We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Playa Grande Park Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Playa Grande Park Hotel to your Saves list
Playa Grande Park Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Main road into Playa Grande estate | 250 to Northeast from MINAE, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Surf Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
BOSTON MA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Close to beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Hotel is clean and 3 min walk to beach
You can hear waves from the front of Hotel. Alex was very helpful during our one night stay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    9
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

If you're looking for am scape from your typical cookie cutter, vanilla, souless resourt, this is it! Tamara and Andrew are the best hosts who truly make you feel like you're a special person staying at a very special place. This is definitely away from the hustle and bustle of civilization and a breath of fresh air. Simply wall down to a most beautiful pristine beach and surf away! Enjoy a quiet time by the cozy pool and read a book! Have wonderful conversations with like-minded guests! Truly a special place and we couldn't have had a better time!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Playa Grande Surf Hotel is beautiful. You will love everything about the place - the rooms are very comfortable, nice artwork, cheery colors. The owners, Andrew and Tamara are wonderful. I don't think you'll find nicer people - Spanish speaking Americans who certainly know their way around. They're very helpful and friendly. I didn't get a chance to try their open-air sushi restaurant as I was there during off-season, but it looks great. The pool is beautiful, as is the huge old tree beside the pool. If you surf, this is THE place to be. If you don't surf, it's still THE place to be! I also missed the leatherback turtles nesting, but if you're there at the right time, it's a very short walk down to the beach to see this monumental event. I actually traveled in September and October, 2010, but this form doesn't have that option.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have a better view, but I was perfectly happy with my ground-level room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
libertyville
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2011

Our third time in Costa Rica, second time with Andrew and Tamara, they became our friends by now. They surfed with my son whenever surf was good (twice a day). Wonderful place... clean, safe and great food...
You will feel like home, but howler monkeys, iguanas and peace. Please let Tamara know that you are interested in an massage, it was an unbelivable...
We will go back many times...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvan Lake, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2011

I have experienced this hotel twice and will many, many more times. First off you will have a hard time finding better hosts than Andrew and Tamara who will make your stay in Playa Grande one of the bests you could have. Their wealth of local knowledge and down to earth good vibes make it feel like you're staying at your second home with your best friends, wether its them pointing you in the right direction for some dinner outside of the hotel or what time the surf will get good they are always keen to help. The surf down the street is always fun and only a couple minute walk just down the street. The hotel itself is beautiful and comfortable, it's like a little jungle escape with a pool oasis in the middle. The rooms I've stayed in have always been amazingly comfortable, and waking up to a howler monkey once and awhile reminds you of the natural beauty just steps out the door.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

The rooms are clean and reasonable, the vibe can be engaging if you choose or solitary. Our host were accommodating and warm people. This is not club med and that is why we loved it. Quiet and dark at night with the exception of the fascinating roar of the howler monkeys. Remarkable surf and romantic poolside sushi nights comes to mind. a short walk to the beach and a welcoming warm pool awaits in the center of this two story sanctuary. catching the season when the sea turtles lay eggs on the eco protected beach is a plus. This also has enforced limited development along the beach making this a gem in our over developed world.We cant wait to get back

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2010

One of the best hotels I have ever stayed in.

Gated with a pool and sushi restaurant. Does it get better?!

When we stayed there there were monkeys in the trees over the hotel, it was amazing. The hotel is spotless and the owners are amazing, just incredible. So nice and hospitable. The owner even took time to walk us down to the beach, suggested other spots to see and taught me how to surf!! It was the best vacation ever.

All the rooms had flat screen tvs, great beds, a/c and the bathrooms are amazing. Very private and very new. I loved everything about it. Not to mention I felt super safe being that the hotel is gated.

I will be back to visit for sure!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Playa Grande Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Grande Park Hotel

Address: Main road into Playa Grande estate | 250 to Northeast from MINAE, Playa Grande, Costa Rica (Formerly Playa Grande Surf Hotel)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Grande Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape from your busy life and experience true Pura Vida! Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica is a charming Spanish style hotel like no others in the heart of Playa Grande. Just minutes away from the beach, discover the comfort and service of our hotel nestled in the beauty of a pristine natural park to create the memory of a lifetime. When Pura Vida is in the air it is all about you. Our beautiful Playa Grande hotel is the place to relax and unwind. Pick one out of four room types that will cater to your every need for an unforgettable vacation. Start your day right with the complimentary hot breakfast, enjoy the waves and miles of untouched beach, relax by the pool in the courtyard surrounded by tropical plants, and even take a guided turtle nesting tour. Try the creations of our world-class chef, go surfing, jetskiing, diving, fishing, horseback riding - you name it! We want you to have the best time of your life and Playa Grande Park Hotel in Guanacaste Costa Rica provides everything to make that happen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Playa Grande Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Playa Grande Park Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.