We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of coco loco

coco loco
beachfront | South End of Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
+506 2654 6242
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A casual beach restaurant offering gourmet local cuisine at very reasonable prices. Feet in the sand or covered area. Gorgeous sunset view or watch the waves any time of day. Open for lunch and dinner. Visa and Master card accepted.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

They were getting ready to close for the season when we were there. They did a pretty decent job, but the place was looking a little run down and they were serving a limited menu, so I'd like to try it out again during high-season. It's really nice to have a place like this right on the beach.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    169
    84
    15
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnee, Kansas
1 review
“Great food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We recently stayed on Flamingo Beach, Costa Rica and ate at this restaurant at least 7 times during the week. The owner is friendly, the food is good and the smoothies are great. Our family of 5 enjoyed every meal here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Nice place to have a refreshment. The food is not bad. If you want to catch up on the sports good place to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food on the beach - reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I ate here twice over the course of a week. The food is good. The cocktails and juice drinks are great! It is right on the beach with some tables in the sand. The staff is kind and welcoming. The first time it took me something like half an hour to get my check, but they were busy and I think you can't care about that sort of thing too much when you're on vacation in Costa Rica.

I would definitely eat here again. It is one of the only restaurants (maybe there are two or three total) right on this beach, so I had figured their prices would be through the roof. By local standards, I think it is certainly not cheap. But it is not bad. We had an appetizer, four cocktails, and two main dishes for around USD 42.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

This place happily surprised me. The food was quite good, and it isnt expensive either. They just have a few tables right on the beach. The service was prompt and friendly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed coco loco also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
Brasilito, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Been to coco loco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage coco loco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.