We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel RipJack Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel RipJack Inn to your Saves list
Hotel RipJack Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortgugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
San Diego, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Great Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My adult family and I spent several days at the Ripjack Inn this past
Christmas. The staff were very laid back yet helped us whenever we asked (in particular when my wife got stung by a scorpion while we were out and about). The rooms were comfortable and well air-conditioned and the place is situated close to the beach which is across the street and less than a minute's walk through the brush.

The food was adequate but honestly nothing really special. We also felt it was a bit expensive, but the $2 happy hour beer made up for a lot! Also, the barman was very kind by supplying me with ice and glassware which I used in my room for our own private cocktail hour.

After dinner, my son and I would buzz down the road to the next town to pick up some Havana cigars which we merrily chuffed each night on the patio of our room, watching the crabs stroll around and the geckos get fatter on moths.

Ripjack is a great beach destination, but be ready to slooooooooow down because other than the beach, there ain't much else going on! I'm glad we went, but once is enough for me.

-- Peter

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    46
    11
    8
    6
See reviews for
49
98
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Beautiful hotel just across the street from the beach. The owners and staff are incredibly friendly and accommodating. The beach is renowned for its wonderful surfing and there are great surfing instructors available at a reasonable price to teach ya how. The rooms are nice and clean. The restaurant has wonderful selection and is very tasty. The drawbacks: it’s expensive! That should be expected tho in such a touristy area close to Tamarindo. Also, if you’re not surfing every day and don’t have the cash to spend on excursions (which the hotel can arrange for you) there isn’t a lot to do. Not that hanging by the beach is such a bad thing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Spent five days at the Ripjack Inn in Playa Grande for a surfing trip. Playa Grande is a really small town without alot going on. Dave and Annie run a great hotel that feels much more luxurious than the surroundings. Four culinary school trained shefs make dining in the upstairs restaurant a really tasty experience. They arranged pickup for us in Liberia, and had someone waiting for us even though we arrived after 11 pm. The rooms are clean and the beds super comfortable, the air conditioning powerful and the showers hot. The staff were all super friendly, and they let us keep a room well past checkout time so we could surf in the early afternoon, shower, clean up and have a cold beverage before heading back to Liberia. Excellent value and a standout place to stay, directly across the street from Playa Grande's long beach break, perfect for surfing.

Room Tip: The rooms and suites that are away from the central building are a little nicer, in my opinion, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I've been back to reality for a few days now and I find myself day dreaming about the amazing food, the private hammock on the patio of our room, the very comforting amenities and awesome vibe that we had at the Rip Jack Inn. There was nothing better than waking up in the morning to take one of Annie's amazing Yoga classes, have a wonderful breakfast, take a walk into town, or just relax at the beach. If you’re a surfer, this is the place to be. You'll meet many other surfers looking to get on waves when they're just right. If you're not a surfer like me you'll enjoy everything the Rip Jack has to offer. The pool area is awesome and did I mention the hammocks?! If you want to get out to check out the rest of the country, the Rip Jack offers a number of options and Nubia was amazing with helping us out. We'll be back again!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This hotel is amazing! On holiday we are supposed to slow down and unwind, right? We've seen pretty birds from the restaurant and monkeys nearby. Grounds are spotless, staff is friendly to one and all, restaurant has great food. Additionally the rooms are air conditioned to take a break from the heat, and it works well. Fresh smelling a/c rooms 50 meters from quality surf and a beautiful beach? Ripjack Inn is top notch!

Room Tip: Suites are great but all rooms are clean and comfortable. I have stayed I all of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The food was so delicious, I went back a second night for dinner. The English speaking staff was helpful, friendly, and patient.

The first night I had a spicy shrimp dish and the second night the Mahi mahi. I also treated myself to the flourless chocolate cake. I have had the pleasure of eating the best brownies on the planet from Zingerman's in Ann Arbor, Michigan and El Quetzal in Mindo, Ecuador. This cake makes it a three way tie for best chocolate dessert!

I would go back here in a heartbeat!!!

Room Tip: I didn't stay at the inn, just had dinner. The staff if friendly and helpful and would be willin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was our second time staying at the RipJack Inn, this time we stayed for a week over Christmas. The hotel is simply the best place in Playa Grande area, we had a very nice laid back relaxing time. The hotel just has a nice vibe to it, everyone is friendly, the owners are great, rooms are great and the food is great and you are right beside one of the nicest beaches in the world. We like the place so much we are planning to have our wedding here next year.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel RipJack Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel RipJack Inn

Address: 100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortgugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#3 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel RipJack Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RipJack Inn is a quaint 21 room owner operated hotel located only 75 yards from the ocean. Our rooms are each individually decorated and come equipped with air conditioning, ceiling fans, coffee makers, in room safes and outdoor patios. With the exception of our standard rooms each room also has cable TV and mini-fridge. Rooms can all accommodate a minimum of three or five guests depend the type of the room. RipJack inn offers a full service restaurant with some of the best food in the country with a heavy emphasis on fresh local seafood. During your stay take advantage of our on-site yoga, massage and surf lessons. RipJack Inn can also help you arrange all of your activiites including sailing, golfing, diving, sport fishin and much more.We are located just one hour from the Liberia International Airport (LIR) or 20 minutes from the Tamarindo Airport (domestic). Playa Grande is a laid back quiet beach town that is also part of the National Park created to protect the endangered Leatherback turtles. Nesting season is between October and February. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel RipJack Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ripjack Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel RipJack Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.