We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just be prepared to wait” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Cave Bar & Grill

Seven Cave Bar & Grill
Palm Beach Estates, 200 meters West of Bula Bula, Playa Grande 50308, Costa Rica
+506 2635 0236
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 13 restaurants in Playa Grande
Price range: $6 - $25
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood, Bar, Pizza & Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Seven Cave Bar and Grill is located in our complex of a restaurant, bar, night club, and grocery store. Central to the Palm Beach Estates gated community at the south end of the town, we have everything you need to enjoy your stay.Friday nights with the BBQ and Cave Bar live music events, Seven provides free boat rides from the estuary tour marina. Reservations are recommended for the Friday and Sunday BBQ. Lunch and dinner served every day. With a varied menu of Cheeseburgers, Pasta, Pizza, Salads and Fresh Seafood, there is something for every palette and budget. Sourcing the menu from fresh caught fish and local vegetables and meats, our chef makes every dish healthy and delicious. Prices start at $6 for soups or sandwiches. $10 BBQ and large pizza on Sundays. The Friday live music BBQ from 6:00 to 9:00 is a local favorite with the Argentine Grill and wood grilled Surf and Turf. Then the party moves from the outdoor dining to the Seven Cave Bar at 9:00 pm for a late night of live bands, laser lights and dancing. No cover. Free boat rides from and back to Tamarind throughout the night. Meet the boat at the entrance to Tamarind at the Estuary Tour Marina. Ask any taxi for a ride or directions.You can make it a day of quiet beach time and lunch at the open air restaurant. From Tamarind it is a short boat ride (open 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, $1 per passenger) across the estuary and then a five minute walk along the estuary trail or on the secluded national park beach set aside for turtle nesting. It is a great day trip to get away from the hustle of Tamarind. Exit the beach at one of the public entrances at marker 29 or 25. We are located one block in at marker 27 between the only other palm beach restaurants.If you are in need of staples from the grocery, will*mart (named after Wilbert, the manager) is a mini super with mega super selection and prices. The same fresh fruit and vegetables at the restaurant are available here to cook at home. Our motto is “If we don’t have it, we can get, or you don’t need it.” For a unique gift or souvenir, pick up a t-shirt. Then you can tell your friends and the world. “I partied at Seven Cave Bar”I our effort to create an Eco Resort, we have changed over our lighting system to totally LED lights and installed solar panels by our resident solar and energy efficiency expert. With these improvements we have cut our power consumption in half. We are demonstrating that you can live responsibly and have fun at the same time.Weather you drive, walk, boat or surf and Seven Cave Bar, you will be rewarded with great food and entertainment provided by a friendly, bilingual staff.
Ocala, Florida
1 review
“Just be prepared to wait”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We were invited to come to the BBQ after taking a boat tour up the estuary. I told Wilbert, my dad and I were trying to keep dinner cheap tonight. He said, well you two come, buy drinks at the bar, and it'll be about $10 each to have some BBQ and live music. That wasn't the case at all, we would later find out.

Jazz and blues live sounded good. We took a boat taxi from Tamarindo. Place was pretty busy. Its small to begin with so there was maybe 30 people tops. We were seated by Wilbert very quickly. He personally grabbed a table and two chairs for us. No waiter came, no menus. We grabbed them from the bar. Waited patiently and they were busy so we figured, no rush.

We waited more. No waiter. No one acknowledged we were there or we'll be right with you. There was 2, maybe 3 waiters. Luckily there was WiFi. I pulled up TripAdvisor and read the long wait another party experienced. We had other plans that evening so we figured let's just head out.

Worst part was we were stuck. There was no boat taxi to get back. We waited and stopped @ The Great Waltinis for beers. We ate there....service was great, prompt and delicious. Very reasonable, friendly, helpful staff. We waited for the boat taxi for about 45 mins. Boat taxi showed up, he said we had to wait more. He must've went and talked with Wilbert because when he came back he said there's a problem. He said because we left he's not paying for our ride back. We paid the boat taxi 5,000 colones ($10) to get a ride back. Disaster averted....kinda.

I'm sure the food is good but we didn't have hours to waste and the experience we had was similar to another review so we didn't want to take the chance. I would not recommend this place unless maybe you planned on spending most your night here. Also, nothing on the menu was $10. Food is a little more pricey in Tamarindo to be fair...we just felt slightly mislead and at the mercy of the boat taxi.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Widvas,
We are disappointed you did not stay to enjoy our BBQ, drinks and live music. I remember when you called ahead of time and told me you were on a budget. And, yes, I said you could have a discounted BBQ plate which we sell for $10 on Sunday without the boat and live music. You can understand that we must charge the extra couple of bucks for the BBQ on Friday because we pay for the free boat ride you took from Tamarindo and the two bands that play here Friday nights without a cover charge.
If you wanted to eat at Bula Bula from the start, I understand they can reserve boat service for $5 per person each way, at least in the daytime. Perhaps that would have been better for you since that is where you ended up.
As for the need to meet a schedule for other plans in Tamarindo that night, we would suggest you stay for the bands and dance at 9:00 in the Cave Bar. Since we had over 100 patrons that did on the night you were here, and at least 40 came from Tamarindo on the boat, we think we offer the finest entertainment value in the Playa Grande, Tamarindo, Flamingo area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    15
    1
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
McKinney, Texas
1 review
“Very disappointed, given previous reviews”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

We went in for the Friday night BBQ and live music. There were nine of us, and we were seated promptly upon arrival at around 6:30pm. However, this was the only thing prompt for the evening. I'm all for taking things slow and easy, but it was 20+ minutes before anyone stopped by to ask what we would like to drink. At least we had plenty of time to review the menu while waiting, so we ordered drinks and food at the same time. Admitted we should have left around the time someone finally took our order, but we decided to chalk this up to a relaxed evening and growing number of patrons (can't give too much leniency in this area since Seven only has about 10 tables, seating up to 60 people).

