We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2a entrada a la Playa 400 metros, Playa Hermosa 41, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Playa Hermosa
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

In this hotel, you're about 50 metres from the waves of the Pacific. There's a lot to be said for a location like this. The guys who run it, Felix and Ignacio, couldn't be more helpful and more friendly. On our first night, we complained about an army of ants which overran one of the rooms - we were swiftly moved to a better room and offered 30% off our stay. The hotel may lack somewhat in the facilities and the spotless cleanliness you'd expect from a Hilton; the furniture and even the bedding may be a bit dated and wanting some repair; but it more than makes up for all this by creating an amazing atmosphere and by the extremely high standard of service from the guys who run it.

Room Tip: Avoid room No. 5 - we found it to be a bit of an ant-magnet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    6
    8
    4
See reviews for
54
62
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

I just returned from the most wonderful mini-vacations ever. The hotel location couldn't be better. It is on a quiet end of a beautiful beach. The dining room overlooks a nice pool and out to the ocean. This hotel is as close as one can get to the beach yet off set enough to be private. It is within walking distance to several great restaurants (Roberto's and El Quijote are my fav's) and has great food in house as well.

I rented a car and was provided free secure parking within a gated lot but actually using the car to get where I wanted to go was not necessary. Everything one needs is within walking distance. A nice grocery store, restaurants as mentioned before, an ATM machine, the pool, the beach and Hermosa Zumba & Yoga Studio for amazing and varied fitness classes are all right there.

My job requires me to be around hundreds of people each day I am at work. While I do enjoy it, my "alone time" is valued. This was a solo vacation for me. Felix and the staff were very friendly and accommodating but also respectful of one's personal space. In addition, I always felt safe and secure in the hotel as well as the area.

Thank you Felix & staff for such an enjoyable time! I am hoping to be back soon!

Room Tip: I liked room #6 as the wifi extended into it from the common area making it easy to keep in touch wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Small and charming hotel with a taste of Seville and Andaluz gazpacho, which Felix (the owner) can make for you. Great place to relax and forget about our busy life back home: beach walks, ocean swimming, or just rocking in the chair beachfront with a chilly guaro.
The karaoke bar and a seafood restaurant close to the hotel were an extra to my expectations.

Illarion (Maryland, USA)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

One of the hidden gems of Hermosa beach! Rooms are clean and the staff is absolutely superb! Ideal location with beachfront and a really nice pool to cool off in! What more could you ask for in a tropical location! Felix does an outstanding job!

Stan & Cathy from Canada

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

When we got to the hotel to check in all seemed fine. We got our room. The room was old, smelled, and did not have a fridge( which online it said it did so we bought food for lunches). We loved the location, it was directly on the beach with a nice little pool and bar area. The location was the best thing right there on Playa Hermosa. We arrived around 3;30 and then ordered dinner around 5:00. It was New Years Eve. Dinner was good! then the manager said that we had to leave because they had lost our reservation. I had booked with the hotel in May and even called later on to confirm and to change our reservation from 3 to 4 nights. It was not told to me the second time I called that there was a problem with our reservation.
Here we are 2 adults and 2 children on New Years Eve without a hotel to stay in. A lady who worked there tried to find us another hotel- of course there was not one available as it was 6:00 on New Years Eve. We ended up staying at a lady's house who worked there. They were very kind to offer their house for the night. My children aged 8 and 10 were quite nervous about us not having anywhere to stay for 4 days. They took us out to the beach to hang out on New Years Eve. We were unable to find a place to stay in Playa Hermosa and the husband took us to Ocotal where we found a place to stay. They still made us pay $50 for the dinner and drinks.
Overall the rooms were terrible, the food was good, the location was great, but make sure you don't reserve with them and go through a booking agent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, WA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

We decided against staying at Villa Belmar, due to recent reviews, complaining of bugs & butts, at the time we were planning our trip. We did stay one night, found the location ideal. Great location, right off the beach. Felix was attentive. I saw no bugs & no butts.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White City, Oregon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I arrived in Costa Rica about 9:30 P.M. and jumped into a cab to Playa Hermosa a quick 20 minute drive from Liberia airport, I had made reservations on the computer and was anxious to rest after a long day.
We rang the bell, the gate opened up and the owner Felix came out to greet us. Our rooms were ready. Air conditioning, overhead fan firm beds clean rooms, T.V. and a pool just feet from the ocean.
Not only did Felix open the gate he opened his heart to us. He was so generous with his hospitality we could not believe it. He was a unheard of host. He arranged for us to have a free deep sea fishing trip if we stayed at least five days, he also took us out for Karoke and beer on his dime. Like Tony the Canadian said "Do you think the Hilton would treat us this way?
Great food, Great People, Great place

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort)

Address: 2a entrada a la Playa 400 metros, Playa Hermosa 41, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being on the beach, just 10 meters from the sand, and one of the best beaches in Costa Rica makes us different, besides the comfort of spacious rooms with large beds, all equipped with private bathroom, air conditioning , ceiling fan, cable TV, etc ...Nuestro hotel al no ser de grandes dimensiones damos una atención a quienes nos visitan bastante personalizada, disfrutamos de su estancia casi tanto como ustedes mismos, e intentamos que se sientan con en su propia casa de la playa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort) Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Belmar (Sevilla Resort), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.