We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Beachouse, Playa Grande Park Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Park Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Grande Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main road into Playa Grande estate | 250 to Northeast from MINAE, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Surf Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Playa Grande, Costa Rica
1 review
“The Beachouse, Playa Grande Park Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have been staying at the Beachouse, which is owned and operated by the Park Hotel, for most of February. It is actually four cabinas around a pool in a gated garden. It is a beautiful facility. There is a gardener, night watchman, and daily maid service. The cabinas have a small kitchen, with a bar style fridge, and gas range top. A gas bbq is available along with a covered eating area beside it for larger groups. The cabinas include a decent sized main bedroom with air-conditioning, and a king sized bed, and a second sleeping area in a loft. A full breakfast is included at the hotel, which is a short walk. The beachouse is about a block from the beach of Playa Grande. The Park Hotel has an extremely good restaurant for those nights nobody feels like cooking. Their sushi is excellent. The staff at the hotel are wonderful, helpful, friendly, and accommodating. It is a quiet oasis away from the bustle of other touristy beach strips.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vwest11, Public Relations Manager at Playa Grande Park Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Bob,

Thank you so much for your comments about your stay. We are delighted to hear that your experience with us was great and we are looking forward to hosting you during your next escape from busy life in Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I really enjoy our time spent in this hotel.
HIGHLY RECOMMENDED! The room is comfortable and clean. Personal is very friendly, helpfully and welcoming. Hopefully we'll come back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vwest11, Public Relations Manager at Playa Grande Park Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are looking forward to welcoming you again soon in beautiful Playa Grande!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights and really got to know Alex. A friend of his recently purchased the place from the previous owners and Alex moved here from the Ukraine to help manage it. Alex is very personable and helped make recommendations about things to do in the area. We enjoyed smoothies with him in the morning, and challenging him to games of pool in the evening. The place has a very laid back feel and we were able to make ourselves at home. Alex let us take over the kitchen to prepare salsa, guac, smoothies when ever we needed to.

I loved that it was just a short walk to the beach, surf shops or restaurants. There were also bikes available that allowed us to get a bit further out from the hotel. We did not rent a car while we were here which worked out fine. When we did need to go further out, hiring a driver was never a problem.

The kids also thought it was great that there were 2 iguanas and 2 howler monkeys that lived in the tree that hung over the pool.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vwest11, Public Relations Manager at Playa Grande Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Amanda,

We would like to thank you for taking your time and writing a review for our hotel. We strive to provide the best hospitality and service to all of our guests and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking forward to hosting you and your family again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our couple of nights here. It is a smaller hotel with ~10 rooms and a nice pool area, complete with hammock and lounge chairs. It is a few hundred yards from the beach and just down the road from Frijoles Locos surf shop. The new owner, Sacha (from Ukraine), was very helpful and responsive. He has plans to redevelop the restaurant/bar area, though says it will take time as there is plenty of red tape to cut through (Playa Grande is a marine park). In the meantime, the restaurant at the hotel is not operating, so Sacha offered us some local eating suggestions. He also organized an estuary tour with a local guide - well worth it as we saw numerous birds, monkeys and crocodiles. The room was plenty large and had a queen and single - the bathroom a nice size and the hot water consistent. The hotel seemed very clean and we had no problems with bugs. In the mornings, Roberto’s fresh fruit smoothies and cappuccinos were a nice start to the day.
Given the price of other hotels in the vicinity, we found this place to be excellent value and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Playa Grande is a quiet town so there is little traffic to worry about. We paid a little extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vwest11, Public Relations Manager at Playa Grande Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your experience in our hotel with us. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay and got to meet our new owner. The restaurant is under construction and should be completed shortly, so during your next visit you will be able to enjoy delicious food without having to go anywhere else. We are looking forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOSTON MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel is clean and 3 min walk to beach
You can hear waves from the front of Hotel. Alex was very helpful during our one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you're looking for am scape from your typical cookie cutter, vanilla, souless resourt, this is it! Tamara and Andrew are the best hosts who truly make you feel like you're a special person staying at a very special place. This is definitely away from the hustle and bustle of civilization and a breath of fresh air. Simply wall down to a most beautiful pristine beach and surf away! Enjoy a quiet time by the cozy pool and read a book! Have wonderful conversations with like-minded guests! Truly a special place and we couldn't have had a better time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Playa Grande Surf Hotel is beautiful. You will love everything about the place - the rooms are very comfortable, nice artwork, cheery colors. The owners, Andrew and Tamara are wonderful. I don't think you'll find nicer people - Spanish speaking Americans who certainly know their way around. They're very helpful and friendly. I didn't get a chance to try their open-air sushi restaurant as I was there during off-season, but it looks great. The pool is beautiful, as is the huge old tree beside the pool. If you surf, this is THE place to be. If you don't surf, it's still THE place to be! I also missed the leatherback turtles nesting, but if you're there at the right time, it's a very short walk down to the beach to see this monumental event. I actually traveled in September and October, 2010, but this form doesn't have that option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view, but I was perfectly happy with my ground-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Park Hotel

Address: Main road into Playa Grande estate | 250 to Northeast from MINAE, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Surf Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Grande Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life and experience true Pura Vida! Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica is a charming Spanish style hotel like no others in the heart of Playa Grande. Just minutes away from the beach, discover the comfort and service of our hotel nestled in the beauty of a pristine natural park to create the memory of a lifetime. When Pura Vida is in the air it is all about you. Our beautiful Playa Grande hotel is the place to relax and unwind. Pick one out of four room types that will cater to your every need for an unforgettable vacation. Start your day right with the complimentary hot breakfast, enjoy the waves and miles of untouched beach, relax by the pool in the courtyard surrounded by tropical plants, and even take a guided turtle nesting tour. Try the creations of our world-class chef, go surfing, jetskiing, diving, fishing, horseback riding - you name it! We want you to have the best time of your life and Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica provides everything to make that happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.