We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No reason why this is not the #1 restaurant in Playa Grande !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the RipJack

Upstairs at the RipJack
100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Upstairs @ the RipJack)
506.2.653.0480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our open air restaurant is located on the second floor and offers a unique treetop dining experience. RipJack also offers private chefing, full catering service and specializes in weddings and other special events. We offer a highly unique menu of fresh local seafood as well as tasty treats from the land. We are family friendly and offer special menus for kids twelve and under.Our restaaurant is closed on Tuesdays. There are several dining options within walking distance.To Go Meals - designed for guests on the go or those with vacation rentals and no time to cook!
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No reason why this is not the #1 restaurant in Playa Grande !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We went to 4 different restaurants while staying in Playa Grande and this is without any doubts the best meals we had during our vacations.

There is a genuine chef and it shows: all the meals we had were fantastic. Ceviche, baja fish tacos, tuna tower, the ribs, sesame/teriyaki tuna, and so on and so forth. Everything is at the very least good, when not great or fantastic ! Even the breakfast granola was amazing.

Staff: smiling, super welcoming, still very professional. May take more time to be served sometimes in the morning but hey, just relax, have a coffee and enjoy your vacations. Pura vida - remember. :)

And thank you Erick for the fantastic service, the meals' recommendations and for being so professional while always smiling. 5-star service my friend.

And seriously, for those saying it's expensive: dinner's entrees are all under 20$, lunch approx. 10-15$. And the food is amazing. Wherever you come from, i'm pretty sure you don't eat that well for this price. Quit complaining, it's definitely worth it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had a really excellent meal here the other night. Food was fresh and imaginative. The Tuna Tower and Ceviche apps, were excellent, and my Mahi Mahi plate was very good as well. Only issue I had, was the waiter tried to hustle me on a tip at the end. 10% was added on the bill, and when asked to verify, he said it was a tax, not tip. Two days later, we went to breakfast, (also quite good) and I asked another waiter about the 10%. He confirmed that it was indeed a tip that goes to the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We are a family of five (all adults) and went in for lunch. Everyone ordered different items but all were impressed! The atmosphere is very casual but incredibly relaxed and friendly. Staff was super nice! They did offer a separate breakfast and dinner menu which looked great but we can't vouch for specifically.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberia, Costa Rica
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cool and comfy !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

A cool breeze moves about the open air bar making it comfortable even on a hot afternoon. The food is very well prepared and the presentation is first class. Happy hour was a pleasant surprise and the service was pleasant and attentive.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great People and Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

For those who are staying around Playa Grande. Rip Jack is a perfect destination to visit. They have a great bar upstairs with some of the friendliest staff to cater. The food quality is what you would find at a fine dining restaurant but with the laid back lifestyle. Only thing I would recommend to carry is the insect repellent. The mosquitoes can give a bite.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the RipJack also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Upstairs at the RipJack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs at the RipJack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.