We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of coco loco

coco loco
beachfront | South End of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
+506 2654 6242
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A casual beach restaurant offering gourmet local cuisine at very reasonable prices. Feet in the sand or covered area. Gorgeous sunset view or watch the waves any time of day. Open for lunch and dinner. Visa and Master card accepted.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great place on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Coco loco is just a few tables on the beach, but the food was excellent as was the staff. It was so nice to stop on our beach walk & have a cocktail & bite to eat. At night, it was great to eat right on the beach.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    164
    82
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

If you are looking for a perfect setting to dig your feet in the sand and watch the sunset while enjoying great cocktails and fresh, authentic Costa Rican food then Coco Loco is for you. We loved it so much that we vistited twice. Each time our meal was tasty, the service friendly, and the sunset beautiful. My kids asked why would bother going anywhere else to eat on our vacation. The only one negative was the mosquitos, so bring your bug spray. The torches that the staff lit really helped, but didn't rid of us of being bitten completely. I think I had the best cocktail of our entire eight day trip there. It's called the Coco Loca and served in a coconut. Need I say more? I loved the yellow fin tuna tacos and my son like the pork ribs so much he ordered them twice.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great Drinks and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Laid-back, on the beach. Great place to watch the sunset. No bugs. Not really a restaurant - seemed like tables on the beach with a cooking area on the other side of the road. I finally felt like I was in Costa Rica when we ate here. The kids loved it too since they weren't in a stuffy restaurant.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice dining on the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good food and service, but wear bug spray. The ceviche is outstanding. Good drinks too...
The night we were there there was a bonfire which was particularly cool.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burlington, ny
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

On the beach, under the stars, great food. We started with a mixed crevich the split the tuna taco. The tacos were great seared tuna wasabi sauce and some vegetables to dark to see but tasty. Highly recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed coco loco also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to coco loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage coco loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.