We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another day in paradise!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel El Manglar

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel El Manglar to your Saves list
Hotel El Manglar
Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Playa Grande B&B and Inns
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Costa Rica
1 review
“Just another day in paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My friends and me had an awesome time in El Manglar! We were cordially and well received and spent some funny evenings with the guys of the hotel - Javier and Michael.

The hotel is located in the Parque Nacional Marino Las Baulas, surrounded by beautiful nature and only a few steps from the quite beach. To the nearby restaurant and supermarket it's a 3 minutes walk.
To get to Tamarindo you can enjoy a walk on the beach to the taxi boat station (it's cheaper, faster and nicer than going in car!) that run until 4 pm.

So, if you're looking for a nice, quite and recommendable hotel that offers clean rooms, a chill out area with a pool, hammocks, a pool bar and a common kitchen and only a 1 minute walk from the beach, book your stay at Hotel El Manglar!
And don't forget to take surf lessons with the world's best surf teacher Javier. It's a must!

Thank you so much for your hospitality guys, we definitely gonna come back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    16
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
24
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Playa Grande is fresh air compared to nearby Tamarindo. The hostel itself is very nice, steps from the beach, with a pool, a nice kitchen and other amanities and the dorm rooms are pretty and comfy. however, I emailed them 3 times before going in order to ask info about the national park and the turtles tours and the guy replied to me the day before I got there, when I had already figure it out on my own. They did not provide info of any type (like distances, safety for solo travelers with no transportation, numbers of cabs, etc.). It was also hard to understand who was working there and who was just a friend hanging out. The hostel was deserted in good surfing hours so it's better that you don't need anything around 5pm. I guess that surfers are laid-back and friendly but only among themselves.. Not recommended at all, there are many other options in Playa Grande that are probably more worth it. Also, the Palm Beach Estate is at the far end of the beach which makes it a bit more difficult to reach and do other things, especially for travelers without their own wheels.
Not recommended at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JavierDM, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write these lines.

We are very sorry to learn this is how you feel about our resort however trust us we do take these comments very seriously and we are not just offering excuses. We review every one of these comments and investigate what could have happen so it does not happen again.
We apologize if we were not proactive in telling more about your needs of national parks, tours to see turtles and distances between places, however we have information at our reception on these important data and a list of basic services if required. Near our Hotel el Manglar is located Las Baulas National Marine Park Costa Rica, 8 km from the community of Matapalo and 20 km from Tamarindo road, the park's namesake leatherback turtles (baulas) are the largest marine reptiles.
Thank you very much again and we sincerely hope you will give us the opportunity to serve again as you deserve.

Javier De Mezerville
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great hostel. Staff are very helpful and friendly, good rates on rooms and also surf rentals and lessons. All of my friends learning to surf said Javi and Freddy got them standing up their first time out. Love it here, will be back soon!

Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federico d, Gerente at Hotel El Manglar, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing us for holidays! It was a pleasure to make your stay unique and memorable!

Best regards,

Federico de Mezerville
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

It was a great place to surf, to chill and just to have a good time. Pool, Slackline (over the pool), Basketball and Tabletennis were also available. Everything was clean and the owners were very friendly. The beach is really close, not crowded and amazing :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

Hotel el Manglar truly is a gem right in the heart of paradise! Just a few steps away from one of the world's most beautiful beaches, the sunsets alone will keep you coming back year after year. The surf is also fantastic; the waves can be small enough for beginners, and just a stone's throw away at the main break, big enough if you really want to shred some gnar!

The hotel itself is immaculately maintained, the rooms are comfortable, clean, and spacious, and Javi and Fed (the managers) will do whatever it takes to make your stay at Playa Grande an unforgettable experience. I can't recommend this place enough. What are you waiting for? Go experience the little slice of paradise that Hotel el Manglar has to offer!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

El Manglar hotel is manage by the four De Mezerville's brothers owners of Mi Casa Hostel( Playa Grande/ San Jose and Cocles-Puerto Viejo Limon) Is located in the national park Marino las Baulas! Great place to surf, be around nature and very close to Tamarindo for night life!

They have friendly staff and super nice spot come and enjoy the "pura vida"

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The owners are awesome as well as the people who stay here, only great souls at El Manglar, and let's not forget, very close to the beach, outstanding waves and great infrastructure, my friend you gotta come to this place...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel El Manglar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel El Manglar

Address: Palm Beach Estates, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel El Manglar is proudly managed by three costarican brothers and sister, that will make sure you have an enjoyable experience during your vacations. The hotel is suited with all you need to experience the beach life, enjoy nature and the beauty of life.We look forward to making your stay as unique, as comfortable and as memorable as possible. We’ll be delighted to share and show you all the beauty of our coast, enjoy surfing, our country and make sure that our favorite phrase is accomplished……all our friends always come back… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel El Manglar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel El Manglar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.