We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fishing crew in the area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours

Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours
The Beach | PO Box 177, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
506-26701564
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours is a fully licensed and insured fishing company ready to take you out for a full day or half day of fishing. We offer a wide variety of fishing options in the Papagayo Gulf: inshore, offshore, coastal, bottom, casting, fly and spear fishing. If you are looking to save money or prefer not to fish alone, Lisa can arrange a split-charter with other fisherman/woman looking for the same. Captain Daniel has over 40 years of fishing experience and his mate Mauricio, fluent in English, has over 20 years. These guys love to fish and are fishing professionals. We now have a GoPro camera to film your fishing adventure in which Lisa can cut/edit your video to be posted on Youtube. Snorkeling can be included at the end of your fishing trip at no additional cost. This is a great tour for the entire family to explore the beautiful Pacific Ocean. Costa Rica sport fishing is known worldwide as one of the greatest sport fishing/surfing destination plus the weather is great almost all year round. For the intermediate and experienced surfer, trips to Witches Rock and Ollie's are offered with a guide. We look forward to hearing from you. Pura Vida!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best fishing crew in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

We went out on the boat and were so happy with our trip. The boat was well maintained and the crew went above and beyond for us. The whole experience was easy, Lisa organized everything for us. Can't wait to go out again!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you Cheryl for your review! It is always an uplifting to read that people enjoyed their time out on the water on our boat. I don't believe Captain Daniel has ever used a computer so I'll be sure to let him know you were happy with your tour. Please be sure to look us up again for your next trip out on the water. Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    7
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“One of the absolute highlights of our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Our family was looking for an authentic fishing experience in Costa Rica and we were lucky enough to find it with North Pacific Tours. Lisa was unbelievably accommodating, they were all extremely child-friendly, and my son caught 4 fish during our 2-hour adventure. They impressed us with their knowledge, professionalism, authenticity, and genuine love for what they do. I would highly recommend them! Sandra C. + kids

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank You Sandra for your review. We are so happy you and your family enjoyed your fishing trip with us. I know Mauricio enjoyed fishing with Luke - they both have the fishing fever. If you do decide to come back next year for Spring Break, please be sure to contact us. Enjoy your summer fishing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basehor, Kansas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A great day fishing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We had a great time with Captain Dan and Mauricio. They were professional and knew exactly where to go to find the best fishing. We were hooked up within the first hour and consistently were around fish. They had everything we needed including food, drinks, and gear. We would highly recommend them!!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello Bruce, Thank you for taking the time to write us a reveiw, we appreciate it. I will pass on to the crew that you were pleased with your fishing tour. We hope you will be back in this area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Father and son had great time together.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Paul and I had a great time. Mauricio worked real hard changing lines baits techniques, etc. Paul caught his first Mahi Mahi and was absolutely thrilled. He also liked be surrounded by hundreds of dolphins and seeing a pod of pilot whales. Mauricio was great with my son in helping him boat all his fish. At the end of our trip we saved a little time for snorkeling. This was a great way to finish up. Next time were back we will definitely be going out with Captain Daniel and Mauricio for a full day again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
It sounds like you both had a memorable day out fishing and we're happy to read your review. A day out fishing is always better when you come upon a pod of dolphins or whales. The Pacific Ocean is magical. Thank you for your review . Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A fun morning fishing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Two of us went out for a morning fishing trip. Captain Daniel and Mauricio were there on time to greet us on the beach as promised. Although the boat was on the small side for a larger group it was perfect for 2-4 people, especially as the water was relatively calm, and the cost was very competitive. Mauricio spoke great English and they were both very welcoming and accommodating. Within a few minutes we enjoyed an unexpected pleasure motoring through a huge shoal of Devil Rays which were jumping all around us, and there were regular siteings of large turtles floating past us. Unfortunately the fishing was very slow for the first 3 hours without a single bite. Mauricio dropped us off for some snorkeling to break up the waiting but the water was fairly cloudy and we were soon back in the boat looking for the fish. A short while later the reels started spinning and over the next hour we caught 7 skipjack Tuna. Although not the largest fish they put up a fight and we grilled several that evening. We saw the Devil Rays on the way back to the beach closing out a fun morning.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NorthPacificTours, Owner at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It seems like a lot of marine life showed up on your fishing trip but not the fish! I am glad that you both did get some at some point of your tour and that you were pleased with Mauricio's work. He loves to fish as much as the next fisherman and when he is not fishing, he's fishing. We hope you'll both be back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours also viewed

Liberia, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours to your Saves list