We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice, Clean, Friendly Place to Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Nice, Clean, Friendly Place to Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

We were happy with our choice to stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. The rooms were comfortable and clean, but by no means soundproof--you hear your noisy neighbors. With that said, other things made up for this negative.

The hotel has a "family room/kids play area" with ping pong tables, pool tables and a movie theater. My boys spent a decent amount of time meeting and playing with other kids and/or watching a movie. We also liked the smaller/water volleyball pool off to the side of the hotel. We pretty well had that pool to ourselves for a few hours.

The big pool is nice. The beach just across from the hotel is beautiful and there is easy access.

There is a fabulous restaurant just a minute walk down the street from the hotel, and Tamarindo is just a 15 minute drive. We loved visiting Tamarindo (twice) but staying in the quieter, prettier Playa Flaming.

One final comment about the hotel -- the wifi connection was neither reliable nor strong. A number of guest had connection problems similar to ours. I don't know if this is a constant issue or just a temporary issue that happened while we were there.

I definitely feel comfortable recommending this hotel, and I would choose to stay here if/when I return to the area.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you so much for posting such a positive review of your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. We are so happy that you enjoyed our family center and mini-cinema! We regret that you had problems with the WiFi...I believe you visited just around the time when we were switching over to a newly available system that has more capacity and speed. We sincerely hope that you will find this problem resolved on your next visit, and we, our staff and management look forward to seeing you again soon. When you make your reservation, please advise us that you are a return guest so we can try even harder to make your stay even better next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    523
    182
    62
    31
See reviews for
443
615
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (418)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Hotel is a bit rundown and crying for renovation. Service is ok. The pool is nice but not enough shade. The pool activities are very loud. but the beach is beautiful except for the tons of beach vendors.

Room Tip: Get a non pool view room, lot more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a review of your visit, and will also use this feedback to improve our product and service. However, we disagree that the hotel is rundown and "crying for renovation." We have renovated the resort on a continual basis since purchasing the property 14 years ago, not only improving room quality and amenities but also adding new services and attractions such as the spa, the casino, the family center, the aquatic center, the new Cafe Britt store, etc. The hotel was originally built in 1986 and considering the wear and tear that a beach resort gets from the salt water, from the tropical rain, and from guests themselves bringing sand everywhere, we are proud that this building of more than a quarter of a century has been so well-maintained and cared for. At the same time, we pride ourselves on service that is more than just "OK" and so will continue to work on this based on your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Firstly the Hotel is set in a beautiful location that seems very secure on a peninsular. Probably the very reason we saw 3 wedding parties there in 5 days.
The Hotel reception is beautiful and the staff there informative and knowledgeable. The Hotel for us, kinda went down from there.
The buffet which we elected for one evening had pans empty so we informed the staff, waited 30 mins for replenishment, nothing happened, so informed them again, nothing happened, no answer was forthcoming so we left. There are only few restaurants in the facility so we were a little at a loss. The food when they had it was very good though.
The pool is beautiful but the sides are slippy as hell and we saw a number of people hit the ground after getting their feet wet.
The Pool Bar although friendly and had a dreamy swim up counter, was spoiled by an infestation of bee's, which swarmed around the sweet drinks. These were the type that sting!! We sat no where near them and my 24 yr old daughter got nailed twice.
I think the good outweighed the bad for us but were surprised the Management had not done something about the bees.

Room Tip: There are no Beach view rooms. The closest would be the Pool view rooms. The whole facility is non s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you for your review; your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your taking the time to write about your visit. As owners, we would like to apologize on behalf of the staff and management for the issues you encountered. There is no excuse for what happened in the restaurant with empty buffet trays and you not getting service. If the buffet was over for the evening, then the waiters should have offered for the kitchen to prepare you something special off the menu. To address the issue of the pool area becoming slippery when wet, we are currently getting quotes to refurbish the stone flooring to give it back the texture it had initially when it was installed, which has been worn down over time. As far as the bees, we have gotten rid of them again, but they are constant nuisance and we do not like to use harsh pesticides as it goes against our commitment to be as nature-friendly as possible; we can only work with natural methods. We are so sorry your daughter was stung and wantt you to know that the staff is committed to keeping the bees away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeway, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

VERY family friendly ... if you're not a fan of lots of children, don't go during school holiday. However, even then the pool area is very large and nicely done. The swim up bar staff was efficient (if not overly skilled). Their location is superb. It is a great little beach just 20 steps away. There are also a lot of dining options close by. We very much enjoyed our second floor pool side room (No, it wasn't too noisy.). It faced west letting us chose to watch some gorgeous sunsets from the beach of on our balcony. Their second floor, open bar with the beach on one side and the pool on the other was a lovely place to just relax.

