We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis in Playa Grande” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Cantarana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Cantarana to your Saves list
Hotel Cantarana
Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save $10 on select meals
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oasis in Playa Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Clean, bright and nicely appointed rooms. The efficient AC in the room was welcomed after a hot day at the beach. The grounds are immaculate with a lovely shaded pool area. With only five rooms and a limited number of guests, we felt welcomed as part of the family. The restaurant served the best food we had on our Costa Rican holiday. We were able to bring back Mahi Mahi after a fishing trip from Tamarindo and the chef at Hotel Cantarana prepared a gourmet three-course feast for us. Absolutely fantastic - dish presentations and flavours were perfect! The breakfast included in the price was more than sufficient to get us through to dinner most days.

Playa Grande was nearly deserted and we enjoyed the gorgeous sunsets and beach walks. We were so grateful to have booked in this area instead of the noisy, congested and dusty Tamarindo area. No vendors on Playa Grande and very clean, but no shade available on the beach so the hot sun got a bit much for us after a few hours. We were grateful to be able to come back to the pool at Cantarana to cool off.

Above all, Sabine and Marco are so friendly and more than accommodating. They went above and beyond to make our stay enjoyable. We highly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for quiet, peaceful and classy accommodations and we can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be nice. We were in the ground floor rooms which were very convenient to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    18
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
20
116
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Loved this place. We stayed three nights in an upper floor room, which I would recommend as it added just a little more privacy. The room was spacious, immaculate, and nicely decorated. There was a small fridge and a safe. It would have been nice to have a coffee maker as we are early risers. The pool is lovely and so refreshing after a stroll along the beautiful beach in the hot sun.
The restaurant is very good. As others have said, what makes this place exceptional is the wonderful hospitality of the owners and staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

As many before have said in their reviews for this hotel it's not just the nice setting and sandy beach, it the hosts and people that make it one of the best! The couple that owns Hotel Cantarana are the nicest and most caring and really want your stay to be second to none. They gave great suggestion for day trips and area insights. My fiance' and enjoyed the great breakfasts and had a spectacular dinner from the on site restaurant and also went on a night turtle sighting adventure. The beach is a five min walk away and is great for longboard surfing and was never crowded and your never bothered by vendors selling local items. Thank You! Paul and Marcy

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

It is hard to add to what others have said but I will do my best! We stayed 4 nights at the Cantarana and could not be happier with our visit. This is the quiet, romantic Costa Rican vacation... not the party resort town version. After a few days of mountain hiking and New Years Eve in Liberia, we drove down (easy!) for some beachside relaxation. The Cantarana is cozy, clean, and romantic with a friendly staff you look forward to seeing each morning for the large and delicious breakfast. There are only 5 rooms here so it's more of boutique. The pool is lovely as are the grounds. The beach at Playa Grande (which is spectacular) is a short walk away and the hotel supplied beach towels if you need them. Rooms are very comfortable with mini-frige and large bathroom. They very much deserve their high ratings.

The inn is not in a town really... more of an expat residential area. Very quiet. Stay for more than just a night!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location for a very relaxing beach vacation. Very friendly staff and easy access to the beach or town. Restraunt is small but very good and a relaxing environment. Would highly recommend this hotel if you don't want a large noisy resort.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This was our first time to Costa Rica and we started off with 8 days at Cantarana. The spectacular sunset viewed from the beach upon our arrival set the scene for our whole trip. Sabine and Marko and their staff were wonderful and made our stay so relaxing and interesting. The tours they recommended were fabulous. The room was private, very comfortable and nicely kept.The property was immaculately kept and the breakfast was a delicious three course meal that kept us satiated till dinner. The beach was fun for surfing and body surfing and for long walks to adjoining beaches and I always enjoyed the hotel pool to cool off. My favorite activity was to go down to the beach at 6am for a long walk and look for turtle tracks and watch the really good surfers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntley, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

My husband and I began our first visit to Costa Rica with three nights at Hotel Cantarana and we were glad we did. We were in the good care of Sabine and Marko and their staff so we could relax around the pool or at the beach or go exploring and come back to a comfortable room and a nice meal. Playa Grande, like most Pacific beaches in the Guanacaste area, has great sunsets. One morning I got up for the sunrise and enjoyed that as well. I was able to see the nests dug in the sand where Leatherback Turtles, the largest sea turtles, laid their eggs in the night. We also went on a tour, recommended by Sabine, and saw a Black Sea Turtle actually laying her eggs on a beach. In summary, a nice place to stay and a good home base from which to explore the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cantarana, Owner at Hotel Cantarana, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
Thank you so much for your great review.
This review will help our future guests, to get a better idea of what to do in our area.
It's so worth it, to get up early (5:00 am) and hope to see little leather-back turtles hatching on our beautiful Playa Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Cantarana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Cantarana

Address: Palm Beach Estates | 50308 Cabo Velas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small Boutique Hotel is situated in the Northwest of Guanacaste on a peninsula bordering directly on Marino Las Baulas National Park. We are 100m from the almost deserted endless beach of Playa Grande. In our beautiful double rooms & tropical garden you will find tranquility & relaxation in soothing seclusion. Our atmospheric restaurant invites you to tasty culinary excursions for your eyes and taste. Our experienced team looks after you with great care, doing their very best to make your holiday a pleasantly unforgettable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Cantarana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cantarana Hotel Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Cantarana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.