We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect small, quiet oasis 5 minute walk to Playa Grande” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cantarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cantarana to your Saves list
Hotel Cantarana
Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Port Moody, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect small, quiet oasis 5 minute walk to Playa Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our group of four adults stayed at Hotel Cantarana in March, 2014 for five nights. It was the perfect choice for us for this area. We didn't want the crowds and bustle of Tamarindo, so chose Playa Grande instead. So glad we did. The beach is beautiful and just one block from Cantarana along a quiet path. Very empty, soft sand, great swimming, and good waves for surfing and boogie boarding. Sandy bottom beach for swimming too. Super relaxing. We loved the small size of the hotel - only 5 units, and its lovely pool and garden area. Rooms were clean and had everything we needed. One of our rooms (the one in the restaurant building) had no hot water a few times, but it didn't bother us as it was so hot there at Playa Grande! The restaurant was great for breakfast and served amazing dinners too. Within a few blocks walk are a few other restaurants at different price levels. The staff were very helpful and we were able to rent boogie boards for the day a few minutes walk down the road. I would definitely recommend this hotel to travellers wanting something small, quiet, clean, great value, and well situated next to Playa Grande. US$35 taxi ride from airport, if you arrive that way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here in March 2014 and had a spectacular experience. We just left one day ago, but loved the place so much I wanted to write our review now and I already want to go back! The location is fantastically quiet and relaxing, with a pretty pool and gorgeous gardens, but still very near (within a few minutes walking) other good restaurants/bars and a handy, small store. I especially enjoyed the restaurant attached to the hotel - lots of variety in the menu, tasty food (including a delicious and filling complimentary breakfast) affordable, friendly service, and a pretty view. I really appreciated that the beach was a very short - two minute - walk away. The free beach chairs, beach towels, umbrellas, and affordable surfboard and bike rentals were incredibly convenient. The fantastic staff treated us like old friends and arranged anything we wanted - taxis and (the best part) affordable in room massages. My boyfriend loved the surf on the beach, and I loved that the beach is just as good for relaxing - soft sand, some shady spots, and a pretty shoreline to walk along.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I stayed here with my girlfriend in February of 2014. It made for the perfect, quiet and fun beach vacation. The hotel is a very relaxing place to spend time -either pool side or on a room patio (all of the rooms have outdoor patio spaces). There aren't very many units so it doesn't get busy, the garden is beautiful and the staff were friendly and professional. The beach is a 400 meter walk away. And, everything was clean and well maintained, and the bed was comfortable.

The staff gave advice on things to do, and offered to make arrangements for tours and activities.

Then there's the hotel restaurant. It was top notch. The chefs take pride in their dishes; and easily accommodated my serious gluten intolerance.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brighton
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in January to see the turtles. The hotel is in a great setting close to beach in a small private development built in the woods. Although not close to Playa Grande it is in a really nice quiet setting with other hotels and restaurants close by .
The rooms are of midsize with comfortable beds and excellent showers. The breakfast room is on the 1st floor floor with open sides.
My only criticism of this friendly small hotel is that the breakfasts were not of a great standard .
The main complaint was that the coffee ran out every morning and a long wait ensued until more was made . Hopefully this has been rectified
Despite this minor issue i would fully recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We've spent the last week of February in hotel Cantarana and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Its location is perfect; very quiet and near an almost empty 3 mile beach. The hotel has a very good restaurant (try the tuna!) and friendly and capa ble staff (especially Lioba who makes you feel welcome very quickly with her warm hospitality). We will definitely go back to this hotel if we return to Guanacaste one day.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilltown, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I visited Costa Rica last week for the first time and loved it. We chose Hotel Cantarana in Playa Grande and are glad we did. Small hotel with 5 rooms which was just perfect for us. Clean pool, plenty of comfort and beautiful landscaping. The owners and staff were friendly and helpful with any requests we had. Food at their restaurant was very good. Staff was eager to help make plans for taxis, activities and dinner reservations. Only a 5 minute walk to a secluded beautiful beach. Lioba and the entire staff exceeded our expectations. Will stay there again our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed not only our hotel, but also the beautiful area of Playa Grande and its surroundings.
We would love to host you again should you pass through our area again.
Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Best part of the trip. the place is amazing, the staff is lovely. Even the wine at the local shop is of value (get the Malbac.) Really a nice place to stay.

the only downside we had was with commute from airport (not a hotel shuttle). This hotel is NOT in Playa Grande, but in Palm, which is a little bit away.

worth it....and what a value!

Room Tip: I would avoid the one under the restaurant, just for privacy sake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cantarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantarana

Address: Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric restaurant invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cantarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantarana Hotel Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cantarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.