Room Tip: It's in the review ... a west facing room to watch the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review after your recent stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa. While it is true that we are a very family oriented resort (after all, we are family owned), we also try to cater to couples and we offer a lot of romantic options such as private dinners on the beach, couples spa treatments, a smaller private pool area, etc. We are very glad that found our resort to be "a lovely place to relax."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

We stayed at the Flamingo Beach Resort for 7 nights. We enjoyed our stay very much. The whole staff was friendly. The rooms were modern, clean, quiet and the bed was so comfy. The food at the pool bar and at the restaurant was great. The only cons I have are - I must admit the drinks were light on the alcohol. We spent a lot of money at the bar and never really felt a buzz. Stay far away from the gift shop (a pair of kids goggles were selling for $70 (US)!! A bag of chips $9! Kids flip flops were $40!!). Even the shop clerk shook his head with shame. The wifi was very spotty, but it's free. And the beach really wasn't the best, but it was just steps away. Can't beat that.
Overall, we had a fun time at the Flamingo Beach resort. We miss it already and wish were still there! Such a happy place. I highly recommend it if you're planning a visit to the area.

Room Tip: I highly recommend staying in an ocean view suite. They are large!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to write a nice review of your recent stay at the resort. We love that you called it "such a happy place"...what a lovely description! At the same time, we are looking into your comment about the drinks being "light on the alcohol," with an admonishment to bartenders that it is not what we want our guests to be reporting. As to the gift shop prices, what you mentioned sounds absolutely crazy, maybe someone's conversion math was wrong. Cafe Britt leases out the gift shop from the resort, so our own personnel are not involved in the pricing; however, if it leaves a bad taste with our guests, we will definitely get involved to correct things. To be fair, they just took over the gift shop this month, so in the rush to get merchandise in and get the store open, mistakes may have been made and you have our apologies. Glad that you enjoyed your stay and would recommend to others, thank you so much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaufman, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

If you're looking for a quiet peaceful place to retreat, this isn't it. The pool and bar areas are loud but having said that the place is beautiful and lots of fun. There's a game room with ping pong, pool, etc. The resort has a small casino (all video) and a spa on site that is amazing. The best part for us was the beach. It's across the street and its just breathtaking. There was hardly anyone there, the sand is soft and the water is clear. The mountains that surround the beach are gorgeous. It's a perfect way to spend a day or two relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa and recommending it to others. Your comments are truly appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Visited the end of July 2014 for son's wedding. Beautiful resort, nice staff, but at least 10 people out of our group of 70 got FOOD POISONING from the resort's restaurant including both of the groom's parents the night before the wedding. It wasn't just an isolated occurrence; others got sick on different days. Kitchen definitely has some cleanliness issues. Management doesn't acknowledge that the problem exists no matter how many guests bring it to their attention.
This is a beautiful, wonderful place to stay. My only advice would be to bypass 'all inclusive' and go explore the excellent local dining instead.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flamingo B, Owner at Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
We were of course extremely distressed to learn that several of your family members got sick with symptoms of gastroenteritis. We are deeply sorry that your trip was so negatively affected by this occurrence. Of course we always take these kinds of complaints very seriously, and our first move is always to contact a local doctor to examine any guests who have symptoms--at no cost to the guest --in order to try to determine the cause. This is important because we need to know the source and whether it is in fact a food borne illness or one spread through human contact (such as norovirus for example), in order to protect all of our guests. We cannot determine whether the cause is in fact in our restaurant without a skilled clinician's diagnosis and investigation. In your family's case, to a person, everyone REFUSED to let the doctor visit, simply telling us that "We know it is food poisoning and we want a refund of all of our rooms." This is unfair to the hotel and especially unfair to other guests, because we are unable to get to the bottom of the situation without a detailed account of what each person ate, where they ate, etc. We run regular seminars with our staff on proper food safety and handling, and we are constantly inspected the health authorities---much more intensively and frequently than the small mom & pop restaurants in the area, simply because we are a larger resort. So many things can happen: a person who has been traveling can bring in a virus that then spreads to other family members, ice can become contaminated, fruits and vegetables may have not been adequately cleansed. These things can happen at ANY TIME in ANY hotel, restaurant, cruise ship, etc. where people gather in close quarters and consume food and beverages. To simply shout "Food Poisoning!" without a doctor's investigation and examination is irresponsible. Our food safety training of our personnel is much more intense and constant that what the small local dining establishments provide, but we are certainly not infallible and we urge guests' cooperation to work with us when there is an incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Flamingo
2.8 mi away
The Westin Golf Resort & Spa, Playa Conchal
1.6 mi away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Hotel & Suites
16.6 mi away
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
Andaz Peninsula Papagayo Resort
#1 of 15 in Gulf of Papagayo
4.5 of 5 stars 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
Hotel Riu Guanacaste
#2 of 3 in Sardinal
4.0 of 5 stars 4,252 reviews
6.9 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Costa Rica
13.8 mi away
JW Marriott Guanacaste Resort & Spa Costa Rica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa

Address: Playa Flamingo, Playa Flamingo 2050, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Flamingo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Playa Flamingo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only resort located on one of Costa Rica's most famous blue-flag, ecologically protected beaches, this resort location is the perfect beachfront base from which to explore all of Costa Rica’s natural beauty and adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and BookIt.com so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Hotel Playa Flamingo
Flamingo Beach Resort Costa Rica
Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa Costa Rica/Playa Flamingo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.