We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very relaxing at a nice beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Manglar

Save Saved
You added Hotel El Manglar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel El Manglar
Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
Bern, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“very relaxing at a nice beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

i liked it very much. we had a great room with kitchen, big bed, clean big shower and a nice terrace with a enjoying hammock. the stuff was so friendly and helpful. the location is very quiet, no street only the ocean. the ocean is very close and very nice (playa grande) and good for surfing. i would definitely go back to this hotel if i ever be back in playa grande.

Room Tip: i would recomment the one in the groud floor with kitchen and hammock. but it is also a bit more exp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    51
    13
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
9
16
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

When we first arrived at El Manglar we thought we had made the biggest mistake of our trip.
There were very noisy guests in the rooms below us who used the pool well into the night. We attempted to cook food once the sun had set but ended up throwing it away as the kitchen is outside and we were swarmed by bugs! Then the next morning we found that all our food had been eaten that we had left in the communal fridge (we don't know by what but the bins had been emptied all over the floor too, so we are guessing some sort of animal).

As you can imagine we were ready to ask for a refund and find somewhere else but we decided to stick it out over the weekend to see if things improved during the week, which they did. The main thing was that our noisy neighbors left!

The service upon arrival was a little non-existent and we ended up asking a lot of questions.
The service improved when what we assume was the owner or manger arrived on the Monday and he instantly asked if we needed anything and couldn't do enough to help out.

The rooms were extremely spacious; we had a room that sleeps four, with a double bed and two singles. There is no air con in the upper floor rooms but there were two large fans that we had in the bedroom at night. Even with this I ended up taking a cold shower in the middle of the nights every night. I didn't expect air con to be truthfully honest but it might be something to consider in all the rooms, this area of Costa Rica is extremely hot.
In general the rooms were clean but when you looked closer, there were areas that hadn't been touched in years.
The room we were in had an upstairs area where the beds were, in this area the ceilings are very high and were full of cobwebs. We also found that there was dust and cobwebs behind the curtains. Everything else was fine, it just felt like the areas you didn’t see all the time didn’t get cleaned that often.
We also found that the mesh on all the windows was broken and as such not serving its purpose of keeping as much bugs out as possible.

The shower/toilet area was the same, it was clean but if you looked closely there were areas in that hadn't been touched in a while. The slats on the window in the shower were also broken so you can hear everything going on outside and from the outside you can hear everything going on inside.

As stated above we had some problems with the kitchen area but after the first night we made sure we cooked before the sun went down and kept our food in the mini fridge that are in the rooms. As its an outside kitchen it never felt too clean and we felt the need to clean everything that little bit more than we did at other places we stayed at.

The communal area around the pool was very relaxed and very quiet after the weekend; there is also free wifi in this area. We didn't use the pool but it was clean every morning.
There are two dogs that we assume belong to El Manglar and although we were very weary of them at first they are extremely friendly. They bark at people that go past the front gate but this didn't bother us throughout the day and we didn't hear them at night.

It is a two minuet walk to the beach from the front gate through a private access route. The whole area was extremely quiet while we were there and we almost had the beach to our self.
There is a local convenience store that stocks the basics and a few local bars and sodas.

After the first night we were shocked that by the end of our stay we didn't want to leave. We would recommend staying in this area over the main area of Tamarindo any day. The surf was perfect even for beginners and the beach was an excellent place to relax.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surflifeenyoy, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello,

Thank you so much that you took your time to write us a review, we will take care of everything you mention!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I stayed for 4 nights in this hostel and I love it. The atmosphere in the hostel is super friendly and familiar, I totally was feeling like part of it. The hostel is manage by 2 costarican brothers that will show you the Costa Rica lifestyle and will make sure that you enjoy Playa Grande and its surroundings, they were super friendly and helpful. The hostel is located basically in front of the beach, you just have to walk 1 minute in a private beach access. They have a nice swimming pool with a slack line, the common area is nice, relax and clean. I stayed in one of the standard rooms with fans and the room was clean and comfortable to sleep. They also have villas that look nice and are fully equipped with AC and kitchen if you like your own space to cook. The hostel is located in a national park that make you feel surround by nature. I was learning how to surf and the waves in front of the hostel were perfect for beginners. I had so much fun, but also you can walk 15 min to get to the main break of Playa Grande.
The sunsets in Playa Grande are awesome you cannot miss one if you are here. If you are looking for fun, nature, relaxing, and forget about the rest of the world, come to this paradise!
Totally recommend this place, i will come back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surflifeenyoy, General Manager at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hello,

