We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome margaritas & kind staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RipJack Inn to your Saves list
Hotel RipJack Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denver, Colorado
1 review
“Awesome margaritas & kind staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were in Playa Grande in late July-early August 2013. We did not stay at the Hotel RipJack, but we were frequent visitors. We found the hotel one afternoon during happy hour. The margaritas perfect. We also had dinner there one evening and they accommodated our group of 23 (11 kids and 12 adults). The food was also very, very good and fresh. Another visit to the hotel was for a yoga class, instructed by Annie. I was experiencing vertigo/motion sickness during the class and Annie was kind enough to call the local physician an arrange a visit with her. This was very helpful given my limited fluency in Spanish and limited knowledge of the local area. Our final meal in Playa Grande was at the RipJack for breakfast. It was delicious! I highly recommend the banana pancakes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you very much for your great review and ranking! It is nice to see visitors returning because they enjoy the atmosphere at the RipJack. We are happy to hear that we fulfilled or even exceeded your expectations at our restaurant when it comes to food, drinks and service. Every hotel and restaurant strives for excellence and it looks like we are on the right track ;-) Thank you for sharing your experiences with us and the tripadvisor community. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    54
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
51
108
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We arrived at the RipJack Inn in the late afternoon -- hot and tired from the drive from Monteverde. It was a pleasure to enter the cool, clean and nicely decorated room at RipJack. A little oasis. The location is excellent - short walk to the beach. The staff is friendly and well trained. Our only disappointment is that breakfast was not included. All of the other hotels/inns that we stayed at in Costa Rica provided breakfast. We like to get up, get a bite to eat and go explore. Meals at RipJack were more then what we wanted to pay. All in all, a clean and charming hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Mari, thank you for your time to write us a review. It is great to hear that you felt well taken care of when you arrived. This is one of our main goals and our staff naturally creates a welcoming atmosphere that makes you feel at home right away. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed that breakfast was not included. We try to make sure it is clearly communicated on all booking sites that breakfast is not included in the room rate. However, we are always more than willing to create a package deal for our guests that can include meals as well. Just let us know what you would like to have during your stay with us and we can tailor a special package for you. Again, we appreciate your kind words and send you muchos saludos de Playa Grande.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Me and 7 of my friends spent 5 nights at the RipJack Inn this July and we truly loved it. The atmosphere was super friendly and tranquil. We enjoyed morning Yoga sessions with owner Annie; boogie-boarding/ surfing, sun-bathing and admiring the gorgeous sunset at the beautiful Playa Grande-beach; and chilling-out by the hotel pool or in the many hammocks surrounding the area.
We ate most of our meals at the hotel and tested out a lot of wonderful dishes, but some days there seemed to be a shortage on different raw-materials, as the selection on the menu became smaller each day. However, all in all we had a wonderful stay, and I would love to come back to RipJack Inn when I return to Costa Rica one day!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Kine, thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you had a true Pura Vida experience here with us - that is what we strive for! It was fun having you here and we would like to thank you for being so loyal to our restaurant. We are sorry to hear that you experienced the changing variety in our menu as an inconvenience. As we are in low season, every hotel and restaurant tries to run as economically as possible. The fact that you still came to eat in our restaurant means a lot to us. Tusen takk & PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

What a wonderful experience! The staff at the Rip Jack Inn are phenomenal. My husband and I spent our 5th anniversary in Costa Rica, and couldn't have asked for a more relaxing and wonderful experience. We initially reserved the room for one night, and after we left, decided that we had to come back for more. We ended up staying for three nights in all, and were treated like family. The food was delicious, with a welcoming and friendly staff. The hotel is just a quick jaunt to the beach, by far the most incredible beach we went to in Costa Rica. I often felt I had my own private beach. Pura Vida!
Thanks for making us feel so special!

Room Tip: The Suites were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Paula, what a great surprise it was to see you guys again just a couple of hours after your check-out. Our guests mean a lot to us and we are happy to hear that you loved the service and atmosphere at the RipJack Inn. It is a pleasure having people like you stay with us and making our job so much fun. We thank you for your time to write a review for us and we appreciate your kind words. You make us feel special, too! PURA VIDA!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephens City, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Annie and staff, I cannot convey in words the wonderful "job" you and your staff accomplished for Bri's wedding it was beautiful. I will always remember with tears of joy the care and dedication that this family received at your Inn for our stay and don't believe I could have been spoiled more from you, Julia, Jeanette, Frank, Erick as well as Anna.
Can't rate the Fitness Room or your exercise program since I didn't participate but I will say the Fitness Room with the glass walls was beautiful for the wedding reception and the service was excellent. Thank you so much!

Room Tip: Be sure u know how much space you need to have in your room, i.e. suites to standard. Next time I a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your nice words. You were a wonderful wedding party and we are so happy to hear that you had a great time. A wedding should be unforgettable and we hope we made this happen. It is amazing to see guests returning to our little Inn, even more for such a special event as a wedding. Thank you for sharing this special occasion with us. Congratulations again from the entire team and we hope to see you all again, maybe for the birthday of the newlywed's first child? ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio National Park, Costa Rica
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is well located just a few steps from the beach thru a cute beach access pathway. The staff is very friendly and go beyond expectations to serve you in a very pleasant, genuine way. The food is great too, so you don't need to search for much, everything is right at your hotel.
If you need any extra activities the hosts Dave and Annie are always pleased to help you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Isabela, muchas gracias for your kind review. We are happy to hear that everything was satisfactory. We want to make our guests feel like they are staying with friends. Our staff combines work with fun and pura vida and we are glad that you liked it that way. PURA VIDA!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I hosted my first Deliciously Fit Adventure and Pilates retreat in Paradise at the RipJack. Am I ever happy I did... The staff is fabulously friendly, the food delicious and tasty and the yoga/pilates studio impeccable!! The air conditioned studio is great for mid day workouts, and Grande is such a great chilled out beach for some morning classes. A nice beach to run, and hike to the Playa Carbone. I would highly recommend anyone go for a relaxing escape or a good base for some amazing surfing!! Suzy Forbes with Deliciously Fit Retreats.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RipleyCostaRica, Manager at Hotel RipJack Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thanks, Suzy, for your review. We are proud to not only host yoga retreats, but to have had our very first pilates retreat with Deliciously Fit Retreats. We are always open for new adventures and ideas and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the RipJack. Everyone works with heart and soul and of course some pura vida. It is always fun with guests like you and we are happy to hear that you were satisfied with the service provided. We hope to see you soon again! Pura Vida!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 50m Al Sur de Oficna de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RipJack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.