We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were in the lap of luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hermosa Heights Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hermosa Heights Villas to your Saves list
Hermosa Heights Villas
3.5 of 5 Villa   |   200 meters north of Century 21 Office, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were in the lap of luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2009

We picked Hermosa Heights over our RCI hotel down the road this year because we had briefly met the wonderful people last year at Hermosa Heights and thought the location and Villas would be wonderful for ourselves and our family group. We had 2 Villa's with a beautiful view of pool and flowers. Our group was ages 20's to 50's and each and every one of us were more then satified with all that was offered.

Best thing is the hospitality of each and every member of the staff from the Upper Deck, Security, Spa, wonderful maids, Management and Scott and Roseanna at the breakfast club.
No line ups at check in, walk to lovely Hermosa beach, to the new Luperon Grocery Store or rent a vehicle/take a cab to Cocoa for shopping, golfing at Papagygo Golf Club.
The other wonderful thing is the none stop sunshine in Hermosa, we had the trade winds while we were there and some days it was very windy but this location is wonderfully sheltered from the winds with the natural mountain in back and lush pool side gradens in front.
If you want a no hassle, relaxing vacation book your Villa, we will be back again next year.
Thanks to the gain at Hermosa
Best wishes from the Calgary group

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Hermosa Heights in April. A friend had gone to the same hotel and recommended it highly. After looking at the hotel's website online we decided to book a stay there since it was close to a few beach locations we wanted to visit on our trip to Costa Rica. When we got there we were really amazed by the hotel and the amenities it had. Pool (with pool bar), hot tub, complimentary wireless internet (throughout the hotel grounds), cable tv (not that we used it that much), kitchen, adjustable AC, spa, restaurant & bar, and plenty of parking (which was good since we rented a car). The hotel itself is in a beautiful location positioned on a hillside overlooking the bay and most of the villas had views of the bay. We were close to a few excellent restaurants and the beach was only a 5 min walk down the road. Really, we didnt have to worry about anything. Beaches were easily accessible, restaurants were easily accessible, the hotel itself had anything you needed and the staff were willing to help you with anything else. I loved it and ill go back as soon as she and I decided to tour Costa Rica again.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2008

The villas at Hotel Villas Hermosa Heights were brand new and completely exceeded our expectations. They were great for a couple on a getaway or for a family vacation. While we were there they were just finishing the construction of a mini-golf course, movie theater, and night club. I can not wait to go back! The pools were very clean and properly maintained. The pool had a great deck, 2 waterslides and a swim up bar. I got a pedicure at the spa and the staff was extremely kind. There is also a sports bar and convenience store on the property. I felt very safe at the villas, there were security guards at the gate and guards patrolled the property 24 hours.

Playa Hermosa is the closest beach, just a 5 min walk, very clean, secluded and romantic. It seems that this beach is still a hidden gem. We almost had the entire beach to ourselves; it was something I will never forget. There are a couple smaller hotels on the beach where we would go and eat breakfast on the beach, then would use their chairs to layout all day and grab drinks at their bar.

It is less than 5 min drive to the larger Playa Coco where there are more shops, restaurants and night life. I would not want to stay there because it was not as clean as Playa Hermosa.

Our favorite restaurant on the trip was called Ginger, it was within walking distance of the villas. It has a very unique ambiance and architecture and the food and drinks were AWESOME!

We went on a horseback ride, water rafting, zip line tour which was only 10 miles up the road. During the zip line tour we got to see howler monkeys, birds, and iguanas high up in the trees.

We finished our stay in Playa Hermosa and took the drive to Arenal which was absolutely beautiful!!

  • Liked — Everything you needed was on the property but there was also alot to do off the property near by
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2008

We just stayed in the Hotel Villas Hermosa Heights in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica. We went down to check out the area for a large family vacation in December. The hotel is new and everything was in perfect working order, and brand new everything, which we love. Despite being new, the kinks seemed to have been worked out because everything went without a hitch. The staff was very helpful and we felt very much at home. They spoke english well. We wanted to do some planning for snorkeling and boating and they hooked us up with the right people who showed us a great time. What was the best? Waking up and going to bed with this unbelievable view of the Pacific Ocean. The Hotel is halfway up a mountain, so its quite breathtaking. I cant wait to go back. If you're looking for a quiet, well situated, vacation hotel with a knockout view and a gorgeous pool, this is your place. Cant wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2008

Hemosa Heights is the most awesome place, your heart will lead you there again and again. We would never stay any place else. No stone was left unturned in planning this place. The villas are wonderful, top of the line everything, When you walk into the villas your breathe will be taken away: designer furnishing, playa TV, kitchen, amazing bathrooms...... forget those large hotel chains , Hermosa Heights is your own paradise, the pool , sports bar, and mainly the people , If you need anymore info let me know, we have been all over Costa Rica this is our home away from home. LOVE IT.

