We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian Food, Awesome Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tubla

Tubla
Route 180 | Arenas Commercial Center, Playa Flamingo, Costa Rica
(506) 2654-4085
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $18
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Italian Food, Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We just returned from Costa Rica staying at the Flamingo Beach Resort. We had a need for pasta and our hotel recommended Tubla. You can make a reservation or just show up but we used the shuttle service the restaurant provides, what a deal, they pick you up and return you to your hotel or condo!

The food? Absolutely perfect! I had a fettuccine dish and my wife had a penne dish. Both came hot, plentiful and ever so tasty. It was so good, we returned for a second time just for the same food. And the prices were excellent. Our meal with 2 (large) glasses of Pinot Grigio was a bargain at $45 including tax and tip.

We were tole the owners are both Italian and the wife does most of the cooking. The atmosphere, while not beach side or having any sort of great view, is very nice. The restaurant is new, well laid out and they even have a wood oven for pizza that a number of people we met raved about.

So there you are, if you are in this area, don't miss this restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    18
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Not just another pizza shop!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Just returned from Playa Flamingo the week of 10/6. Due to the off season many of the restaurants in walking distance to the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa were closed. At the time, the rank of Tubla on Trip Advisor was #5. Although I can not compare to those above it, they had the best food by far compared to the other restaurants we ate at in Brasalito. Daniel and Alejandro were super-nice and provided complimentary pick-up at the hotel. It was so good we returned on our last night after trying other options. Gorgonzola gnocchi, filet of beef and the shrimp wrapped in prosciutto- all fantastic! They have a wood fired oven for pizza. Although we did not have any other customers gave it rave reviews.Great food! Great people! Great value! Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Repeat Visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is our favorite place for pizza. It's not on the menu, but if you want pepperoni and sausage, they will do it!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn,
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - go here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I have to say this was probably the best meal I had while visiting CR for 8 days. I loved that the owner/chef picked me up at my hotel (flamingo resort) and brought me back as well. The pizza I had was incredible. Great wine, great salad, great fish and most of all superb service. A+

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Its wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I drove by Tubla many times, didn't give it a second thought...Until one Sunday when we found most restaurants closed and we risked it. That was three weeks ago. I've been back 6 or 7 times since.Michaela, the chef is excelelent,warm and friendly. Her husband is kind with a gentle sense of humour. World wanderers their previous stop was Ecuatorial Guinea. I am so grateful they landed here.
The food is excellent, so is the service and have been there with a large group including small children,their patience with a smile is saintly.
Pizza, the best in the area
Spaghetti di mare, a real treat.
The prices, given the quality of the food and service are a gift.
I've been there with my husband,family,friends,groups and alone,it is always a treat!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubla also viewed

Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Tubla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tubla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.