We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Personalized Experience -- 4 Stars for Tico Tours Guanacaste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata

Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata
From the RE/MAX Tres Amigos Office, go 300 meters down the hill and turn left, go 100 meters | First entrance towards the beach, Playa Hermosa 50503, Costa Rica
506-8833-1410
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tico Tours Guanacaste is a Licensed and Insured Tour Company. Our Company aims to provide you with an active experience of the real Costa Rica. We will take you off of the beaten path for a one-of-a-kind, matchless experience unlike those of the standard big coach tours. Tico Tours Guanacaste provides first-class personal attention, superior customer service and unique adventures for an unforgettable experience. It's truly our pleasure to share the natural beauty of Costa Rica through a native's perspective, while maintaining the desired of comfort and quality of service that today's travelers expect and deserve. Our company uses air conditioned, up-to-date vehicles with full insurance coverage. Customer satisfaction is our #1 goal! Tico Tours Guanacaste prides itself on individual attention to client. We will do all in our hands to ensure that your time in Costa Rica is truly memorable.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Alexandria, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Personalized Experience -- 4 Stars for Tico Tours Guanacaste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

A note for all as we thank Bernal Mata and his crew from Tico Tours Guanacaste.
You made our CR trip special and always to be remembered fondly. Annmarie and I, and 4 other relatives were at the Joya de la Montaña residence in Playa Hermosa during the last week in January 2014. Your offered personalized services really makes a residence stay in Playa Hermosa compete with the best of the resorts. Transportation needs were well met (even on short notice), offered excursions were excellent, and the recommended restaurants were right-on. Annmarie and I would also like to complement Eyttel Porras and Juan Carlos for the great job they did on the tours. The next time we are there we look forward to seeing you folks again.

Mark

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    5
    0
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“excurisons”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Bernal Mata took us on a wonderful adventure. We went to a zip line that consisted of ten lines that were high and fast. You had to ride a horse to get there and he led us on a short cut to beat the crowd on the bus behind us. The ride was exciting to say the least. The zip line operators were excellent, being 65 I was very impressed. Then off to the log slide never had more fun. The mud bath was warm, until we had to rinse off in the cold stream. Then the mineral bath with the warm water, (and swim up bar try a coco loco my wife says it is to die for) I only got a beer. Lunch was by far the best we had in Costa Rica. We would use Tico Tours for any tour we would ever take again and we go to Guanacaste every few years. Just don'''''t forget Pura Vida!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Tico Tours Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We just got back from Playa Hermosa Costa Rica, we used Tico Tours four times within the 11 days that we were there. They are the best tour company we have ever used. They will pick-up at the airport, we went zip line-ing, private sailboat sunset cruise, drop off at airport. Thanks Bernal. We will be back!!!!!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great boat trip (Palo Verde Jungle Tour)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were happy with our boat trip arranged by Tico Tours. We were picked up at our hotel, taken on a comfortable boat ride, saw tons of herons and crocodiles and iguana and other birds, and also saw monkeys by the roadside. The guide was knowledgable and pleasant, and the boat captain was clever in using a mirror to flash sunlight on the birds who otherwise might have been hard to see. We were served fruit for breakfast, and a delicious typical lunch. I would highly recommend the Palo Verde Jungle Tour.

I also was pleased with the experience of booking the tour. I arranged it by email a few months in advance, and both Bernal and his wife Lillian were very responsive by email, answering questions and helping arrange the right trip for us. Because there were only 2 of us, it was hard, at first, to get a booking for the jungle tour since both Tico Tours and another company wanted a minimum of 4 people. The other guide (my first choice because expert birder) was unable to make any exception. Tico Tours must have decided at some point to offer us the $100 per person price, despite only two people, gambling (correctly) they could add on someone who chose the trip at last minute. They were politely persistent, sending us emails once every 3 weeks or so to see if we wanted to go on the tour.....and eventually I decided it was the best deal I could get. And I was very happy I did, it was a great trip.

In the end, a family of 6 booked the same tour with us, so it was 8 of us in the mini-van,and 8 of us in the boat. Which made for a nice group touring down the river. Our guide had us eat breakfast quickly so we could get a nice boat for 8 before the tour bus with another 20-30 people showed up. I was very happy with the whole thing, and would use Tico Tours again in an instant. Oh, the family of 6 had arranged to go to Guartil to see pottery after the boat trip, so we got that added onto our trip, (no additional cost to us), so we ended up with an 8-hour rather than a 6-hour excursion.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Tico Tours are the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went to visit Nicaragua with Luis for a day. Met the guide Eduardo in Nicaragua. The tour was very pleasant and informative. Luis took good care of us at the road and at the border, helping us with the papers. We visited Lake Nicaragua, had a boat tour, went to Masai volcano and Granada. The second tour was a boat tour through the National park with Juan Carlos and Luis. We watched crocodiles, monkeys and a lot of birds. Very nice tours, pleasant people and good service.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tico Tours Guanacaste Bernal Mata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.