We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing escape” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RipJack Inn to your Saves list
Hotel RipJack Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortgugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Corpus Christi, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing escape”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Rip Jack Inn has the friendliest staff who will do almost anything to make your stay more pleasurable. The restaurant is wonderful, and the hotel is just steps from the best surfing spot in the area. Gorgeous!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you, this review just made our day. We know that we can be very happy to have people working at the RipJack that love what they are doing, which reflects in the guest service that you experience. Gracias y pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    46
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
98
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cagnes sur mer
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The young woman of the staff that welcomed us was always ready to help us as much as she could. This very pretty hotel is located just a few meters from the beach. Great place to stay at. Nice place, nice staff again...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Merci beaucoup for your review. How awesome that our staff and service played a big part in making your stay with us so pleasant. We are grateful to have guests like you appreciate our passion for the RipJack Inn. Stay well and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just returned from a week staying in the Bungalow at the Ripjack. I will preface my comments by saying we have stayed for the last few years at very nice all-inclusive resorts, including the Westin at Playa Conchal in Costa Rica last year which my wife and I loved. We wanted to stay at something smaller this year and get a better feel for Costa Rica, and I chose the Ripjack based on comments and pictures on Tripadvisor. We definitely found what we were looking for!

The Bungalow was very nice and clean. It was nice being able to shut the doors on the bedroom in the morning to make coffee and not wake my wife. We are always concerned about getting a hard bed and uncomfortable pillow, but that was not an issue here. We slept great! The grounds were nice, and the location in Playa Grande was perfect. I love to run in the morning, and I was able to run on both roads and the beach once the tide was out, and it was great! There are a number of great bars and restaurants within a 5 minute walk, but honestly the restaurant here was absolutely fabulous and we didn't want to eat too much at the other places.

Tamarindo is about a 1.75 mile walk down the beach with a $1 water taxi ride to take you across the estuary. If we did it over, we would have rented bikes for the entire week and just rode them down the beach or the road to the estuary and took them into Tamarindo. The beach in front of the hotel is awesome, and a great beach to walk for miles on at low tide especially.

If we go back to Playa Grande, we will stay here again.

Room Tip: I'd highly recommend the Bungalow, but I didn't see the other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Scott, thank you for this absolutely wonderful review. We are flattered to hear that we can compete with big hotels like the Westin. It sounds like you had a great vacation and we are more than happy to have been part of it! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

For our last night we eat here. They have a large seleción of American type food. Large portions (and prices!). Service is good BUT two out of four who eat here got sick! One had to go for treatment and the other was out for more then 24 hours, both violently sick. Not sure what happens but we were not to happy about it....

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for your review. We feel sorry that you had such a bad experience in our restaurant. Since no one else complained about food poisoning or similar, we can exclude this as a reason. The dish you ordered was very popular that night and you were the only ones having a reaction, maybe an allergy? Our restaurant manager complimented your dinner and tried to help you as best as possible. Obviously this is not a great way to end your vacation and we regret seeing it is associated with the RipJack Inn now. We hope you are all well and you can forget about this experience and keep the positive memories of your vacation more present. Take care and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at RipJacks in Jan 2014. Coming from Tamarindo, which was crowded and super touristy (vendors walking the beaches, looks if knick knack shops), Playa Grande was perfectly removed, without being far away. Tamarindo is a 25 min drive, or you can walk to it along the beach. The staff have been very welcoming, giving us tips for day trips and turtle watching tours. There is a yoga studio on site. The restaurant serves delicious fresh and local food. It's a very popular surf spot - tonight we counted about 100 surfers out at dusk, and it was beautiful watching their silhouettes as the sun went down. Overall this has been a bit of heaven at the end of our trip, and I would highly recommend it. The only downside is that things (rest/bar) close down early, so if you are looking for a party scene, this isn't it.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review. We are more than happy to hear that you found a piece of heaven here in Playa Grande and that the RipJack Inn with its people and good food was part of it. Also, thank you for pointing out that Playa Grande is a very tranquil little surfer town. If you are looking for night life and night clubs, Tamarindo is the better option.

Pura Vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at the Ripjack Inn for two nights at the end of December 2013. Hotel service was very friendly and relaxed - mostly young staff. The owners had recently taken over the adjacent property and had given the whole place a facelift and a fresh coat of paint. It was very clean. Small fridge in the room which was nice to keep some cold drinks and snacks.

While you can't see the beach from the hotel, it is only a 30 second walk through the woods to get there. Playa Grande is a fantastic beach - great waves for surfing or boogie boarding, very flat and a great walking beach as it goes on for miles. Walking early in the morning you can see the tracks of the leatherback turtles that have come ashore in the night to lay eggs.

Onsite restaurant is fairly good. Nice selection and food is generally pretty good. We were there on New Year's eve and the staff was a little overwhelmed, but did everything they could to make us happy.

We will definitely come back here the next time we are in Costa Rica.

There

Room Tip: ask for a room away from the kitchen to ensure quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the RipJack Inn. We especially value your positive feedback about the new part of the hotel, as we put a lot of work, effort and passion into it to make it a worthy addition to the RipJack. We are proud to have a dynamic, enthusiastic and cheerful team of people working here and enjoying it. Happy employees lead to better service and therefore content guests. We are aware that there might be moments, when staff is overwhelmed. However, we also know that our employees will do their udmost to put a smile on your face, no matter what ;-) Thank you and pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just spent a wonderfully relaxing week at the RipJack. What s nice, friendly and unassuming place to while away the days. Everyone who works at this place could not be any more friendly or helpful. Located about 100 yards from beautiful Playa Grande beach and away from any large hotels or condo developments affords the RipJack a relaxing and peaceful atmosphere.
A popular surfer destination but also perfect for families and other non surfers.

Room Tip: The deluxe pool rooms are away form the main part f the inn and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi Magic165, thank you for this magical review. Nothing makes us happier than happy guests. We hope to see you again! Pura Vida
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortgugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RipJack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.