We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inexpensive, great location, fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Playa Flamingo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariner Inn
Save
You added Mariner Inn to your Saves list
Fronte de la marina, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Inexpensive, great location, fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

This little hotel is located in Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica. It is a short walk to the white sand beach... one of the nicest beaches in Costa Rica. The rooms are very inexpensive from $29 a night. The owner is Larry from PA and his wife Lynn from the Philippines. The restaurant/bar has great food and is a hub of activity. There is a small pool outside of the bar. This isn't a luxury hotel but it is a great value and lots of fun. Great for travelers on a budget. The owners host parties for holidays. Don't be surprised if the owners stop by your table with a free shot or a beer. During the world cup the owner bought a round for the house every time Costa Rica scored! http://www.marinerinn.com/

Room Tip: Just ask for the best room possible. The Captain's Room is the best. I like the top floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

This is a simple, nice place to eat. Prices are good, service is friendly. No beach view, but still a nice environment. Good place to eat if you are studying Spanish at nearby CPI. My son had a nice hot dog.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

This maybe a low budget hotel but the treatment we got from the owner Lyn and her staff was better than any high end resort. The rooms are clean and quiet and meet your basic needs. Lyn joined us for dinner and was a wealth of information when it came to planning our Costa Rica adventures. So glad we started our trip off here!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We spent three nights here in october 2013. All was well, although damper than expected. A good choice for a low budget trip, especially if you get the "no tax" treatment from the owner. At the restaurant you can get excellent food and a chance to talk to the expats living in the area gathering here for lunch or dinner.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms are less damp, but more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Came here a couple times during our stay. Food is good, service is good and they are reasonably priced. They have multiple flat screens so we caught the Super Bowl here and had a good time. I recommend stopping here for a beer and food anytime. Very laid back and good vibe.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

So you are going to the beach, exactly what do you need to be comfortable and close to the sand? We think Mariner Inn suits the bill just fine. Rooms are really from $29 plus tax and up. All rooms have hot water, AC, TV, FREE Internet, and they are clean. (Trust me on the clean part, my wife is real picky!) We stayed in a single queen room ($39 with taxes), the mattress was firm and comfortable just the way l like it. The AC worked great, the mini-frig worked properly and the hot water was HOT! The hotel buys a satellite cable package that allowed us to catch the Sunday night football games as well. Now for the beach part, you can walk. You are 2 blocks away directly down the street to a truly white sand beach with no hills to climb. The high end hotel and spa directly on the corner which you will pass as your feet hit the sand, is about $200 a night, important I guess if you really need a movie theater and spa. We were going to the beach!. Mariner Inn also has a swimming pool and patio located off the restaurant/bar with a beautiful view of the bay and all the boats that moor there. Say hello to Lin, she runs the place and is everything but the chef. (See our restaurant review). Service was above par and the overall feel of the hotel, restaurant, patio and grounds is very comfortable. They only have 10 rooms. Parking is available right next to the pool.

Room Tip: No real tips, the beer is cold! Ask for Lin, she runs the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This budget hotel lived up to expectations when it came to the room but surpassed expectations when it came to customer service.

It is a basic budget hotel. Rooms a bit run down but very clean. We had a 2 bedroom suite with a private balcony complete with table, chairs and a hammock. Perfect for a family of 4.

What set this hotel apart is the manager, Lyn. Prior to our arrival she promptly responded to several emails seeking a variety of information. One thing I had asked her was about mass times and location of a Catholic church. When we arrived, before even checking in, she told us the mass time and offered to drive us there and back herself! Lyn and all of the staff were very kind, helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mariner Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner Inn

Address: Fronte de la marina, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Mariner Hotel Playa Flamingo
Mariner Inn Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.