  • Liked — spacious villas pool, locations
  • Disliked — loved everything about it
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hermosa Heights Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermosa Heights Villas

Address: 200 meters north of Century 21 Office, Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Hermosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Playa Hermosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hermosa Heights Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Location Our property is located in Playa Hermosa, one of the most beautiful beaches of the Gulf of Papagayo. Lining the waters of the Pacific coast of Guanacaste, this privileged little town and offers a variety of activities, culture, beach and outstanding restaurants, making it an ideal area to relax and enjoy. Villas Hermosa Heights is situated in the foothills of Playa Hermosa, offering a safe haven of rest and comfort for you and your family. A 20 minute drive from the Liberia International Airport, makes Villas Hermosa Heights an easy & convenient lace to drive to any point in or out of Guanacaste. Our property is 45 acres with small nature reserves surrounded by lush nature and wildlife. Here, you can enjoy the beautiful views of the ocean, enjoy the sea breeze and take a walk on our nature trails. In Villas Hermosa Heights you can see the wildlife of Guanacaste's typical dry tropics including: howler monkeys, iguanas, parrots, butterflies, a wide-range of bird species and most beautiful trees and cacti in the area. Standard Villa 2brm/2bath 1. Standard Villa 2brm/2bath The Std Villas are Located at Hermosa Heights property at 15 minutes walking from the beach, with two bedrooms an two bathrooms, with a queen bed in the master room and a bunk bed with a full size bed on the bottom and twin size on top. Amenities include: Flat Screen TV 42', A/C & ceiling fan, , safety box, hot water, washing/dryer machine, living room area and a fully furnished kitchen complete with dinnerware, cookware and kitchen appliances. Garden View , surrounded by green trees and friendly animals showcasing the natural beauty from your balcony. Take a deep breath, relax and enjoy your stay where you will feel like your beach house. (Villa located near by the mean pool) Premium Villa 3Bed/2Bath Our beautiful Premium Villa, with a 3 bedrooms. 2 Bathrooms( queen bed in the master room, second next room a full size bed and the last room bunk bed with a full size bed on the bottom and twin size on top) In the Living Room area you will have, Cable TV, Wi - fi, A/C & ceiling fan, Villa have a fully furnished kitchen complete with dinnerware and kitchen appliances , microwave, stove with oven, blender, toaster, rice cooker, coffee maker, refrigerator, and washer and dryer machine. Terrace with a little pool, surrounded by green trees and friendly animals showcasing the natural beauty of the ocean view. 2. Luxury Home 3Baths/ Our Luxury Villa with a amazing ocean view, have tree bedrooms. 3 Bathrooms, (queen bed in the master room, in the next room a full size bed and the last room 2 double beds) Comfortable l living area, with wireless internet service, cable TV, A/C & ceiling fan, fully furnished kitchen complete with dinnerware, cookware and kitchen appliances,(microwave, stove with oven, dish washer, blender, rise cooker , coffee maker and toaster ) The Terrace with BBQ, tables and chairs, in fron of the gorgeous infinity pool with a wet bar Ranchito, surrounded by green trees and friendly animals showcasing the natural beauty, relax and enjoy your stay where you will feel like your beach house with the amazing ocean view In the property you will have the following services Ranchito Snack Bar Spending all day lounging and swimming in the pool can really work up an appetite so when hunger sets in juts walk on over the Ranchito Snack Bar, for your favorite food and enjoy the daily specials, lunch plates, enjoy the variety of cocktails by the pool. Schedule 7:30 am until 3:00pm Swimming and Jacuzzi The common area, in and around the villas, contains Hermosa Height's luxurious pool with a waterfall & two water slides. A perfect place for your kids enjoyment, for those who are looking for a little bit of relaxation, we have the Jacuzzi whirlpool therapy, where you can sit and feel renewed. Hotel Services Trails with gorgeous ocean views Sands Bar & Restaurant Play Area Gymnasium Mini Golf Course Medical Clinic ( by appoitment) Soccer & Basketball Courts Free Parking ATM machine 24-h guarded community ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hermosa Heights Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hermosa Heights Villas Costa Rica/Playa Hermosa, Guanacaste

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hermosa Heights Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.