We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Upstairs at the RipJack

Upstairs at the RipJack
100m al Sur de Hotel Las Tortugas, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Upstairs @ the RipJack)
506.2.653.0480
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Playa Grande
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Seafood, Costa Rican, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Our open air restaurant is located on the second floor and offers a unique treetop dining experience. RipJack also offers private chefing, full catering service and specializes in weddings and other special events. We offer a highly unique menu of fresh local seafood as well as tasty treats from the land. We are family friendly and offer special menus for kids twelve and under.Our restaaurant is closed on Tuesdays. There are several dining options within walking distance.To Go Meals - designed for guests on the go or those with vacation rentals and no time to cook!
Kelowna, Canada
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Decent place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Ate here a few times because there was not much selection in the Playa Grande area. It was great! Only down side of it, it's pretty expensive. Especially dinner. Good service, friendly staff

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    33
    14
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Pura Vida at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We had amazing food, good service, and enjoyed a very relaxed ambiance at RipJack. Everything was fresh and wonderfully prepared, the food was light and the selection was excellent and varied. Also, free wi-fi was a very nice touch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“The best place to eat in Playa Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

If you are in the Playa Grande area then the restaurant at the Rip Jack is the place to eat whether it is breakfast, lunch or dinner. We were staying at the Rip Jack for a week so we ate their quite often among other places but always loved their food, never got a single bad plate.

Breakfast - I really liked the Huevos Ranchos (google it) and of course the Tipco breakfast but if you want something lighter the bagel with cream cheese was really good too and they also have fruit plates.

Dinner - Too many things to list, I had a lot of the fish plates and they were excellent. The menu will often change from night to night. If you aren't into fish the chicken dishes were good too.

Sushi - On a few nights of the week they also have sushi, a special sushi chef comes in for the night and he has his own special area for preparation. The sushi I had at the Rip Jack was also very good, I really enjoyed it.

The service is sometimes hit or miss but overall pretty good. The prices are maybe slightly higher than other restaurants but overall not too bad, the quality of the food is higher than other places too so I don't mind paying a little more.

The atmosphere in the restaurant is nice, it's laid back and relaxed, you feel like you are at home, everyone is very friendly there. If you go there for happy hour a couple times they'll start to remember your drinks :)

General Note - I notice on some of the other reviews here that people complain about the tip being automatically added, I just want to say this is pretty much standard for all restaurants in Costa Rica, no matter which restaurant you go to you will see the same thing. Also complaints about service, in general service in the Tamarindo/Playa Grande is more relaxed/laid back compared to North American standards, try to remember you are on vacation and relax, not everything needs to be go-go-go.

Overall the restaurant at the Rip Jack is excellent and we'll definitely be back because we love the area and love the hotel. The Rip Jack is truly is a hidden gem in Costa Rica.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundas, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Apres Surf & Yoga!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

The Upstairs at The RipJack is the ultimate place to hang out after a day of fun in the sun! Great staff, great food and great drinks! It's even better for breakfast!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“All five of us had great meals...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Food was great as were the drinks. We all ordered either seafood or seafood salads and every plate was pronounced excellent. A bit pricey, even for Costa Rica. We averaged about $35 a person between us, with one appetizer, a few drinks (beer mostly), and no dessert. Ambiance was good and our neighbors did yoga there and were happy.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upstairs at the RipJack also viewed

Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Upstairs at the RipJack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upstairs at the RipJack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.