We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Drinks !love these people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Cave Bar & Grill

Seven Cave Bar & Grill
Palm Beach Estates, 200 meters West of Bula Bula, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica
+506 2653 0236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 13 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Description: Seven Cave Bar and Grill is located in our complex of a restaurant, bar, night club, and grocery store. Central to the Palm Beach Estates gated community at the south end of the town, we have everything you need to enjoy your stay.Friday nights with the BBQ and Cave Bar live music events, Seven provides free boat rides from the estuary tour marina. Reservations are recommended for the Friday and Sunday BBQ. Lunch and dinner served every day. With a varied menu of Cheeseburgers, Pasta, Pizza, Salads and Fresh Seafood, there is something for every palette and budget. Sourcing the menu from fresh caught fish and local vegetables and meats, our chef makes every dish healthy and delicious. Prices start at $6 for soups or sandwiches. $10 BBQ and large pizza on Sundays. The Friday live music BBQ from 6:00 to 9:00 is a local favorite with the Argentine Grill and wood grilled Surf and Turf. Then the party moves from the outdoor dining to the Seven Cave Bar at 9:00 pm for a late night of live bands, laser lights and dancing. No cover. Free boat rides from and back to Tamarind throughout the night. Meet the boat at the entrance to Tamarind at the Estuary Tour Marina. Ask any taxi for a ride or directions.You can make it a day of quiet beach time and lunch at the open air restaurant. From Tamarind it is a short boat ride (open 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, $1 per passenger) across the estuary and then a five minute walk along the estuary trail or on the secluded national park beach set aside for turtle nesting. It is a great day trip to get away from the hustle of Tamarind. Exit the beach at one of the public entrances at marker 29 or 25. We are located one block in at marker 27 between the only other palm beach restaurants.If you are in need of staples from the grocery, will*mart (named after Wilbert, the manager) is a mini super with mega super selection and prices. The same fresh fruit and vegetables at the restaurant are available here to cook at home. Our motto is “If we don’t have it, we can get, or you don’t need it.” For a unique gift or souvenir, pick up a t-shirt. Then you can tell your friends and the world. “I partied at Seven Cave Bar”I our effort to create an Eco Resort, we have changed over our lighting system to totally LED lights and installed solar panels by our resident solar and energy efficiency expert. With these improvements we have cut our power consumption in half. We are demonstrating that you can live responsibly and have fun at the same time.Weather you drive, walk, boat or surf and Seven Cave Bar, you will be rewarded with great food and entertainment provided by a friendly, bilingual staff.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Food & Drinks !love these people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The BBQ night was rockin wonderfully cooked flavorful meats and fantastic cocktails - we also thoroughly enjoyed a pizza luncheon - but really it is the staff of seven that make this a great slice of paradise- Wilbert, Luis ,Alejandro, Matt, Marcy & Carina are all helpful wonderful people - quick with a smile - warm and welcoming. I highly recommend giving seven and it's amazing cave bar for late times and fun times your time

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review. We like to treat all our guests as friends. You are welcome back here any time you visit Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    5
    2
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

The idiot that called it the cheeseburger in paradise is on drugs. We sent the first order back & the second was also overdone & not a cheeseburger. Before you recommend something, make sure your head is not up your butt.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Your waiter explained that you did not get a very good burger that day. He said that was when we were starting a new line cook who was not familiar with the style of burger we serve here. He thought we served skinny, monocle style burgers instead of the juicy 1/2 pond burgers we have been making, and still do. We are glad that you enjoyed the quality service and atmosphere. We invite you to come back and try our burger again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

When we were told about the great BBQ, music and cave bar by one of the staff, we were sold! it sounded so wonderful. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed. The meals were not as big as described, which was ok, but the waiter was not friendly and the food was just ok. I liked the outside seating. The music was great, actually the best part of the experience. The cave bar was suppose to open at 9pm and we waited until 10pm and the band still had not started, many people were going in and leaving, which is what we eventually did. The cave bar was a cool little place, but felt it was a missed opportunity as people continued to leave since it was empty and had to wait too long for the music. We would probably not go back and in fact stayed in Playa Grande for a good length of time and did not return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for calling attention to the problem we had with the band that night. They have since arrived on time every Friday and I assure you they play starting at 9:00 pm. I, too, was disappointed in their lack of professionalism. We lost many potential customers when they decided to wait an hour to play that night. We pride ourselves in our professionalism and do not take it well when others jeopardize that. We feel our total experience is of high value overall as most of our customers have expressed. We would hope you would consider visiting again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
1 review
“Chillin' and grillin'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Overall chill place just walking distance from the surf camp. Super friendly owners and staff. Great music, hip atmosphere, and a super fun hangout Costa Rica style for an out of towner like me. Hit up the grocery store during the day and find out what nights they'll have music playing. Come by for sure!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We are glad you appreciated our overall experience. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

From the staff to every meal I ate there, everything was fantastic. I look forward to visiting my friends there again next year!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the overall experience. We are excited that you consider us your friends. Come back and visit any time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Cave Bar & Grill also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Seven Cave Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Cave Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.