We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel and beautiful people!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marejada Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Marejada Hotel to your Saves list
La Marejada Hotel
200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Playa Grande
Orlando, Florida
1 review
“Amazing hotel and beautiful people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I just returned from a too short stay at this wonderful little hotel and it was amazing! Me my wife and a friend were traveling in Costa Rica for a wedding so we stopped by Playa Grande to surf, chill, and enjoy the beautiful beach and we found a gem of a hotel with heart warming people running the hotel. But that was just the beginning, the rooms are clean, well decorated and the beds and sheets were really comfortable. They have a nice pool to cool off in nd the property is well shaded with beautiful palms. If you are looking for a special place to stay with friends, family, or a special someone tis is the place. The local people are also nice and friendly and are willing to help out in any way. After a few days you feel like you are family.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    28
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
67
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

I stayed with a couple of friends, one had been here the previous year and recommended it. First of all, I would much rather stay in Playa Grande than in Tamarindo. It is very beautiful and tranquil and the beaches are very nice. Now I am not knocking The town, The food and nightlife was very good and I felt quite safe there. Lots of charming shops, restaurants, and watering holes, and very friendly staff. But for a place to spend the night, Playa Grande was the place to go. The Marejada is a small boutique hotel with very nice rooms, a small bar/restaurant with excellent food and service, and Gail and Carli were very nice and helpful. The atmosphere was very relaxing and the only vendor I saw was a truck from one of the local bakeries which stopped by with some yummy treats. I would recommend having a rental car for this particular trip as the ride to town takes about twenty minutes, and some of the other beaches are a bit of a drive, as is Tamarindo itself. The off season rates are very low and combined with the lack of crowds makes this a fine choice for a getaway.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I spent 6 days and 7 nights in Playa Grande with a friend, and all of it was spent at La Marejada (The Swell). The two owners, Gail and Carli, were not only extremely helpful in assisting us with travel accomadations, but also were the two sweetest human beings you will ever meet! The rooms were cleaned everyday, the staff at the Marbar resteraunt were excellent as was the food (I reccomend the hummus), and it's literally a 3 minute walk to the gorgeous, low key, serene, and inspiring beach. There are other hotels in the area in which I checked out, La Marejada was the best!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BURLINGTON
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

If you want a little piece of heaven this is the place for you. The hotel is small, peaceful at night and steps from the ocean.

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in good hands - Carli and Gail (owners) are always willing to assist and provide the best "where to" places to go. The staff at Marbar are friendly - the cuisine is delicious and the mohito's are to die for.

You won't be disappointed - the stay is worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

We stayed at La Marejada our first two nights in Costa Rica. It was so nice to be welcomed, meeet the owners, take a nap in a clean and serene room, and have a fresh, delicious lunch at the Mar Bar. Carli the owner was super sweet and helpful. She told us about things to do in the area, how the exchange rate worked, and even let us use her laptop since we didn't bring ours. The breakfast that came with our room rate was fresh, delicious, local fare that I could eat every day. The food at the Mar Bar was probably the best we had while staying at Playa Grande. Carli went out of her way to make sure we had a good time and got everything we needed. Thanks Carli!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2010

perfect place. beautiful place, great beds, great people running it. cleaned regularly. nice restaurant/bar downstairs. 2 min walk to beach. safe parking out front. 1 min walk to another great restaurant down the block. very nice pool outside of the room. very cool pair of birds flying around the pool area.

this place was money. the staff was very helpful with any questions at any time. they always stopped what they were doing and cam over and chatted with us about anything we wanted to know about anything.

very quiet too.

maid service is every other day, which was fine by us, we would rather have the privacy.

perfect.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2010

My husband and I stayed at La Marejada Hotel last week and we haven't stopped raving about it. The hotel is simple, yet they have everything you need. The rooms are clean, the food is outstanding and very affordable. They are very close to the beach and the two women that own it are wonderful. They helped us plan our days and activities and were just so genuine and nice. Playa Grande is amazing, the beach is beautiful and the people in the area are really interesting and nice. The nightly rate is very affordable too which doesn't hurt. Stay there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
#4 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your La Marejada Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marejada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.