We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Sabanero Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added El Sabanero Beach Hotel to your Saves list
El Sabanero Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   150m up the hill from BCR | Flamingo beach, Playa Flamingo 1111, Costa Rica (Formerly Estela de Fuego)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Colorado
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2009

Lovely place to stay. Showing its age, but still delightful. Our room had a sliding door to a patio right at the pool's edge. A great view of the bay. Amazing sunset. Food was good. Staff were very nice and accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    40
    12
    12
    13
See reviews for
41
47
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

Estela de Fuego is absolutely one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. The hotel has an amazing view! It has the best view in Playa Flamingo hands down. You can see the sunset over the open Pacific when you look in one direction and distant twinkling lights over the harbour when you look in the other direction. The hotel also has very exclusive beach access. We had the beach all to ourselves! The best part about this hotel was the service. The staff was so kind and genuine. They were always on the ball whether it was making the perfect mango margarhita or having our room decorated with tropical flowers. The restaurant at this hotel need not be underrrated! The food was amazing! Kudos to the chef! The freshest fish I've ever eaten in my life, seasoned to perfection. Hotel Estela de Fuego is truly a treasure. I can't wait to return and see all the friendly faces and gorgeous scenery again.

Catrina
Sarasota, FL

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2008

My stay was wonderful. The staff is very nice. The rooms are small but clean. The rates are very good. The view is the best!! I will always stay at Estela when I'm in Costa Rica.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2007

We too stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort, but they were at full capacity for the last day of our trip so we moved here for 1 night. The Estela de Fuego has beautiful views from the lobby and lounge area. The pool and small rooms leave something to be desired, but it is a decent alternative. The rooms are slightly motel like, but sheets were clean. The owner and staff are all lovely and very friendly.
We were told to check out the private beach which in down a trail which you must cross a small sand and rock section to get to, however, when we tried it was high tide and you can not cross! If you attempt to do this - make sure you don't get stuck. It can get very dangerous with high tide!! We did not try to restaurant here, but went to Golden Shrimp and Playamar restaurants which were both excellent! The vibe at this hotel is very different from other beach resorts...quiet and remote like you have the place to yourself. The view from the terrace is SO BEAUTIFUL here (see their website)!!!

  • Liked — Beautiful view
  • Disliked — Below average rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2007

We just returned from our stay at Hotel Estela -- we had a wonderful time. We were supposed to stay at another hotel but they overbooked (due to Easter Weekend) and transferred us to Hotel Estela. It was a beautiful hotel. The rooms were average but the service and the view made up for it. The hotel was not crowded so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. The service was great - everyone was so nice. I would only give one word of warning - the walk down to the beach is very steep and a bit unsafe. You might want to walk around the other way if possible. Oh - and request the room on the bottom floor if possible. You can swim up to your room.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palo alto, ca
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2006

The Estela rocks!
We were staying at Hotel Flamingo, right on the beach, but were disssapointed with the boxy rooms, crowds and overall decor. We found the Estela by just walking up the hill and would highly recommend this hotel, as its got the best view of any hotel by the beach in the area, incredibly accommodating staff, and wonderful bar/food. The owner (Kim) runs the place like clockwork, knows the local scene, and was a joy to speak with during our stay.
This place is a jem. Make time to walk down the backside of the property to your own private little cove and walk out to the end of the peninsula for even more privacy. Flamingo beach is a shhort walk down the hill, and Potero beach is the other direction. We really liked the central location, sunset views, privacy, and really nice staff. Kim, we can't wait to be back in June and look foward to seeing you then... thanks for a wonderful vacation!
-eddie

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sabanero Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sabanero Beach Hotel

Address: 150m up the hill from BCR | Flamingo beach, Playa Flamingo 1111, Costa Rica (Formerly Estela de Fuego)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — El Sabanero Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Sabanero Beach Hotel is an Ocean Front Hotel in exclusive Playa Flamingo. In addition to sporting its own privately accessed beach El Sabanero Beach Hotel is close to Conchal Beach, and Penca Beach and only a short distance from Tamarindo Beach and Hermosa Bay Beach.El Sabanero Beach Hotel also features multiple dining venues, the best of indoor and outdoor dining, ample meeting and banquet space, multiple bars including a swim up bar and spacious Ocean Front terraces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your El Sabanero Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estela De Fuego Hotel Playa Flamingo
El Sabanero Beach Hotel Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sabanero Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.