We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tubla

Tubla
Route 180 | Arenas Commercial Center, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
(506) 2654-4085
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
New Jersey
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great New Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is a new restaurant since our visit to Costa Rica last year. Close to Playa Flamingo, near the bank, and has off road parking. Nice atmosphere for being in a strip mall. Open air or outside dining available. We split a Seasonal Green Salad which was plenty for two. I had a pizza which was great. My husband had spaghetti and clams, which had more seafood in it than just clams, also very good. Very friendly service by Alexander. Will go again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    79
    18
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cleveland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Very nice family fair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

A nice place to take the family. Thin crust pizza at a decent price. Their lobster pasta however is $38, not cheap even by Costa Rican standards. This has quick become a favorite of local Ticos.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“We went 3 times in one week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've spent about 9 months in Italy and this is the first time I have found authentic, Italian pizza, the way I remember is in Italy! I knew straight away the owners were Italian just from the amazing taste. Soooooo delicious - one of the best pizzas I've ever had! Not only did we go 3 times the first week we discovered Tubla, but we also ordered extra so we could have it for breakfast or lunch the next day. With a margarita pizza only costing $9, spreading it over 2 meals gave us a cheap and delicious way to save money. You can get a huge garden salad for $6 too that is really great and fresh! Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Playa Flamingo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I was completely blown away by this place. It's located in a strip mall type of facility and might be easily overlooked. It was recommend to me by the Dive shop so we gave it a try. We all got our own flat bread pizzas. Delicious! They do tell you that the pizzas are individual serving sized. None of us finished our "individual" pizzas. You can easily split one and not feel deprived.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarindo, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in Costa Rica!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Tubla is our absolute favorite restaurant to go to. The food is amazing and the service is just as good. We used to love this restaurant when they were running their former restaurant -- Septimo Cielo. When we found out they opened Tubla after leaving Septimo Cielo we couldn't resist coming. We have been so happy with their delicious Italian food every time we go. I personally always love the pasta and pizza. I recently also became a huge fan of a great chicken dish they have. My boyfriend loves their New York steak. You are going to find great food here across the board. I also always love the great salads they make. Sometimes in Costa Rica I find it hard to get a really good salad (and good dressing*). Here you get both -- and a great portion. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The atmosphere is great. We like to frequent this restaurant more than any other restaurant in the area. I know if you go you will not be disappointed! Thanks Tubla for always giving us the best dining experience!!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubla also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Been to Tubla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tubla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.