We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Star

Taco Star
On beach at Playa Grande, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

A must do for anyone going to Playa Grande. Cold drinks and tacos right in the beach. Who could ask for anything more.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    12
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Unique taco stand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Okay tacos, good banana bread. Cool experience, but very hot and dirty. Lady making food sweaty and the food prep area didn't look very sanitary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value, perfect for a quick lunch break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

It was quite hot when we were in PG and so we never felt like eating a huge lunch - so Taco Star was a perfect option for us. The location is great, right along the beach, and it has a very relaxed atmosphere and good service.

I won't say the tacos are the best we had ever eaten, but for $3 it was the perfect sized lunch and tasted great. The banana bread was also very good, and the snow cones (we had coconut one day, root beer the next) were a perfect refreshment too!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good drop in place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed in Playa Grande during Christmas 2013 and walked from Tamarindo to Taco Star which is about halfway down Playa Grande beach. The little open air taco stand was busy with people three deep at the counter. The two workers were hustling to take orders, cook and chat with the customers. The tacos were good ($2 each) and the fresh fruit bowl was cut up right there in front of us. Grab some banana bread before they sell out. We had a beer and enjoyed a very simple and easy meal on the beach. While waiting, a fruit and vegetable truck showed up and we were able to buy some avocados, papayas and bananas for pretty cheap. Bring your favorite sticker and slap it on the taco stand while enjoying this place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swartz Creek, Michigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Personality, location, and wonderful service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

We only had a few drinks while at the Taco star. Everyone raved about the tacos. I just wasn't real hungry. The young woman who worked there was super. Answered all of our questions and was extremely helpful.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Star also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Taco Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.