We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed ambiance and great pizza” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)

Best prices from these 3 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2a entrada a la Playa 400 metros, Playa Hermosa 41, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Relaxed ambiance and great pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

It's our 2nd time here!
Came back looking for the hospitality of the owners and the cozy ambiance of the terrace, great for spending time with friends!

Swimming pool area is very nice and it a most in this hot weather.

This is a front beach hotel, so you can enjoy ocean waves sound even from the room!

BTW, pizza is really good!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
62
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed with Felix and his team, and we couldn't have been happier with our decision. As others have mentioned, the spot is perfect for Playa Hermosa - right on the beach, super accessible, and immaculate. We had an apartment overlooking the ocean, and we could get from our kitchen to the ocean in about 45 seconds. We ate at the restaurant multiple times and enjoyed it, especially the pizzas.

What really makes this place stand out for me is how accommodating Felix was with us. We ended up being a bit of a headache (missing the first night of our reservation due to a delayed flight, checking out late due to an issue with a tour we had booked), and Felix was understanding and helpful the whole way through. We definitely benefited from the personal touch, and we're glad we didn't go with a larger, more generic hotel. We'll definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get an apartment facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed here on the first and last nights of our stay in Costa Rica and it was both a perfect start and end to a great trip. Our room overlooked the grounds, pool and ocean view. Everything was clean and nice and stocked with fridge, kitchenette. Owner and bartender were kind and awesome, even taking out my boyfriend on the last night all over Playa Hermosa. When we returned, we didn't have a fridge in our room. We mentioned it, and the owner had someone haul up a mini fridge right away. There were awesome all around, good food, coffee, fresh fruit for breakfast and a lovely pool just off the Pacific Ocean.
Stay here for a great stay and a good pura vida experience.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We just returned from a wonderful vacation at Villa Belmar. We stayed in the ocean front 'pent house' apartment. It was much more than we needed for the two of us, but worth the extra small expense. We had a full size refrigerator, stove, microwave,and comfortable king bed. Felix and Nacio were truly accommodating hosts, letting us use the car to go to the market, their phone to arrange for tours, and they took us on a scenic boat ride for snorkeling. They have a hard working staff, from waitress, housekeeping, maintenance and cook. There are beautiful flowers and grounds, nice lawn leading a short way to the beach, plenty of sun,and shade when needed. We awoke to the sounds of birds, monkeys, and pounding surf about 4;30 AM. We slept with the windows wide open, even with no screens, and no bugs came in! The ocean was a bit rough while we were there, but warm and swim-able once we got beyond the breaking waves. It was calmer in the mornings, and down the beach to the left (south). You can't go wrong if you stay here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

To start if you are looking for a high class 5 plus star hotel with lots of pretty people, dont come here. If you are looking for a property that feels like home, right on the beach, with pool, very friendly staff and just plain heaven book this hotel because its a gem. Are the rooms perfect, no. Are they comfortable, quiet and have ocean view with waves lulling you to sleep, yes. Great meals, awesome service and one of the cleanest safest swimming beaches in the country. You will not be disappointed here if relaxing, meeting friendly people and walking out your door to stroll down miles of almost deserted beach is for you.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

I can not say enough good things about our stay. The staff was great although we were shy because our Spanish was poor. They do all speak English, but out of respect, we wanted to speak Spanish to locals. Yes, the rooms are simple but who spends that much time in the room while on vacation? We did have two rocking chairs to overlook the amazing view of the ocean. If you are looking for peace and tranquility with a laid back atmosphere, this is THE place. Our stay was far too short and we long to return.

Room Tip: Ocean view room is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new england
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

My family and I recently spent two nights at Belmar and were very happy with our stay. The hotel is just steps away from the beautiful black sand beach, the pool is fun, clean and the perfect spot for our kids to play while my wife and I hung out in the restaurant. The food in the bar was good but nothing spectacular. We rented the apt with two single beds (think futon with a trundle) in the kitchen/dining room which worked out well for our family, especially for only $100 nightly. The rooms are certainly not Hilton new and shiny but keep your expectations in line and you'll be rewarded by the amazing location.

Felix and staff were all great and super accommodating. Will certainly return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)

Address: 2a entrada a la Playa 400 metros, Playa Hermosa 41, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being on the beach, just 10 meters from the sand, and one of the best beaches in Costa Rica makes us different, besides the comfort of spacious rooms with large beds, all equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning , ceiling fan, cable TV, etc ...Nuestro hotel al no ser de grandes dimensiones damos una atención a quienes nos visitan bastante personalizada, disfrutamos de su estancia casi tanto como ustedes mismos, e intentamos que se sientan con en su propia casa de la playa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.