We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty tapas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ginger

Ginger
Main Street | 150 m south of Villas Sol, Playa Hermosa 50503, Costa Rica
506-2672-0041
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $40
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A tapas bar with a twist: Asian and Mediterranean fusion, great list of New World Wines by the glass, cocktails made with fresh tropical juices. Exciting and eclectic cuisine like no other in Costa Rica! FREE SHUTTLE FROM HILTON PAPAGAYO AND OCCIDENTAL GRAND PAPAGAYO.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Tasty tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our dinner here was perhaps our best meal in Costa Rica. The setting is lovely, the service good, and the food delicious. The dish with beef on plaintains was fantastic!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    129
    35
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blowing Rock, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unexpected Treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Ginger was just up the road from our hotel on Playa Hermosa and six of us went one night - it was beautiful, sophisticated, great food - Tapas with an Asian as well as Central American flare - excellent service. Atmosphere was really wonderful. Cocktails were nicely done. Highly recommend, and several people there had come a long distance - we just happened to be close by.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
“High Price Mediocre Food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was the least liked restaurant I experienced in Costa Rica. The food was mediocre and salty. The cost to quanity was not very favorable. They only sell tapas and no entree meals.

The facilitiy is unque with nice atmosphere. I think if I was there to drink and have few tapas it would of been a better experience. However, not recommended for just dining.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tapas like it should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We drove by this restaurant many times before checking it out; very glad we did. The service was incredible and the food was nothing short of perfect. We went on a rainy night, and while the place is opened to the outside, the roof provided a perfect cover to keep us dry. We tried about six different entrees and every one of them was perfectly presented and exquisite. Don't forget to leave room for the desserts...you won't be disappointed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Lookout, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little slice of heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

If you are traveling to Costa Rica and are in the Liberia area- Ginger in Playa Hermosa is a MUST!!! The design of the restaurant in unique and lends itself to an amazing dining experience. Its decking that gives you the outdoor dining experiences but all the aspects of fine dining! The food... oh the food! Its Tapas Asian Fusion and it is as delish to eat as it is to look at! Don't miss out on Ginger!
I didnt' 'tick' many boxes in questions below only because It was not necessary for me to be aware so did not research.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger also viewed

Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Ginger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ginger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.