We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prompt and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rock Beach Bar - CLOSED

Rock Beach Bar
next to Condovac, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: This restaurant is definitely closed since end of october 2013.
Elko, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Prompt and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

They had good music for us older somethings; free wi-fi and good service. Great location too, right on the beach with beautiful views.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    5
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Québec, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I had a natchos from this place and eat it on the beach. It was great, good portion for two people. The place is right on the beach and the staff was friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, CT
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Loved it, can I work here please??”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Great view from the terrace, cheap beers, good food, and really nice bartender & waitress. We went a few times during our stay on Playa Hermosa. I was jealous of the bartender's life, can I trade places with you please?? We hope to come back someday!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I think I was in paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The beach bar fit my image of the perfect place that I had imagined in my dreams. Cold beers, hot weather, cool tunes, locals and expats hanging out with the sound of the waves breaking on the beach. Paradise.

We needed Wi-fi 'cause the stupid hotel where we were staying didn't have it. So out came my laptop and a waitress gave us the password. As I was booting up, the German owner (Reinhart?) came over to make sure I was able to log in. No problemo. We chatted a bit and he's super friendly.

I wish I was still there....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice MN
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A gem in Playa Hermosa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Who'd think you could get a good bratwurst in Costa Rica! Almost as good as what I've had in Germany. The restaurant was purchased last year by Reinhardt, who is from Germany, by way of Madrid, Spain.
BTW, the other food was good too, as was the food, and the view, etc.
We visited with Reinhardt about our experiences in Costa Rica to date, and he had some great recommendations for us, including a secluded waterfall not far from Liberia. He showed us photos on his laptop, and gave us directions. My only regret is that we didn't get a chance to thank him for this tip later.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RockBeachBar, Owner at Rock Beach Bar, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your opinion.
I''m glad to hear that you had a great day at the waterfalls.
Hope to see you back someday here in Costa Rica.
¡Pura Vida!
Rainer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rock Beach Bar also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rock Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.