We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Marejada Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Grande
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Marejada Hotel
200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 hotels in Playa Grande
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Stayed here three night and it was the best three nights we had so far in Costa Rica! Rooms were really cute and very clean! Staff were really friendly and very helpful. The hotel was right near the beach and if you need to hire a surf board Justin next door had lots of boards for a good rate. The food at the bar out the front was really good too! If your going to playa grande stay here you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
53
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The La Marejada is a great hotel!! Gail and Carli and everyone else who works there is so nice and friendly!
The hotel has a beautiful pool that is very refreshing, the rooms are clean, beds are comfy. Nice atmosphere, food is great at the marbar. We love it there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilaran, Costa Rica
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed one night at La Marejada. We are residents of the country, and appreciate the welcome touches found at La Marejada. The beds are comfortable, not always the case in Costa Rica. The rooms are a good size, and outfitted with ceiling fans, air conditioning and a big screened window. The bathrooms are small yet very functional. Everything is spic and span clean.

The hotel is a 2-story building with a total of 8 rooms, so very intimate and pleasant. We spoke with Gail, one of the owners, who readily provided a lot of excellent advice on getting around and enjoying the area. There is a small restaurant on the premises with delicious filling breakfasts and killer ginger beer. Also Gail did not hesitate to recommend some of the other eateries nearby.

If you are here to see the turtles, the national park office is an easy 2-block walk down the road. The beach is a 2-minute walk away through some trees. We were told the hotel provides small boogie boards for playing on the waves.

We will return to La Marejada.

Room Tip: We liked the upstairs room, as it gave us a view down to the pool and limited the number of folks wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great place, nice and relaxed atmosphere.
Good foods and drinks in La Marejada bar. The staff is really nice.
Simple, comfortable and clean rooms. And a small and nice pool.
Perfect location.
Best surfing spot on the beach right upfront.
The owners, Carli and Gail, will make sure you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scamander, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We had 2 nights in this wonderful hotel - after being recommended by a friend.
Gail and Carly were fantastic hosts and helped us organise local transport - a must do is the boat trip across the estuary (about $2 each way) to Tamarindo - we even saw a couple of crocodiles/alligators.
A beautiful setting with an awesome restuarant - the home made ginger beer was scrumptious!
Would definitely recommend this to others

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The La Marejada Hotel was a great spot for my 10 day vacation. I decided not to rent a car and just relax in the Playa Grande area and taking a cab every now and then when needed.

The owners Gail and Carli were very proficient on the phone and over email making reservations and arranging a cab from the Liberia airport to the hotel($70) They arranged a shuttle on the way back for $20 a person, but they made a few stops on the way. I would take the shuttle next time as it was still efficient. The hotel was a perfect spot to walk to the beach. You could walk about 30mins down the beach to Tamarindo and take a water taxi for $1 across the estuary for a little more night life. Rooms were cleaned everyday, had warm water and wifi but had to step out on the balcony to get a clear connection. No TV, but didn't miss it at all! The only thing I would consider next time in a hotel is having a kitchen and picking some things up at the local grocery store if I'm staying in one place more than 5 nights. Gail was a pleasure to talk with and she had a lot of activities that was recommended and would arrange transportation. We ended up doing a catamaran sunset sail/snorkel for about $80 and was worth every penny! (See pics) Gail also let me borrow a surf board a few times at no cost. Another highlight of my vacation was SUP surfing in Tamarindo with Marco and Lydia, Costa Rica SUP Adventures.(Check out their reviews on here!)

The Marbar restaurant downstairs has an awesome staff and made you feel at home. They seemed to be the only consistent place open for drinks and food in that nook of area which was nice. Food was very good and had some good specialty cocktails! Prices were comparable to U.S.(I live close to D.C.)

Overall, I would definitely recommend a stay here when coming through Playa Grande or living there permanently. I thought about it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

We made a good choice staying here. We felt welcome and the small hotel was nicely kept. The reviews below mine are spot on.

Room Tip: Upstairs is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Marejada Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Marejada Hotel

Address: 200m Sur de Minae, Playa Grande, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Grande
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Playa Grande
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa Grande
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Marejada Hotel, located in the quiet town Playa Grande is a hotel for surfers and beach goers alike. The hotel is located a quick walking distance to the white sand beach of Playa Grande. Our on site restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner focusing on fresh, homemade food made with the best local ingredients available. The property itself is shaded with mature palms, has an inviting pool to cool off in, as well as hammocks for relaxing outside in the tropical ambiance. The rooms are simple, clean, and stylish, with A/C, hot water, and comfortable beds and linens. The surrounding national park ensures an experience for nature lovers and gives a tropical sleepy charm to the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Marejada Playa Grande

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Marejada Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Marejada Hotel to your Saves list