recommend these two indiviudals highly enough. If you want friendly, informative tour guides, Marvin and DeeGee are the ones to call. If we return to Costa Rica, they will be at the top of our list to plan our visit with them. They are outstanding in every way. They go the nineth mile to accommmodate your wishes.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

My in laws are RCI members and gave my husband and I a week at Condovac La Costa for our honeymoon. It was wonderful! The condo was 50 yards from the beach, but very very quiet. There are lots of shuttles to run guests between the pools, grocery, gate, beach, and condos. The condos are very clean, well kept, everything is in working order. The front desk is extremely helpful and most workers speak english. The resort has wireless internet, and interent in the rooms, but it is a little hit and miss (internet provider's fault).
The playa hermosa beach is clean and beautiful. The ocean is very warm. I recommend going to the beach in the morning as there are fewer people and the local "marketing" and "tour service" hawkers are not there. We saw sting rays, sea turtles, and other wild life in the morning also. The security at the hotel is very very tight (our tour guide was denied access). Its a good thing, because the locals offering tours and services are really pushy at the beach gate. Just an FYI for RCI people: this resort is in the same gated area as Villa del Sol.
The reviews regarding the food are correct. Its not very good except for breakfast, and the all inclusive is over priced. All inclusive was $40 US per person for food only, and $75 US per person for food and drink. At Villa Del Sol, it was $40 US per person and that included drinks and the food was much better. Instead, we ate at Ginger's up the road about 1/4 mile (tapas to die for!) or at Hotel Playa Hermosa on the beach (excellent service and food). We also went to the grocery store (Lucerno) about 1/2 mile up the road and bought fresh fish, fruit, veggies, and cooked in our condo kitchenette. The grocery store also sells liquor and beer for prices that are comparable to the cost in the US. The "Mini Market" at the resort has alot of what you would need to snack on, but it is not really meant for full meals. I recommend taking the $30 round trip taxi ride to Coco Beach where there are two grocery stores. It is a good place for a couple hours of souvenier hunting. Be sure to haggle, the merchants will act offended but really they do business this way.
For off site tours we went with Costa Rican Tours and Services operated by Alex and Meg Fernandez www.costaricantoursandservices.com. They were great. Alex drove us in his vehicle to Borenquen and provided lots of answers to our questions. Alex also set up some fishing for us for a 1/2 day. The service is personal, you are not put on a tour bus with other groups. Highly recommended. My parents used their services also and were very pleased as well.

We hope to go back to the country one day. It is such a comfortable place for US citizens to visit

Room Tip: Ask for the 500 building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed at Condovac for our first trip to Costa Rica. The resort is celebrating 30 years in business and although the longevity suggests that people love the place, it also needs a few tweaks.
The good. The rooms are comfortable, air conditioned, and have kitchens. There are lots of wild animals to be seen on the hotel grounds. There is a surprising amount of variety in the pool area with several children's pools, and jacuzzis. Even though the resort is on a seriously steep hill and could probably be walked by most people, a small bus comes around every few minutes making a lap of the facility. The views of Playa Hermosa are fantastic. Security generally appears to be very thorough.
The bad. There are lots of small but obvious cosmetic touch ups that need to be done around the pool and beach areas. The restaurant is overpriced for mediocre food (the only food that was "bad" were the pizza and burger that our child would not eat. After trying them, I did not blame him.) I had three beach towels which were stolen from my family while we were at the pool and we ended up having to pay for them. The people selling the hotel's tours and even the people handing out flyers advertising time shares outside of the hotel property are a tad aggressive (They would flag down your car or stand in the street.)
Also of note, if you don't speak Spanish, it can be difficult to know small but important details like that your room is inventoried at the end of your stay (so you might want to count dishes and towels on arrival and every day that housekeeping comes), and that there is a schedule of social programs (which we did not learn until the next to last day.

Instead of the excursions pushed by the hotel, we went with a locally owned "Eco Explorer" company and have nothing but wonderful things to say about Carlos.

Also, a quick walk down the road to Ginger offers Tapas style Asian food, and a short drive down the road to "Jay's Hole in the Wall" gives you fantastic food for a reasonable price with a chance to meet "Jay".

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Stayed here the second half of our stay in CR. Coming from the Hotel Bosque Del Mar, we did have to re-adjust luxury over comfort.

Condovac is definitely in need or some renovation, had we known that Villas Sol just right above Condovac was also owned by RCI...we might have just stayed there.

Likes:
- Room was prepped for our Honeymoon arrival
- 2 A/C units!
- Kitchenette (made breakfast every morning)
- Stayed in the 600 building with only a few steps to the beach
- Using Mardigi tours as recommended by many people on tripadvisor. Marvin definitely made our trip special.

Dislikes:
- Food. If you have a car, I recommend eating at Coco Beach. And definitely try Ginger which is walking distance from the Condovac
- One of the maids straight up stole my mixed nuts when they were doing the walk-through! (I definitely was wishing I had those nuts to snack on during the wait at the airport)
- The hawkers are a bit more aggressive on this side of Playa Hermosa

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our stay in Costa Rica was perfect. The hotel and beach were beautiful and the service was great. We also highly recommend using Mardigi Tours. They made all of our excursions exceptional: MonteVerde, Nicaragua, Fishing and Snorkeling. This was one of our best vacations to date and we plan to go back for more!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Condovac la Costa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condovac la Costa

Address: Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Also Known As:
Condovac La Costa Hotel
Condovac Costa
Condovac La Costa Playa Hermosa
Hotel Condovac La Costa Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Condovac la Costa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.