We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa del sueno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa del Sueno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa del Sueno to your Saves list
Hotel Villa del Sueno
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Playa Hermosa , Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
montreal
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Villa del sueno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We went to have dinner .the food was tasty . The hotel is spotless clean .The owners québécois are there to make sure you get the best service .
On Fridays Wed and Friday's they have a band and play great music .one of the owners plays the guitar .The place is packed .
It is close to playa Hermosa beach .It is a safe beach to swim It has an amazing sunset .Sand is grey but okay .You can rent boats go snorkeling and fishing
Prices are pretty decent for the quality of hotel .
Service is what differentiates this hotel with other hotels in the area .

Room Tip: Since I did not stay there can't give my opinion on the rooms .However I am sure rooms are spotl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    49
    14
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
63
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

A good value & very nice place to send a day or two. The rooms are rather small but clean and comfortable. The typical costa rican breakfast they offer is worth trying. Bar and Restaurant on site. Stay for dinner as the food is excellent and there is often entertainment on the weekends. Staff was very friendly and helpful. A 3-5 minute walk from the beach and pizzeria pub and sports bar within walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights with my friend, and had a great experience. The hotel is very cute and comfortable. Everything is super clean, the staff is incredibly friendly, great location, and 2 nice pools.

Here is why I didn't give them 5 stars:

1. The restaurant is pretty bad. I got the Mahi Mahi and it was dry as could be.

2. They only offer 2 twins or 1 double. I would imagine that being kind of weird if you were going with a significant other.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Lake, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

We recently stayed in one of the condos within the resort. It was nicely appointed with a beautiful pool steps away and the landscaping is incredible. The Villa del Sueno is such a wonderful place to stay for so many reasons. The staff, from the time you arrive, to the time you depart, could not be more helpful, friendly and fun. From desk staff, to bartender to waiter, each person treated us as friends not just guests. The restaurant is amazing. The first night we were greeted by Sophia the chef who is very talented and also personable. We recommend the Mahi Mahi with shrimp sauce but any meal there is a winner. The hotel is not on the beach but very close and the walk is pleasant. We even saw monkeys on the way to the surf. We would return and highly recommend staying here if you want a pleasant, stress-free, and restful vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Villa del Sueno is a great hotel for the price in Playa Hermosa. Staff are friendly and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It's not on the beach, but less than 5 minutes walk. A little way from the town too, but that means it's quiet but still not too far.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

Ate here while staying at Bosque Del Mar.

Amazing food and GREAT service. Such a cute atmosphere for dinner with all the lights.

Probably the best service we had in CR!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Villa del Sueno around the new years holiday. Our room overlooking the pool was very nice and the pool was a great place to spend the afternoon when the heat and holiday crowds hit the beach. The restaurant was excellent; we especially enjoyed the huevos rancheros for breakfast. The best feature of this hotel was the hospitality of the staff who really made us feel welcome. I would definitely recommend this place and hope to return.

Room Tip: If you're not needing a condo, the standard rooms overlooking the pool are a nice option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa del Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Sueno

Address: Playa Hermosa , Guanacaste, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Villa del Sueno 3.5*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa del Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sueno
Del Sueno Hotel
Hotel Villa Del Sueno Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa del Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.