We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“YUM!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taco Star

Taco Star
On beach at Playa Grande, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 15 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Newport, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“YUM!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Go at least once a day!! Fresh ingredients and a great spot right on the beach to sit and wait while your taco is grilled!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    20
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“My favorite spot in Playa Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

A five minute walk up the beach from where I was staying, I'm so glad my friends discovered this place and told me to go when i was on my own one day. The beer was cold, the tacos were fresh and delicious, and I spent a lovely afternoon chatting with Brittney about the state of the world.

Taco Star is right behind the hotel Las Tortugas on Playa Grande. Be sure to stop by if you're in the area - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan Capistrano, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Local treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Ice cold beer, good tacos and snow cones for the kiddos....perfection! Right on the beach in Playa Grande about a 5 minute walk from the house we rented. The tacos are big, very enjoyable and cheap (I mean that in a good way). We met Brittany and her husband and even played with their son in the pool at Las Tortugas. Very sweet family! A very off the beaten path place that caters to locals and adventurous travelers. Toss $10 in your pocket, go for a nice walk on the beach and treat yourself to some good grub and a few ice cold beers!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Satellite Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Taco Star muy bueno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We were staying in PG for a month and wanted some tacos. Glad we tried this place sooner than later b/c the tacos are muy bueno! Hit the spot right before or after a surf session. Cold beer, drinks, gatorade, veggie only tacos or tacos con carne.

Add a little hot sauce, perfect!
Highly recommend hits the spot.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best, fresh tacos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Taco Star doesn't have a big selection of tacos, but they are OUT OF THIS WORLD GOOD! We had one for lunch every day. The fruit salad is freshly chopped in front of you and delicious. The lady running the stand is really lovely and friendly and would ask what fruit I preferred before making the salad. The cherry on the cake is the bill, as it's all so cheap! Don't miss a Tacostar taco!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Star also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Taco Star? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taco Star, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.