We are very happy that you enjoy your stayed with us! Is very important for us that our guest have a nice time in our place! Thank you for your time to put us a review!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is just wonderful!!! The staff couldn't be any nicer, helping us out on all our needs and questions. The refreshing pool after a 1 min walk to the beach (which has a surfing point right there with perfect waves) was perfect. We even spoke to a family staying there and had the same reaction as us, thanks for the great trip!! Definitely going back, pura vida

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surflifeenyoy, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Hello Christopher!

Greetings from Mi Casa Hostel & Hotel El Manglar Playa Grande!!!

We really appreciate that you took your time to write us a review! Is very important for us that our guest have nice experience and enjoy every second of there stay in our place!! I was a pleasure to help you in anything we could and to have you stayed here with your friends!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel at Playa Grande is truly a slice of heaven. Less than a minute walk from the beach, each night I drifted off to the sound of the waves. Javier and Frederico are warm and welcoming hosts, whose presence inevitably draws you in to la Pura Vida. Haste has no place here. I can't wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in non-air-conditioned room on second floor for $40 a night. Room had 2 storeys with double bed upstairs & bathroom downstairs. Cute design but I don't recommend staying in one of these rooms during the hotter months cos it gets uncomfortably hot upstairs. Each night my husband had to have a cold shower in the middle of the night before he could get back to sleep (be careful going up & down the stairs at night). You will sleep much better if you get a room with air conditioning or a room with more ventilation. Our friends were staying in a hotel close to the north end of the beach, where the surf is better, in a room with air-con for $50 a night so there are better deals to be found in Playa Grande. There were a few hairs in the toilet & a few hairs on our bed when we arrived, which wasn't a big deal but did make the place feel less clean. Otherwise the hotel grounds were well-maintained, the pool looked nice, Javier was very friendly, Federico was always helpful when we asked him questions, & we really appreciated that they stored our bags all day after we checked out while we were on a boat trip. Board rental is $15 a day here. Bigger range of boards & cheaper rental at Frijoles Loco Surf Shop.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierDM, General Manager at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Amanda thanks for writing this lines to us, your review is really helpful.

We are very sorry that our standard room of $40 dollars per night with fans, didn't fulfill your expectations. Sorry about the hairs in toilet and beds we will double chek with our house keeper, but thanks for letting us know otherwise it will be imposible to know about this, and we really care about cleanness. Costa Rica is a very warm country specially in Guanacaste, we also offer rooms with AC fully equipped for $70 per night.

Really appreciate your review so we can be better every day and hope to help you in the future with accommodation in our beautiful country.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saint-joseph-de-beauce
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I spend 4 nights to this hotel with my 2 boys (3 and 5 years old) and we had really good time. It is clean, the pool is amazing and we are very close the amazing Playa Grande! Javier and Frederico gave a surf lesson to my sons and were friendly with us during our stay. They help us with bookings and gave us informations about the area. I recommand this place to everyone! Great Costa rican run place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surflifeenyoy, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Bonjour!!

We are really happy that you enjoy your stayed with us! we really love to have around with your to little boys! Hopefully see you soon again!

Best Regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Manglar

Address: Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Manglar is proudly managed by three costarican brothers and sister, that will make sure you have an enjoyable experience during your vacations. The hotel is suited with all you need to experience the beach life, enjoy nature and the beauty of life.We look forward to making your stay as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We’ll be delighted to share and show you all the beauty of our coast, enjoy surfing, our country and make sure that our favorite phrase is accomplished……all our friends always come back… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel El Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Manglar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.