We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Acacia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Acacia to your Saves list
Villa Acacia
Playa Hermosa Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Coal Valley, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

We upgraded to a Villa. Superb. We enjoyed a wonderful breakfast each morning. The staff is the most hard working employees we have ever met. The young women serve the breakfast and then start cleaning rooms. The grounds keepers work from early morning until late in the afternoon. Look at the pictures. They are true to your experience. Just beautiful. The diner served fabulous pizza (thin crust). The manager was always kind never pressuring people using the internet to purchase food or drink. The pool is maintained all day. The beach is literally two blocks away. We tipped our staff just two dollars a day and we were treated like royalty. We will DEFINITELY return!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    6
    2
    3
See reviews for
12
30
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Extremely pleasant stay at Villa Acacia. The grounds are well kept and the rooms are very nice and the staff is very friendly. The pool was probably my favorite that I encountered on my entire trip and there was good parking. The only negative comment would be about the restaurant. It is a nice area but is really in need of organization. I have high hopes for Villa Acacia, if they can get the restaurant in order it will be a truly excellent resort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

A fine place to stay, could be better. We were given a place in the far corner away from everyone. They said all the other villas were taken, but people were never there. Place could be great...witht a little work. fine for price.

Pros: the price, the gardens, the front desk girl, the friendly gardeners, private space, kitchen for long term guests

Cons: Villas 7 and 8, the owners outdoor gym equipment, the bathroom (smell), the safes.

Room Tip: Not villas 7 or 8 - DEF not 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights in one of the "villas". Although the grounds are lovely and well maintained (2 gardeners seemingly full time!) the villas themselves are dated. The structures are beautifully made but the furnishings were nothing special. Surprisingly actually, because with some small investments, these could be really top of the line and they could charge a premium. The bathroom is another story - it stinks. Literally. It smells like a port-a-pottie. With the door closed and some imagination, it was not a deal breaker but it is not at minimum US bathroom standards.

Also not great: The safe was well, unsafe. It was a cheap-o unit that could be easily removed from the room and was locked only with a tiny luggage lock! Be prepared to carry your valuables with you or get creative with hiding things. The area may look a little sketchy to the average U.S. bear but it was actually quite safe.

That said, the location and staff were great. The woman (young lady?) at the front desk was especially helpful and we loved being a block from the beach. Having the little villa and seating area with rocking chairs outside was wonderful.

A nice home away from home at Playa Hermosa but if you've got the bones, stay down the beach at Bosque Del Mar - but this is pretty great for 1/2 the price if you can stomach the bathroom and have a plan for stashing your valuables.

Owners: fix it up and you've got a first class hotel on your hands!

Room Tip: Spring for the villas - it's worth the extra money. Watch out for villas 7&8 which overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

First, the positive...nice grounds, proximity to beach and restaurants, and nice pool. Pretty tranquil, in total. However, the management created unnecessary stress for me, my family and staff - around breakfast and pre-payments, etc. Management treatment of staff in front of us almost ruined our entire experience. I would not returned, even if I got a 50% discount. Life, let alone vacations, is too short. En resumen, una estrella

Room Tip: stay away, be warned of rude management toward staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We stayed at this resort for over a month, yes a month, we stayed in a villa, number 3 I think, upon our arrival and being checked in by the highly qualified staff, we were lead to our villa where two maids met us and opened the villa, raising blinds, opening windows to let in the wonderful sea air, and spraying a lovely lavender scent in the air. Our villa consisted of a king bed with large bathroom, kitchenette and lovely sitting area for breakfast, tv, air conditioning, coffee maker, toaster, and everything we would require for our stay. Outside our villa we had two lovely leather rockers for our sitting pleasure which we very comfortable. The villas are impeccable as well as the grounds, the pool is just the right size for dipping off and then suntanning on the lovely deck they have provided, it is very tranquil and you wouldn't realize that you were about a block from the ocean and a busy street up above. Such a lovely spot to take a stroll after dinner or walking in the morning. We felt very safe.

The owner is an amazing person who we got to know after our lengthy stay as well as the rest
of the family, they did everything they could to make our stay the best ever, which they excelled
at with no problem. The food in the restaurant is excellent and we enjoyed meals there on different occasions.

My overall review of Villa Acacia is go and enjoy, I read reviews about other hotels in the area
and advise to steer clear, this should be your place to put your bags and enjoy Costa Rica.

Room Tip: We found the villas lovely as we like to buy locally and cook our own meals and they come equipped w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed there in a Villa and it was fabulous; the friendly staff went to extraordinary lengths to help us spend a pleasurable time.
The exotic garden is beautyful and very well kept and so is the pool.
Breakfast is done to order; wonderful.
Next to the Hotel there is a nice little place with good food.

Great place!

Room Tip: The villas are great, the little houses
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Hermosa
0.0 mi away
Villa del Sueno
Villa del Sueno
#4 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel ManGaby
Hotel ManGaby
#1 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.5 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel El Velero
Hotel El Velero
#6 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Playa Hermosa Bosque del Mar Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Villas Huetares
Hotel & Villas Huetares
#3 of 12 in Playa Hermosa
4.0 of 5 stars 60 reviews
4.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acacia

Address: Playa Hermosa Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an extensive garden with endemic fauna, sun terrace, swimming pool and free Wi-Fi throughout, Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel is located 70 metres from the beach. Guests at Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel will enjoy breakfast that they can choose between an American breakfast and Costa-Rican food breakfast for an extra fee. They can also find a variety of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk. This property is 10 minutes' drive from Coco Beach and 20 minutes' drive from Daniel Oduber International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Villa Acacia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Acacia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.