We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely the best view, ambiance, food, & service in Costa Rica” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Finisterra

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel La Finisterra to your Saves list
Hotel La Finisterra
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al final de la primera entrada, Playa Hermosa 5000, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Victoria BC Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Absolutely the best view, ambiance, food, & service in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2010

I can't believe how we lucked out finding this treasure which felt like home away from home due to the hospitality of the owners. I tend to shy away from commerical hotels and noisey crowds so my husband and I were very pleased to find this small boutique hotel called Hotel La Finisterra sitting on a hilltop overlooking Playa Hermosa, an accessible, safe and enjoyable beach in which to swim. Very suitable for adults looking for a romantic getaway, pool with view, gourmet food, wine cellar, great service and a peaceful quiet enviroment. Easy access to airport, neighboring beaches, car rental and restaurants although we didn't feel much like wandering as all our creature comforts were met. And all this at a very affordable price...I suggest checking out their website for details.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    37
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
86
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria BC
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

We stayed for one week and our room had a gorgeous view of Playa Hermosa. Owners Sheila and George made us feel right at home the moment we arrived. The restaurant serves top quality meals and the staff is friendly and well-informed. The hotel has a wine cellar offering very reasonably priced wines from Chile and Argentina. The hotel is small (10 rooms), has an outstanding restaurant/bar, and a pool. The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes from the hotel. I would rate our experience as 10 out of 10 largely because the hotel was so superb.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

My wife and I enjoy visiting this part of Costa Rica, this is our 7th trip. We have been to many restaurants in this area and today enjoyed one of the best for our dinner at La Finisterra. Our lodging was at another location so I can't speak to that but I could tell by the conversations of others that there was a special feeling between the guests and staff. My wife and I had salads, meals and desserts. All very, very good. The view is hard to beat anywhere, absolutely fantastic. We hope to go back next week for another dinner

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2010

This hotel has a great location with stunning views. Because we were there in the low season, there were only a few other guests. The owners and staff are very friendly and helpful, especially the bar tenders. Happy hour gives you a great excuse to enjoy a cocktail or beer while watching the sunset. Breakfast is great. The evening restaurant is ok but we ended up going to other hotels or restaurants nearby (the options on the menu didn't appeal too much). There are plenty of other options for dinner only a short stroll away.
Our only reservation with this hotel would be that we're not sure how comfortable it would be in peak season, when fully booked. They only have 10 rooms, which means it is nice and small - but there is only limited space around the pool / outside to sit and relax.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2010

My son (26) and I were greeted at the front desk with cool, refreshing tropical fruit drinks. A nice treat on a beautiful and sunny 95F temp. Costa Rican day.
Hotel is cozy..no in room extra's..tv, radio or internet..but who cares!!!!! We were there for the sun, fun and beaches!!!! Free internet and free out of country phone in lobby.
Great staff!! Never had to ask for anything....except directions to our next beach or attraction.
Nice restaurant with good food..some items a little pricey..but overall our dinner was good. Would be nice if they had a sandwich menu.
Great view of the ocean and beach from the open air restaurant and pool area.
Next time we will get a room on the north side...so we will have view of sunrise and beach..not much to look at on the south side....

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2010

This hotel is cute and homey - run by a very nice woman and her staff. Breakfast is freshly prepared, great fresh fruit and coffee as well. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the view is amazing. However, the hotel makes no mention of the fact that it is located on what is practically a completely vertical hill that our bus began sliding down. We were here in the summer of 2008, and there was a good deal of construction going on around the base of the hotel, so as a group of young women traveling together, we did not feel comfortable walking around alone - the walk to the beach was through seemingly deserted back roads covered in construction equipment. This being said, the owner was very nice about helping us locate a more fitting hotel and was kind enough to even call a few places for us. The beach is beautiful and the view from the hotel's pool is off a cliff - so it's picturesque. Just be warned, it is a major trek to get up and down the hotel road, no exaggeration.

Overall, stunning view, but not a place I'd go back to with friends - though I could see this as a couple's getaway (super private and pretty).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Room

The rooms in the hotel are pretty basic and quite small, but also very, very clean. The shower does like to leak through the gap in the glass, but otherwise the bathroom was decent, but again small. We were disappointed that we didn't get a room with a t.v., but it was our fault because we found out later we could have asked to change rooms to one with a t.v. The hotel is small, so getting to the room and back to the pool was very easy.

Pool Area:

We used it a few times, it wasn't the cleanest pool we've seen, but not bad either. The views of the beach and mountains are amazing. The chairs out there were not that good though, I thought the seating around the pool area could be improved with more and better chairs and umbrellas.

Restaurant:

Simply amazing, best meals we had in Costa Rica. Good value, great service. Only downside was the noisy group who came in and ruined a meal, they were so obnoxious I felt like saying something but didn't. I feel the hotel should do more to ensure outside groups don't ruin the peace of this small hotel.

Staff:

Great staff, especially the servers in the bar/restaurant. Always joking around, speaking Spanish with me, very, very nice people. Front desk let us use their computer to access e-mail. They always were prompt in calling a taxi or arranging transportation. When we checked-out they asked how our stay was and how they could improve. Good management.

Beach and Location:

Ok, Playa Hermosa is downhill a bit, but it isn't that bad if you are even in moderately good shape. We wlaked it a couple of times, its good for you. The beach is very cool, lots of local flavour, good for getting a sense of how wonderful Ticos are. There were a few vendors but nothing too obnoxious. Very clean beach as well.

Stay here if you are flying into Liberia, especially if you want a good restaurant at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Finisterra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Finisterra

Address: Al final de la primera entrada, Playa Hermosa 5000, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#3 Family Hotel in Playa Hermosa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Finisterra 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Hotel La Finisterra" offers the Costa Rica traveler luxurious yet affordable hotel lodgings. Set atop a beachfront hilltop. “Hotel La Finisterra” is only steps from the beach and the Pacific Ocean. The pool, bar, restaurant, poolside patio, balcony and all of the rooms feature views of the beach and ocean. Our open air restaurant "The Bistro" is well known for its savory cuisine and casual ambience. Enjoy dining on fresh local ingredients served in a variety of ¨Tipico¨ (local) and international recipes individually prepared by our professionally trained chef and kitchen staff. Enjoy the panoramic views of Playa Hermosa, the Pacific Ocean or a spectacular tropical sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel La Finisterra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Finisterra Hotel
La Finisterra Playa Hermosa
Hotel La Finisterra Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Finisterra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.