After taking the order then returning with drinks, this was the last contact we had with the waiter until dinner was delivered 1 1/2 hour later. Nobody ever checked with us as to refills or anything else. Again, we should have walked after the next half hour, but we were keeping ourselves entertained, and the duo on stage playing reggae was pretty good.

A waiter finally did bring us some guacamole after an hour after taking our order, but failed to acknowledge our request for more drinks. I don't think we were charged for the guac, which was exceptional.

When dinner was finally served, I can attest that the portions were large and delicious. We ordered the chicken, beef steak, ribs, and dorado. The fish was cold, and we never got the steak. The ribs were a bit thin, but tasty. The 1/2 chicken is probably the best item on the menu, and everyone enjoyed it. However, neither the rice nor potatoes included with the meal were served. They did show up about an hour later, with the bill.

We were not the only ones suffering from slow service. Everyone was impacted, with the exception of one table. After 45 minutes of waiting for our meal we flagged down one of the waiters to ask how much longer it would be, and why a table seated 40 minutes after us had already received their meals. He said that they came in earlier in the day and ordered in advance.

When we finished dining, it took another 1/2 hour to get someone's attention in order to get a bill. This was an adventure, since we had to tell the waiter what we had. With a bill, and finally potatoes and rice, we paid and departed... over 2 1/2 hours after entering.

Though the food was pretty good (the parts received before the bill), given the overall experience I cannot recommend dining at Seven.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dean,
Thank you for your honest review. We use any reviews as constructive criticism. We have experienced growing pains recently with the success of the Friday night BBQ and Cave Bar Night Club event. I am glad you appreciated the live music and the quality and portions of the food. We are requesting reservations for seating now and that seems to help with the service issues. You were unfortunately seated that night at the end of a rush of 60 people who were seated between 6:00 and 6:15. Because of those service issues, in addition to requesting reservations to spread out the rush, we have added wait and kitchen staff to speed up the delivery of our freshly prepared meals. Being from Texas, you know the popularity of good BBQ and how lines form at the finest establishments like Franklins or Lockharts. When you come back to Playa Grande we request you try us again with reservations like the folks at the table that got served in a timely manner. We apologize that you did not get the beef tenderloin as that is a favorite of our guests. It will be the same great BBQ, good times, and live music.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Alamos, New Mexico
2 reviews
“If hungry and want to eat good food on top of it, go to Seven....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

In playa Grande is a small place called Seven Cave Bar and grill.. Every Sunday, Wednesday and Friday (live music included on Fridays) is the most amazing BBQ grill amd all other days similarly amazing regural menu. You will never be disappointed. They give very genereous portions. Every time we take some back for lunch for the next day. Fresh fish and shrimp dishes with planty of side weggies. Great service, fast and very friendly. The manager also runs the Wil Mart store next door. If you get groceries there and they are heavy they even will carry them to your house/ hotel. I had to force a tip for this service. They were glad to do it for free.
Coming back to the restaurant..... It is the best food and service around and very reasonably priced.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Ania,
Thank you for your kind review. We do offer lunch and dinner every day. Now we have BBQ on Fridays with the live music and free boat rides to and from Tamarindo. The other BBQ grill night is Sunday with $10 plates and as you said, you may need to take some home if you are not a big eater. Thank you for buying your groceries at Wilmart. We hope to have anything you need for a comfortable stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverthorne, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice break from Tamarindo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Located at about the 26 marker on the playa grande beach. ( there are public exits at marker 28 and 25 ) It is a nice walk down the beach after wading across the estuary at low tide or you can take on of the boat ferries for $1. There are crocs in the estuary, but I have yet to see one. Remember the ferry shuttle ends at 5:00 pm. Lunch or breakfast is casual in the outdoor thatch covered restaurant. The Scallywags/Wilmart/Seven complex is located on a cross street between Canterana and Bula Bula restaurants in the Palm Beach Estates neighborhood of Playa Grande. They are a bit more pricey but also well worth the hike. There is also a small grocery. (WIL*MART named after Wilbert, the manager)
Dinner is great and on Fridays and Sundays there is fresh smoked BBQ. I prefer the baby beef which is very tender. Casados and cheeseburgers are reasonable at $7 - $8. And a large pizza is $10 all day. Good salads for under $6.
The big event is Friday night when they offer a free boat shuttle from the tour boat marina past Witches Rock Surf Camp. The boat takes you to the landing close to Seven. Then you can watch the sunset on a sparsely used beach, have dinner and drinks in the Rancho with live music outside. At 9:00 pm the Cave Bar opens. It is a wild creation of faux stone surroundings with a light show of lasers and LED lighting. They have a live band every night with no cover charge when I was there. The boat then takes you back to Tamarindo when you are done rockin'. That event is one not to be missed if you are in Tamarindo for the week.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Playa Grande and you meals here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza for a Friday night pizza craving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Open air seating under a big palenque (Costa Rican grass hut) with live music. Pizza was delicious. We left happy and full.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilbertArroyo, General Manager at Seven Cave Bar & Grill, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
CRmission,
Great to get a review from a fellow Costa Rican. Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay in Playa Grande and you pizza here. It seems to be a favorite. Visit us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Cave Bar & Grill also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Seven Cave Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Cave Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.