We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a great choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Acacia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Acacia to your Saves list
Villa Acacia
Playa Hermosa Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Nashville, TN
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Always a great choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

I have stayed at Villa Acacia several times with groups visiting Costa Rica. It is one of the nicest properties that I visit. In a small town that isn't overrun by tourists, the hotel is two short blocks from the beach. (You can see the beach from the front of the property.) There are rooms in a pair of 2-story buildings and several individual cabanas. The basic rooms are spacious, very clean, comfy beds, small fridge, AC. The cabanas also have kitchenettes, sitting areas and a small front porch. They serve breakfasts of Tico and American fare. There is a pool with a nearby shower to rinse of sand from the beach. The grounds are immaculate - always an employee raking and cleaning the grounds and pathways. There is a gated parking area and night watchmen that survey the grounds all night long. The prices are much more reasonable than the hotels on the beach, and many of those properties are not as nicely kept as Villa Acacia. (Yes, I visit the others always thinking ahead of the next group trip to Costa Rica.)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
25
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

After looking at the highly recommended Hotel Velero and summarily rejecting it, we found
this gem of a hotel just up the street. Though not right on the beach, it is one block from the beach.
The villas are very well equipped, private and comfortable. The pool is small but lovely with chairs well placed in the shade.
Breakfasts were sensational. If you choose not to cook in your room, the breakfast choice are either American or typical. Both were well prepared with the freshest of ingredients.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

My partner and I stayed in an upstairs superior room with one queen and one single bed. The room was clean, bed was OK although the pillows were worn. The bathroom was larger than expected with a nice walk-in shower. The room has an balcony with two rocking chairs (great to place to read and relax) overlooking the grounds which were well manicured. The property has a nice large clean pool with chaise lounges. The breakfast included was a choice between a local 'Tico' style or an 'Americano', it was good and served with good local bean coffee. The property also has individual villas which has a kitchen, therefore breakfast is not included. Playa Hermosa is a sleepy village with a nice beach which is about a 3 minute walk away. Playa Panama (about 5 mintues drive away) was even nicer. They also offer secured parking. If you are looking for a quiet, clean ,moderate place to stay, this may be right up your alley.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Excellent high ceiling rooms, great swimming pool for the kids, very close to the beach, clean property, private parking howver the restuarant shut down at 7pm and there were too many food choices nearby.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa rosa,ca
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Villa Acacia was the most memorable stay of my three week trip. Located about 5 minutes from the beach at beautiful Playa Hermosa the Villa was an absolute joy. This is a family business catering to a lot of Ticos as well as tourists and is definitely a slice of heaven.
The grounds are vast and gorgeous and are constantly being worked on. Not a day went by during my 4 day stay that workers weren't polishing wood, sanding trim or cutting back the extensive and lovely foilage. the room was a delightful place to return to after a hard day of swimming or snorkeling. The floor was beautifully tiled, the bed extremely comfortable, the shower was wonderful and I had a balcony overlooking the beautiful grounds. The TV and air conditioning worked great and the staff was responsive to my every need. A truly wonderful and included breakfast had the best gallo pinto I have ever eaten. And everyone from guest to worker seemed happy.Not burnt out and dour as is sometimes the case at places Ive stayed.
The big round pool could not have been cleaner or more inviting and parking is included and secure. Truly a find and the best place I stayed on my entire trip.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, TX
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

We loved our stay at Hotel Acacia, we really did. But we improved our experience by changing rooms.

Before we even arrived though, their customer service scored points. Our first attempt at our Costa Rica trip had to be cancelled the day of departure. The staff had no problem with this, and we eventually rescheduled for the end of May, deposit intact. Communication and understanding were great.

On check in we figured out the parking – go around to the back of the property where staff meets you to open the iron gate protecting the garage. Tight if it were busy, but seemed secure. Staff will need to let you out too. But the last 2 nights we just used their front off-street parking after being assured it would be no problem.

We intended to stay all 4 nights in an upstairs superior double. Our unit #8 seemed fine at first, with a double and a single bed, and a nice balcony. But:
- the windows were frosted, keeping out a desired view unless the balcony door was opened, which let in flying critters
- The doubles building was at the back of the property, which was OK, but…
- That night our sleep was occasionally disrupted by the nearby guard dogs and a street light.

Since our double rate was quite more than the then off-season advertised rate, after the first night for only a bit more we changed to Villa #1, right by the pool. MUCH nicer! More room than we needed, and we didn’t use the kitchen facilities. But the windows were grand! And the unit location was ideal, right by the front of the property and access to the street. If you can afford it, go for the villas.

General observations:
- The rooms, pool and grounds were kept spotlessly clean. Constant maintenance.
- The grounds were great, pleasantly landscaped. Nice photo ops, including of iguanas and hummingbirds.
- EVERYONE on the staff was extremely friendly: desk, maids, watchman, breakfast waitresses, etc. Even the owner (we believe) served me coffee as I sat out before breakfast, helping me with my Spanish.
- The beach is indeed about 100 meters down the road. It’s a great beach too, with a bit of action (but not too much), and cover under the trees. A nice median between Playas del Coco (far from quaint) and Playa Panama (nothing going on).
- Check out Aquasport for lunch/dinner/drinks. Great spot and cold Imperials.

We sincerely thought this was the best hotel for us in Playa Hermosa (we checked out the competition we hadd considered), and would recommend the villas to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

We stayed for 1 night in cabana 2. Huge space with a good sized kitchen and bathroom (with hot water), large bed and just a lovely view. There is a parking garage and fast wifi. We enjoyed nice meals served in the restaurant and received wonderful, friendly service.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone with families, romantic getaways and relaxation seekers. The beach is a close walk away and there were hardly any people there.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Acacia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Acacia

Address: Playa Hermosa Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering an extensive garden with endemic fauna, sun terrace, swimming pool and free Wi-Fi throughout, Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel is located 70 metres from the beach. Guests at Villas Acacia Beach & Garden Hotel will enjoy breakfast that they can choose between an American breakfast and Costa-Rican food breakfast for an extra fee. They can also find a variety of restaurants within 2 minutes' walk. This property is 10 minutes' drive from Coco Beach and 20 minutes' drive from Daniel Oduber International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Acacia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Acacia Hotel Playa Hermosa
Villa Acacia Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Acacia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.