We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern vibe” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Main Street | 150 m south of Villas Sol, Playa Hermosa 50503, Costa Rica
506-2672-0041
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica! FREE SHUTTLE FROM HILTON PAPAGAYO AND OCCIDENTAL GRAND PAPAGAYO.
Washburn, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Modern vibe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

I loved Ginger-it's like going to a swanky, hip bar with yummy appetizers. We sat outside on the deck and it was a beautiful night with a nice breeze. My husband was a little disappointed in the small portions, but I thought it was perfect. Fun place, but don't plan on getting filled up with food!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    109
    30
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago, IL
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Tapas and martinis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Friday nights drinks are half priced and they were great-delicious and numerous tapas options-creative menu and welcoming owner

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Simply Rico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

U must say I was genuinely impressed with this resteraunt. It is strictly drinks and tapas, and lots to choose from. Generally you will want to select three or four tapas each as they are small and its good to share with other people. They even offer dishes that are Gluten Free so this is great if you have an intolerance. Definitely if you are visiting the Del Coco or Hermosa area check this resteraunt out.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Absolutelly great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was my favourite restaurant in Costa Rica. They have tapas, but with big portion and the taste was really exciting!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonder Meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Every plate brought to us was fantastic...there was not a thing that anyone complained of. A little pricey for CR but totally worth it. This was one of the best meals we had on our 10 day vacation!!!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.